We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family stay in London”
Review of The Ventures Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ventures Hotel
Ranked #995 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family stay in London”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Excellent value, reasonably good rooms and facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast (not cooked on Sunday). Our rooms were spacious, clean and ideal for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    38
    28
    123
See reviews for
47
65
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

went to london with my family and stayed at this so called ventures hotel(bed and breakfast),the experience was quite horrible.the room that they showed us was like a cell room.it was as if you have entered jail.the washroom was so small that you could not even take bathproperly.the room was smelly,no proper ventilation.

the manager/owner was quite rude.so travellers please don't go by the pictures that the hoteliears put.
the experience was quite horrifying.it ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnishaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We are a group of 8 girls on a hen weekend & we were deverstated when we arrived to unmade unclean rooms with bags of rubbish & the smell of stail smoke. This is the worst hotel we have EVER stayed in. It is run down, dated & dirty. The rooms are BASIC. The staff are rude, miserable & uncooperative. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I found myself having to stay in London for an extra night more than planned. Unfortunately this hotel late in the evening was the first I found and made the mistake of paying upfront before seeing the place properly. The other comments on this sight are spot on, I only wish I had seen them first. Alright it was not expensive for London, but does a place have to be so grotty? Tiny rooms, a dirty bathroom with a dodgy light, nasty, cheap furniture, noisy plumbing, a sinister atmosphere, and ellusive staff. Also, no hotel register to fill in and "cash only" payment (NB Mr VatMan)! What an image this gives to visitors of our capital city who make the mistake of staying here. 3 star! Someone is having a laugh.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I do not advise anyone to book this hotel as we have been totally let down with our booking. We were due to stay here June 2011 and had booked 2 double rooms in January. We however recieved an email just 2 days before we were due to travel to inform us our booking had been cancelled when we rang to question this it was a total farce and were eventually told our booked rooms had been reallocated to a larger party. Absolutely disgusted and a very cowardly way to let us know a phone call and an explanation would of been appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notimpressed1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stay in London on a regular basis for business purposes. Unfortunately, due to the short notice of my visit, this hotel was one of only a couple available. I now know why! To say it's basic is a massive understatement. 3 star, I don't think so. Unfriendly, tired and dirty is about right. Having now returned to my home, I decided to look at the reviews. I wish I had done so before booking. The reviews on this site are completely accurate. You have been warned!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

lobby full of flies, dirty, outdated. room stunk dirty floors, nets, curtains foisty. door to room not secure making it easy for someone to get in. very noisey shouting banging all night makes you feel very uncomfortable area is like a third world country everybody smoking pipes. shower/toilet absolutely filthy and so small you couldnt swing a cat in it. not really a place for woman as i found this experience very uncomfortable very sleezy. would not recommend this part of london to anyone or this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#675 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#651 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#814 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Caring Hotel
#498 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Kingsway Park Hotel
#843 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ventures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ventures Hotel

Property: The Ventures Hotel
Address: 12-20 Sussex Gardens | Marble Arch, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #995 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ventures Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ventures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventures Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing