We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel London West(London)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, London(London)
US$645
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
772
1,169
325
88
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
1,169
325
88
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsborough marketsouthwark bridgesouth bankglobe theatretate modernthe sofa bedst paulsminute walktube stationexecutive roomlate checkfamily roomlondon eyemini barmodern hotelstayed here for one nightcovent garden
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a very well run hotel. All the staff we met without exception were friendly and efficient. Well done to the management. Our check-in was quick and efficient as was our check out. The fitness suite including the Sauna and Steam room were well maintained and spotless.
We only had one towel in our room when we arrived, but despite it being midnight, housekeeping very quickly brought us some more (with a smile and immaculately dressed). The room was too hot and the air-conditioning did not work. We had to open the window to cool it down, but then had to shut it in order to sleep because of the outside noise.
If you have a room at the back of the hotel you will be able to see the Shard (albeit by looking out round the corner slightly from our room 523), we could also see the Gerkin from our room so not too shabby a view
Overall I would recommend this hotel, you can get to the Globe theatre in 3 minutes and also to the river water taxi at Bankside, this takes you straight to Embankment and you are in the heart of London

Room Tip: Room 523 is quiet and comfortable, despite the irn burn stain on the carpet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Not the easiest of hotels to get to. Check in was fine, friendly staff.

However my room was very disappointing. It appeared to be a disabled person's room and was in major need of a refurbishment. Absolutely no view - just the offices across the road and piles of rubbish outside. Bathroom was tired, although clean. Television reception was fuzzy and very tight on the teabag and coffee sachets.

All in all I've stayed at nicer 3* Premier Inns, this is definitely not a 4* room and I won't be back in a hurry. Expecting luxury but got budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OfficialScottA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay, however we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Switched our family to here from a lower budget hotel and was very glad I did. Arrived in London very early, room wasn't ready, but the welcoming hotel staff were happy to securely look after bags for us. Throughout our stay the staff were courteous and helpful.
The room was ok, not really up to the standard of other Novotels I have stayed at. The air conditioning, even on full, emitted a vaguely luke warm drift of air as opposed to any providing any cooling. The coffee area in the room was a mess, the complimentary biscuits were all broken and the room had corners bashed off things, etc. Nothing bad enough to make we want to leave but a little disappointing given the standard I expect from a Novotel.
I would stay here again as the area is excellent - right next to Borough Market, a 2 min walk from the riverside, lots of nice restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Marc_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Short walk to the thames river.
30-45 min walk to the London Bridge
Hotel staff are very friendly and the continental breakfast was really good!
I also stayed at Novotel in Paris and this Hotel chain is GREAT! Will Return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_Sorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great service from friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is a good deal when my 2 children (13 and 14) were included in the price, and they enjoyed it. The free WiFi is too slow, and hopeless for streaming video. The room i clean but the temperature was impossible to adjust and too warm for me, fortunetely the window could be opened just enough to let some fresh air in. I would not stay here during hot summer days, but it is located no more than 5-10 minutes walk from the underground as well as train station located at the Shard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews