We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't even get what you pay for.”
Review of The Ventures Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ventures Hotel
Ranked #1,002 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You don't even get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Staff, unfriendly, unhelpful and at times rude. The room, stained and with walls so thin we could hear our neighbours complain 3 doors down. You have to pay up front and there is no cooked breakfast on a Sunday. On the plus side it's in a decent location.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontCd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    39
    29
    125
See reviews for
47
66
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Pleasant hotel, close to the main street. The breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly and helpful. However. the beds were hard like rocks, and the traffic sounds. The room was porly isolated.


  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I arrived here at 1330hrs and stood in a dingy lobby waiting for the staff to come in from outside the door where they were having a smoke. I took the key and walked the five flights of stairs to the room. On the way up there were doors open to bathrooms on several levels, given the condition of them all I was hoping they were old out of use ones waiting for refurbishment.
I opened the door to the room and was horrified, it was truly disgusting. The curtains were hanging off the wall, the bed was unmade and filthy and the shower room off to one side was as bad as the ones I had seen on the way up the stairs. This looked like something out of 'trainspotting'. Had I not been in such a hurry to leave I would have taken some photographs as words simply cannot describe this place.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

i stayed with my family
i found the hotel to be in the good location and the service also met the hotel
i would recommend it to any friends or family to go in the room number 206 on the ground floor near the reception.

Room Tip: i found the family room number 206 to be very specious and had found sofa, led screen brand new tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The room was smaller than we expected. The ensuite light was not working properly and turned off several times whilst using it. The heating was not adequate. We paid £74 for one room to share which we think was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 49Anonymous49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Average service and breakfast
Small room
Internet available
Close to underground
A little bit noisy in the night

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Oh my god! This hotel is sooo disgusting!! I have never been in a so bad hotel before, BUT! The breakfast was, yeah not so bad... And the hotel dont have a lift, it was just stairs, gad why did i come to this hotel!D: In the room the was a dirty smell, and they dont have a wardrobe! The hanger was so high up, you can not even take the closet on the hanger! WHAT IS THIS! They dont not even deliver tissue paper, when we ask that we need tissue paper we just get 1! Theservice was very VERY BAD!!!!!!!! And the room cleaning was also very bad i dont like that when it is very dirty!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TAHMINAAKTHERKHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#689 of 1,067 in London
342 reviews
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#743 of 1,067 in London
382 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#663 of 1,067 in London
420 reviews
Olympic House Hotel
#818 of 1,067 in London
336 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#592 of 1,067 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ventures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ventures Hotel

Property: The Ventures Hotel
Address: 12-20 Sussex Gardens | Marble Arch, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,002 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ventures Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ventures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventures Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing