We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #266 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
There are newer reviews for Novotel London City South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The first room we were allocated, was quite stuffy and warm. Even with the 'air cooling' (I was informed by staff that the rooms are not air conditioned). After trying a couple of things (the maintenance guy is super friendly, a real asset to the hotel) we ended up being moved to another room. The reception staff were friendly and didnt take much convincing to move us elsewhere. The new room was much less stuffy and we managed to get a good sleep on the second night.

The gym was small but quite good for a quick workout. The sauna and steam room were a well maintained.

The hotel is in an excellent location, 5 minute walk from Borough Markets. The rooms themselves were a little quirky with the glass from the shower to the bed able to be clear or frosted at the touch of a button. The rooms here look to have been renovated recently as they were not the standard boring Novotel rooms I have come to know in Europe/UK

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brocko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose this hotel for its location which is great for walking and transport links. Reception and staff welcoming however the room is seriously in need of upgrading. The carpets are worn and stained, the settee uninviting along with the blue chair which seems to be in the wrong location.
The waste and taps have seen better days.
As it was a hot day the room was very warm and it took the AC approx 2.5 hours to get the temperature down to an acceptable level, this was not conducive to a good nights sleep.

The room overlooked the side street which had no traffic so noise levels brilliant. We loved the location but felt that the above points left us feeling that the room felt dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank youf ro your review and your comments regarding our staff, we appreciate all feedback and whilst many rooms have already been upgraded we are currently in the process of upgrading more of our bedrooms. I hope we will see you on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Grand entrance Room was nice but weird having toilet and bathroom seperate
tv channels hit and miss
free wifi good for london
good check in and out times
expensive extras here I did not have any
used the gym was not good experience as had to report children using gym and in sauna
have recevied a refund part payment but would ask staff to do frequent vists there as adults only area for fitness centre
would return if these areas rectified.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wehay2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel location right behind borough market/ London bridge tube is it's best feature and our main reason for choosing it. Poor quality room with a rock hard bed combined with useless air con meant a dreadful sleepless night. Miniature bathroom (good shower though) with no space to swing a cat. Expensive breakfast- £17 each. About the same as a premier inn but with an inflated price tag. Beds way more comfortable in premier inn. Very disappointing. Would not return to any novotel. Last year stayed at park plaza and that was excellent - we went for a cheaper option this time and it left us disappointed. Won't make that mistake again! If you want to be close to borough market/ globe theatre/ Tate modern and like hard beds and hot rooms then you would be fine here! Not my idea of a 4* hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JENTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel is perfect to explore London from with quite a lot within walking distance. The staff are friendly and the bar was a relaxing place to be after a hard days graft. Breakfast was very busy with quite a wait before being seated and when I stayed there was no cereal option, having said that there was loads of other choices - just a bit strange no cereal. Room was very warm and I did struggle to get a comfortable nights sleep, and this is London so leaving the window open isn't an option. Would stay again - but mainly as it's just 5 minutes from work when I'm in London

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Novotel London City South. I'm glad you overall enjoyed your stay, we have taken on board comments regarding the temperature in the rooms and this is being currently addressed by our maintenance department. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the “Novotel London City South” on the weekend during my business trip to see London. Most of all, I was impressed with the hotel location. It is in the middle of everything and at the same time in the very quite neighborhoods. The Hop-in-Hop-out bus stop was right by the hotel so I bought a pass for two days and I use it for side seen and as the transportation as well. The breakfast was very good and it was not very crowded. I would definitely return there next time in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soleg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#147 of 1,072 in London
2,267 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#301 of 1,072 in London
2,014 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#231 of 1,072 in London
2,881 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#314 of 1,072 in London
2,951 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in London
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing