We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making good in Stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #326 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Making good in Stratford”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My son and I stayed here as we were going to see Neil Young @ the O2 but then the gig was cancelled. Still we took advantage of shopping in Westfield and eating there. In that sense the hotel is well-placed being less than ten minutes from the Centre and the tube. The hotel maintains the usual Holiday Inn standard of cleanliness, good service and a decent breakfast all for a sensible price. We’ll stay here again – let’s hope we have better luck with the concert!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back look over the Olympic Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and reviewing our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    409
    158
    43
    17
See reviews for
205
218
41
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The staff are all very friendly and it is a clean hotel, but housekeeping needs looking at. Our room had a few issues, our daughters room had a very nasty mark on the wall told reception but nothing done, no communication. Breakfast set up now that's another thing room where food is, is far to small not a good lay out.

Room Tip: Complain to the duty manager other wise it goes no where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilaryj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Hilaryj48,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights earlier in the month for a summer trip to London. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly on check in, rooms were an excellent size and very clean.

Location is 20 minute from Stratford tube station/ Westfield.

Really good value for money in London

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming your family and you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the Ride London - Surrey cyclosportive. Recognising that this will have been the first time that the hotel was full of cyclists and bikes the did a great job. Opening up for breakfast at 5am was very much appreciated. I thought the food was fine and there was plenty of it. But, the noise in our room from the road was relentless. It's a main road into London and was busy all night. I didn't get much sleep.
Get a room on the other side of the hotel unless you are a really heavy sleeper.
I have to say that the staff were super friendly and helpful - much appreciated.
As this looks set to be an annual event they do need to think about bike storage. We kept ours in our room and that was great (as everyone else seemed to be). But if they had been wet the hotel would have ended up with a few oil stains here and there however careful people tried to be. Maybe provide super size bin liners to cover rear wheel and drivetrain and insist people use them?
In summary - fine for the price. Take your ear defenders!

Room Tip: Avoid the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed an early Express breakfast selection and our friendly staff services. As the cycling event is an annual event, next year we will strive to provide early breakfast for our guests an additional bike storage facilities.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here to ride in the London-Surrey 100 Sportive. The staff could not have been more helpful, with bikes all over the place; clearly the 16-place car park was never going to suffice, so we parked at Westfield (15 mins walk), and stored our 2 x £1500 Bianchis in the bedroom (as did all other riders. What they'd do if all the bikes were soaked and oily after bad weather, I haven't a clue!). Bedroom bike storage is very handy for pre-ride bike prep. It was obvious the staff were taken aback by the 20,000-strong field, and the place suffered as it tried to cope with an overwhelming tide of cyclists.

I asked for a quite room and didn't get one: the traffic noise from Stratford Hight Street was truly awful, and 3hrs kip before a 100-mile ride ain't good. Second night after a severe complaint, we were moved to a much nicer room in the newly-built extension at the back, and slept OK.

The staff were really good, and did their best, but even the kitchen was overwhelmed by the amount of food that hungry cyclists need to consume, and closed early. Breakfast was barely sufficient, though to their enormous credit on the day, they did open up at 5am.

Really great staff, hit-and-miss rooms, very average food, decent location.

Room Tip: Only accept a room in the new extension out the back. The rest are traffic noise hell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabbyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for your kind comments on staff efficiency and friendliness. We always strive to provide an excellent customer service and be the best HI Express in the area.

I am sorry to hear that the hotel facilities did not fully met your expectations. I would like to assure you, that your comments will definitely help us to improve and be well prepared for the next year's cycling event.

Thank you once again and we look forward welcoming you back in a very near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

First stay in the city that wasn't with a premier inn, purely booked for the value, £95 for one night.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Stratford station and 5 minutes to the high street DLR station. The hotel was very smart we were given an accessible room on the 6th floor, the only difference was the bathroom didn't have a bath or shower it was a wet room! We didn't ask or need an accessible room so I can assume we were just given it in terms of vacancies. The room I would compare to a premier inn, nice size, bed slightly smaller but a choice of pillows, tea coffee making facilities, tv and air con. Room and entire hotel were very clean.

Breakfast is free and its a buffet style, just continental, no other choices but was good all the same, one little niggle was the orange juice tasted like water and my other choice tropical juice was warm.

Check in and check out were very quick.

All in all a great hotel and great value for money, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hussbrick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the breakfast offerings - it will help us to review our current menu and make the necessary improvements.

We look forward welcoming you back in a very near future

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked this as it is near the Olympic Park where the Prudential Ride London 100 cycle event starts from. Receptionist was very helpful. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Close to Westfield shopping mall (10 minute walk, as is the Stratford railway / tube station for links to rest of London).
Buffet self service style breakfast was a bit hit and miss, with not a lot of choice, but what was there was fine.
Praise to the hotel for setting up an early 4am breakfast for the cyclists on the day of the event, very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back away from the main road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. All comments are highly appreciated and will help us to be well prepared when welcoming cyclists next year.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#363 of 1,068 in London
1,187 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#474 of 1,068 in London
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,068 in London
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing