We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel in a great location for the South Bank, let down by very poor customer service in the bar restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #263 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Generally OK, modern hotel in a great location for the South bank.

Unfortunately we had a bad experience with this particular Novotel. We arrived at 1.30 on Sunday 4th May. We had to be at Tate Modern for 3:00 which is a 5 minute walk away. So plenty of time, or so we thought. We sat down to lunch at about 1.45 in the bar. We ordered food for 2 adults and 1 child. Our food arrived after about 20 minutes and we were told the child's food (after all fish fingers are complicated) would be another 5 minutes. 15 minutes later, nothing. We enquired and were told its just coming. It took another 15 minutes. No major apology. We had to argue with the bar staff to get the cost of the fish fingers taken off the bill. We were eventually offered a free drink, I think a lot more than that should have been offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you overall enjoyed your stay but that you were disappointed with the service in the bar. Please rest assured that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
There are newer reviews for Novotel London City South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel. It took a while to get there from Heathrow but is ideal to get to from London City. It's only a few minutes walk to the Globe Theatre and Tate Gallery, with London Bridge being the closest tube/ boat stop (or Southwark). The rooms were comfy and all of the staff very friendly. However, we opted not to eat breakfast in the hotel as it was £17 per adult, which is fine if you intend to really eat all you can manage! We also ate one evening meal, which was nice, although once again expensive.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HJackson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We found this to be a well positioned, very friendly hotel. It was lovely and modern and our children were made to feel very welcome with little gifts for them when we checked in. Would highly recommended and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Novotel London city South and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a very well run hotel. All the staff we met without exception were friendly and efficient. Well done to the management. Our check-in was quick and efficient as was our check out. The fitness suite including the Sauna and Steam room were well maintained and spotless.
We only had one towel in our room when we arrived, but despite it being midnight, housekeeping very quickly brought us some more (with a smile and immaculately dressed). The room was too hot and the air-conditioning did not work. We had to open the window to cool it down, but then had to shut it in order to sleep because of the outside noise.
If you have a room at the back of the hotel you will be able to see the Shard (albeit by looking out round the corner slightly from our room 523), we could also see the Gerkin from our room so not too shabby a view
Overall I would recommend this hotel, you can get to the Globe theatre in 3 minutes and also to the river water taxi at Bankside, this takes you straight to Embankment and you are in the heart of London

Room Tip: Room 523 is quiet and comfortable, despite the irn burn stain on the carpet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Not the easiest of hotels to get to. Check in was fine, friendly staff.

However my room was very disappointing. It appeared to be a disabled person's room and was in major need of a refurbishment. Absolutely no view - just the offices across the road and piles of rubbish outside. Bathroom was tired, although clean. Television reception was fuzzy and very tight on the teabag and coffee sachets.

All in all I've stayed at nicer 3* Premier Inns, this is definitely not a 4* room and I won't be back in a hurry. Expecting luxury but got budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SA2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay, however we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Switched our family to here from a lower budget hotel and was very glad I did. Arrived in London very early, room wasn't ready, but the welcoming hotel staff were happy to securely look after bags for us. Throughout our stay the staff were courteous and helpful.
The room was ok, not really up to the standard of other Novotels I have stayed at. The air conditioning, even on full, emitted a vaguely luke warm drift of air as opposed to any providing any cooling. The coffee area in the room was a mess, the complimentary biscuits were all broken and the room had corners bashed off things, etc. Nothing bad enough to make we want to leave but a little disappointing given the standard I expect from a Novotel.
I would stay here again as the area is excellent - right next to Borough Market, a 2 min walk from the riverside, lots of nice restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Marc_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#150 of 1,072 in London
2,267 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#299 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,072 in London
2,880 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#312 of 1,072 in London
2,951 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in London
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £129 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing