We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do people want?”
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athena Hotel
Ranked #667 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Myself & my girlfriend stopped here for 2 nights on the 27th January 2012, and for £75 a night bed & breakfast it was very reasonable.

The hotel looks like it's had a makeover at some point, but the finishing off leaves a lot to be desired, but for the price you pay it's relatively clean and presentable, yes the rooms are small but show me any hotel in London below a 4 star that isn't.

The hotel is on Sussex Gardens which is about a 5 minute walk to Paddington tube station so is very well located in that sense. The staff are not English but that's fine by me and were very polite and even allowed us to leave our bags in reception for 6 hours after check in.

Don't hesitate to book here if it's a room you're after to sightsee, we just used the hotel for somewhere to sleep and eat breakfast which for us was spot on!

All in all, very good for the price - If i had to make one minor comment it would be on the size of the English breakfast, it is quite small but they do offer cereals, toast and fruit salad as well so you can fill up.

My overall advice would be to book :)

Room Tip: The views on the back of the hotel aren't anything to write home about, so if you would like a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed in there with my family in may while on a holiday, overall we thought the athena hotel was alright. Our room was a tad small but we were mainly out looking at the magnificent sights of London. Pretty good location, near a few things like hyde park, madame tussuads, Abby road, and a few more :) had a few nice resturuants around. and when we were there they were re-painting most of this hotel and it smelt fairly bad. but i was pleased with the included breakfast. it was pretty good, hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a terrible stay there! The staff can be very rude, especially those who serve breakfast in the morning. The room was very dusty, the curtains looked as though they've never been cleaned since they've been put up and the bed covers looked so terrible! Furthermore, some of the amenities in the room were not working.

I will never stay there again! There are many hotels next to this one that seemed much much better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

As a family of five we stayed in the family room which has one double and 3 single beds. Room was clean and not too cramped.

Breakfast was good and service was very good overall other than one of the ladies who serves breakfast who does have an attitude problem.

Good value for money, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed for my second visit. The hotel had been reurbished during last year and the room was nice and modern but rather small. We had ordered a twin bed room but got a double:-((

Breakfast was nice this time also.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for and get a confirmation for a twin room and not a double if you want two separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geirolav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After tthe check in we went to the room and we dediced to leave the next morning. The room was small, not clean enough, broken utilities in the room, seemed and felt very old and in need of a major renovation. VERY DISSAPOINTED. The next morning we went to another hotel cloese to Athena Hotel and we were very satisfied...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 189473Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is a few blocks from Paddington Station and about a 15-20 minute walk to Oxford st.

The hotel seems to have undergone renovations. The room we were in was very roomy with high ceilings and clean. The beds were comfortable. There was a towel warmer in the bathroom which was quite handy.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Yes there are a few of the girls who don't speak too much English as others have commented but the majority there do speak it very well. Everyone is quite friendly and the breakfast was wonderful way to start off the day. The dinning room is also quite spacious.

If you do intend to pay with credit card, there is that 5% transaction fee. I'd read the reviews prior to arriving at the hotel and it was noted in my reservation as well. I simply withdrew the necessarily amount in order to pay in cash upon arrival. The transaction fee for withdrawing from my bank while overseas was much cheaper than the added 5%.

The front desk attendants are nice. They were helpful in answering our questions and arranging airport transportation.

Overall, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flip_switch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Omega Hotel
#662 of 1,075 in London
141 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#497 of 1,075 in London
517 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#430 of 1,075 in London
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#225 of 1,075 in London
2,197 reviews
Stylotel
#617 of 1,075 in London
782 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#821 of 1,075 in London
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: 110-114 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #667 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing