We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of the mouse in the bar!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #269 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beware of the mouse in the bar!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here on business for 5 nights last week. We visited the bar on our second night and were amazed to find a mouse scurrying around the bar. I brought this to the attention of the bar staff who were not surprised at all but told me they would bring it to the attention of the facilities team.
The next night, we went back again, and I noticed there were crumbs and bits of food on the floor beside the tables which had not been cleaned up. The bar counter was sticky and obviously hadn't been cleaned in a while. A few minutes later, guess who was back....that;s right the mouse!!! I again brought it to the attention of bar staff who did not want to know. I then went to reception and again, they weren't interested. He asked me for my room number and told me the manager would call me the next day. Guess what, I'm still waiting. I declined to have breakfast as the room was right beside the bar. The rooms were very basic for the price. I have asked my company to remove this hotel from their list

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank anto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that you were not contacted. Please find my details below to discuss this further
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
0207 089 0502
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    1,048
    298
    77
    37
See reviews for
1,095
342
80
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here on business in June 2014 and stayed for one night. For one night it was ok. I found my room on the fifth floor noisy and there was a thudding noise above me all night. I thought it was the gym but that was not directly above and the gym shut at 10pm. The fact that you need to go to reception (ground floor) to get a card to access the gym (6th floor) was annoying but I assume this is to ensure that no one uses the gym after hours. The gym was small but had one running machine, bike, a rower, and some weights. In my room there were tea and coffee making facilities but no milk. My bathroom flooded but it was sort of wet room style so I couldn't decide if the flooding was intentional or not. There weren't enough enough sockets to charge both a phone and blackberry so I had to charge them one at a time which might be fine for people who only require one socket or travel alone. The location is good; and it is easy to get from the hotel to More London/London Bridge restaurants; and also you can walk straight over Southwark bridge into the City. It would not be my first choice hotel to stay in again but if I took ear plugs it would be fine for business travel, especially given its location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay, and for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not have a peaceful night's sleep, if you could email me with details of your room number I will be able to follow up with my maintenance team about the issues you have mentioned, my email is H3269-dm@accor.com
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visiting four nights with family - after normal double bed and extended sofabed not much extra space left, however still enough for table and small closet. On the other hand, excellent location for easy transport so room was more used only for sleeping. London bridge underground rouhly eights minutes by foot, RVI bus line back and forth to Covent Carden from road next to hotel. Very friendly stuff and good service. Breakfast positive surprise compared generally to london hotels. Only thing that on Sunday/Monday needed to que to breakfast more than ten minutes - not so common at least on my experience, tough this possibility was also informed in info screens. Clean rooms & facilities generally. Family was happy so would come again for family or business travelling. Oh, free wifi in rooms and other areas.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JRa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location is superb. A couple of minutes walk from the the London Bridge Tube or Train Station. Easy access to and from Luton or Gatwick by train (no need to change).
We had a room large enough to accomodate 2 beds (we were 2 adults with 2 children).
We chose the breakfeast option included which was rather good.
The Borough Market is a great option to lunch, and there are restaurants and pubs nearby where you could dine.
The Thames riverside is just a couple of minutes away, perfect for the ones who like to walk.
Jubilee Tube line connects you with the major attractions in the city.
The hotel provides you with free WiFi and some net-corners with printers which are rather useful for you to plan and book your staying.
The staff was rather helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JotaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Google Translation
Agradeço os seus amáveis ​​comentários e elogios. Tenho muito gosto que tenha desfrutado a sua estadia e espero voltar a dar-lhe as boas vindas em breve Atenciosamente,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Location is great. Just 5 min walk to Borough Market, London Bridge, The Shard and tube. Expect a small room. Do take the breakfast option. Spread exceeded expectation. Hot cocoa, sausages, bacon, cheese counter, pancakes, yoghurt, juices, coffee, eggs and lots of fruits & nuts. Everyone was extremely professional and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichelleYHLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review and in particular your comments about service, I'll be sure to share them with the team. We hope to see you on your next visit to London.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#301 of 1,067 in London
1,956 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,067 in London
2,140 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#244 of 1,067 in London
2,779 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#328 of 1,067 in London
2,848 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing