We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby high cost hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ventures Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ventures Hotel
Ranked #1,015 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shabby high cost hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Booked this through last minute hotels (will never use that service again) £124.50 for one night in a hotel that I would feel ripped off paying £30 per night. Staff were friendly, but room was in need of desperate decoration, no plug in the wash basin, water took ten minutes to run hot, shower did not drain properly, one towel 3' x 18", one small bar of soap,no telephone in room, curtains hard to draw only just fit the window. The light switch was by the bedroom door none by the bed, no reading lamp. Do I need to go on....................................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossland_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    37
    26
    123
See reviews for
47
64
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We've been in that so called hotel for four nights.
Our room was on the third floor and it was freezing cold. Windows couldn't be closed properly, just thin blankets and a cold heating.
Staff said, maybe they turn the heating on for a few hours after 10pm. but nothing happend.
We demanded more blankets but got only one (for three beds!!) which was dirty.
The sliding door to the bathroom made terrible noises everytime it was moved. So no silent go to the toilet possible.
The firealarm went off, but we couldn't hear it because of no bell on our floor. And since there's no telephone in the room, we had no information. Our luck, it was a false alert.
Go to McDonalds 'round the corner, if you want proper breakfast.
Or stay away from that "hotel" at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very good for a couple nights stay. Good staff and service. Access to tube nearby and placez to eat. Was a good prioce range, paid around £70 which is reasonabe in a city like london However, there was no toilet shower divide.





  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mofasser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

stayed at this hotel for one night and it was the most horrible place ever!! the room was dirty, the furniture was old and broken down, the bathroom was a disgrace, and the door to the bathroom could not even be closed shut without waking the whole hotel up.
staff were unfriendly. the breakfast was included but given the state of the room we decided to not have it, we valued our health too much!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Staff, unfriendly, unhelpful and at times rude. The room, stained and with walls so thin we could hear our neighbours complain 3 doors down. You have to pay up front and there is no cooked breakfast on a Sunday. On the plus side it's in a decent location.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontCd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Pleasant hotel, close to the main street. The breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly and helpful. However. the beds were hard like rocks, and the traffic sounds. The room was porly isolated.


  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I arrived here at 1330hrs and stood in a dingy lobby waiting for the staff to come in from outside the door where they were having a smoke. I took the key and walked the five flights of stairs to the room. On the way up there were doors open to bathrooms on several levels, given the condition of them all I was hoping they were old out of use ones waiting for refurbishment.
I opened the door to the room and was horrified, it was truly disgusting. The curtains were hanging off the wall, the bed was unmade and filthy and the shower room off to one side was as bad as the ones I had seen on the way up the stairs. This looked like something out of 'trainspotting'. Had I not been in such a hurry to leave I would have taken some photographs as words simply cannot describe this place.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#495 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Olympic House Hotel
#807 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#669 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Kingsway Park Hotel
#845 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#741 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ventures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ventures Hotel

Property: The Ventures Hotel
Address: 12-20 Sussex Gardens | Marble Arch, London W2 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,015 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ventures Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your The Ventures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventures Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing