We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny rooms”
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #77 of 558 London B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny rooms”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose this hotel for its location near the St. Pancras station where we were scheduled to leave on the Eurostar to Paris. Also because of its reasonable price. The Underground station there offers five lines so it is very convenient to most of central London. We did not find the breakfast very good, but our main complaint is that the room was so small that two persons had great difficulty just moving around. The staff were very helpful. It was one of the few hotels that require a one night deposit at booking time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrollZahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    414
    190
    46
    24
See reviews for
152
257
169
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and son stayed here for one night and it served the purpose well . great location 2 minutes from kings cross. We were able to leave our bags while we were in London even on day we checked out which really helped. The breakfast was adequate considering it was included. So overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in London

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhaiinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights after coming in from Belgium. I really like the King's Cross area and this hotel is right across the street and one block up. For the location the price is extremely reasonable, especially for a solo traveler in London. Very convenient for local trains, tube, and the Eurostar.
I booked a single with shared bath. I would normally book an en suite but the price was so cheap I couldn't pass it up. The room was standard size for a single, which is extremely small. No surprises there. It was however extremely clean and well appointed. I was really impressed. The shower and toilet areas were very well kept as well.
The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The young lady at the front desk was great and also very helpful in finding a launderette near by.
The included breakfast was surprisingly good. A lot of budget hotels will throw out a few things on a table and call it a "continental breakfast". A full proper English breakfast was served to order here.
I only have one complaint. Hauling my big-assed duffle bag up 3 flights of stairs was a bit of a chore. So, if you have a ton of luggage you might want to find out which floor you are on. There is also a park with a basketball court right across the street. Although it didn't bother me in the least, some might be put off by the noise.
Also keep in mind that this is a budget hotel. Don't make the mistake of expecting a 5 star experience. I see people do it all of the time and you can tell by their reviews. If you expect 5 star accommodations and service at these prices, you will be sadly disappointed.
All said and done, I will return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank retrovertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

the hotel is in a good, convenient position, minutes from Kingscross.
reception area dark and a little tired
rooms very small, sliding door to toilet & shower, minimal space. only reusable, refillable shower gel in bathroom, nil name on bottle. will not suit larger person.
only 2teabags and powder milk, sugar packages old
bedroom seemed clean
breakfast room full next morning had to wait for table, nil apology or any discussion from waitress she was totally uncommunicative , did not form any greeting or explanation about options, partly because there wasn't any! cooked breakfast of bacon, beans & egg, with 2 pieces of white toast
each. tea serve with tea bag in cup!

overall was ok for 1 night at cheap option, if you can overlook the basic facilities!

Room Tip: if your ok with stairs, not big built and just want bed for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福岡
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is quite close to King's Cross underground station, less than five minutes' walk. It is a station for three underground lines. So, needless to ssy, it is very convenient. The hotel fee is quite reasonable in London. But a shower room and a toilet are shared, which is not so convenient, but there was no practical troubles, no conflicts with other guests. Braekfast is the so-called English brakfast, but I missed baked tomatoes. Anyway, the braekfast is complimentary and very reasonable. But since their service is not so quick, you may have to wait in the hallway (stairs) quite lomg. WiFi is also free of chrage and works fine. Staff members I dealt with are friendly and kind people. The hotel would be one of my chices for my next stay in Lonod.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 福岡Ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Location was very close to a train station and bus stop which was very useful and also one train stop from Euston. They let us leave our bags there in the day so we could go out an experience the city without the extra baggage. Hairdryer was available at the reception. Breakfast was good with a continental and cooked food included in the price. Cheap and cheerful, would definably go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great little hotel so close to kings cross and st pancras fantastic after getting off the eurostar, very friendly staff who were so helpful, would def recommend for a short stay as room was a bit small but very convenient for our overnight stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#547 of 1,069 in London
976 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 558 in London
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#48 of 558 in London
593 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#79 of 558 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#371 of 558 in London
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Property: Hotel Meridiana
Address: 43-44 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meridiana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing