We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #326 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I consider the service quiet fair. Nice people at reception. Clean rooms though the batrhom is small and lacks of suplies such as shampoo and soap. They expect you to shower with the same you wash your hands.... Food; you can have a bufet though the quality of the food is very poor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlandaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are sorry to hear that the breakfast service did not fully meet your expectations. All our guests’ comments are highly appreciated and it will definitely help us to improve. We sincerely hope you will give another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    409
    158
    43
    17
See reviews for
205
218
41
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

First stay for some time at a HIE. Great staff, brilliant room, breakfast was more than adequate. £20 to park was steep but little other choice and the rain was teaming down.
We didn't, like the pillows but the bed was comfy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff services, breakfast selection and room facilities. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Holiday Inn Express is always good for value for money - with breakfast and internet always included in a pretty reasonable price. This hotel is no exception. The location is reasonable - about 10 minutes walk from Stratford tube station and the fantastic new Westfield shopping centre that is right by the station. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms are excellent - clean and comfortable. The breakfast is pretty decent for one that has been included in the price and I would have rated this hotel as Very Good except for the completely inadequate restaurant in which the breakfast is located. The buffet is set up in a really tiny room at the end of a small restaurant. There are not enough seats so you often have to wait to sit down and once you have, you have to struggle through the rest of the people trying to get into the tiny room at the end of the restaurant where the buffet is located. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and the situation has always been the same. Today I ended up deciding the free breakfast was not worth it and went out to get breakfast elsewhere. If they would fix the breakfast situation, the hotel would be truly outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Gordon766,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about this recent stay. I am happy that our location was suitable for your needs and overall you found our hotel to be of good value. However, please accept my apologies if your breakfast experience was sub par.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope you can give us another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Friend and I stayed here and it was wonderful!! Literally opposite the shopping centre Westfield and three mins from tube station on central line. Would def stay here again. The only issue was the internet didn't quite work at the start but was soon fixed by the friendly reception staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Animal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Stratford.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is truly conveniently located for shopping at Westfield – only 7-10min walking distance. We are happy to hear that the internet problem you have reported was quickly rectified by our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My first trip to London, we were going to see a concert in the O2 and i found it impossible to find any hotels on this that would be recommended for this purpose. I can reassure anybody who is going to see a concert in the O2 this hotel is perfect. It is less than 10 minutes on the tube to Northern Greenwich which is where the O2 is located. It is on the opposite side of the city so you wont be waiting for ages to get on the crowded tube when concerts are on.

The Inn itself is lovely, clean, comfortable and the staff are very friendly. There is FREE wifi in the Inn which was a brilliant bonus because most places charge you.The breakfast is FREE, which is a great bonus and you also get the choice of a continental or hot breakfast. I don't know of any other place I have stayed that would offer you a free hot breakfast. Ok its not the full Irish but a breakfast is a breakfast and it fills you until lunch what more could you ask for.

The rooms were clean and tidy, ok they are basic but a hotel room is a hotel room all you want is a nice comfy bed, a warm room and a hot shower and this place has all of that.

To get to the Holiday Inn is very easy you can go on the central or jubilee line directly to Stratford. If coming from Gatwick Airport like I was the train takes 20-25 mins to London Bridge and there you switch to the Jubilee line and it takes another 20-25 mins to get to Stratford and the Inn is a 5 min walk around the corner.

There is a massive shopping centre 5 min walk from the Inn, beside the tube station which was a massive bonus for me I love shopping :) Im guessing over 200 shops I couldn't go around to them all I didn't have the time, but all the big names you would expect to see in any shopping centre. Loads of choices for different meals everything you would want under one roof.

This Inn was perfect and as it was our first trip to London we didn't have a clue where anything was. We will definatly be staying here again any time we visit London. It so easy to access

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors and at the back has a nice view of the Olympic Grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Stratford and thank you for your kind and detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I agree with you that hotel is in perfect location for visiting O2 Arena. It is a good point you have made regarding no crowds when getting back to hotel after the concert.
Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here with my 9yr old twins for a family get together, I was paying for my niece's room, which was no problem even though they had not arrived yet. We went out for a meal nearby, and returned for drinks in the lobby bar. My children were quite loud and boisterous, but again no problem to the ever smiling receptionist. The rooms were spotless, plenty of space for four of us in a double with sofa bed, bathroom gleaming and everything you could need was available, including cartoons on tv for the kids. Breakfast was plentiful, with hot and cold buffet options available and a never ending supply of coffee (handy for the hangovers). The location was ideal, close to Stratford International, and of course, the splendid Westfield! All in all, a value for money hotel that I recommend.

Room Tip: If looking for somewhere nearby to eat, go to Dar Marrakesh, great food and great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgough71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and found our staff friendly. Thank you once again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel location is very good for the city center and the stadium. The rooms were nice spacious and clean and the breakfast really "British" scrambled eggs with sausage beans and much more!!! Nice decor in modern style! advised

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Ely80Bia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Stratford and thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Edita Matuleviciute
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#363 of 1,068 in London
1,187 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#474 of 1,068 in London
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,068 in London
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Lastminute, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing