We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #311 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a night and I had a wonderful time. The toom was clean, had wifi. Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't that brilliant. The selection could've been better considering where it is located.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fatima31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you or taking time and commenting us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the room. All our guest comments are highly appreciated and will definitely help us to improve. We look forward welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Perfect service, fine wifi, fresh breakfast, so what I can say more? :) it is about 10 minutes walk from underground, there is a really big shopping mall Stratford, lot of restaurant close to hotel (5-10 minutes walk or you can get bus). One minus, hotel is not so close to the airport, so one hour by underground and then train.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeneffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time and leaving such an amazing feedback. We are really excited to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff services, breakfast selection and free Wifi. We look forward welcoming you back the when you next visit London.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We must have ended up in an un-refurbished room as it was extremely tired and doesn't match some of the new flashy photographs on their website. There were a number of dirty areas and scuff marks all over the room. Parts of the shower were missing, but still functional.

You aren't far from Stratford station and the shopping centre. It's easy to get to central London from here too. There's a handy Tesco express just down the road a little.

We constantly smelled cigarette smoke in our bathroom. We mentioned this in the morning, received an apology but no more. We really did find it most unpleasant!

It was good enough for a bed for a night but not longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor website.
Firstly, on behalf of the Holiday Inn Express Stratford I would like to express my sincere apologies that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Thank you for providing us more information and the room number you have stayed in. This will help to take immediate actions that will help improve the quality of service. I would like to re-assure you that our hotel is a non-smoking hotel. We will contact guests who smoke in the rooms and ask them to stop or they will need to leave. When you next stay if you encounter similar problems please contact reception and we will take immediate action. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn express - clean, modern streamlined and functional.
I have only given it an average rating due to the airconditioning in the room not working making it unbearably hot.
The legs/ castors on the bed were not aligning properly, so as soon as you sat on the bed it shot away from the headboard, which is attached to the wall leaving a gap for the pillows to fall down and not very comfortable to sit up in bed.
The mattress was very firm with little give in it. (I wwas wishing HI do a matress menu as well as a pillow menu!)
There was a bit of a wait to check in due to the only staff member visible covering the bar and reception.
You should also be aware that although it is only a 10 minute walk from the train/bus and tube stations it is also a 10 minute walk from everything else. There are no restaurants or other amenities nearby other than a small cornershop/off licence opposite.

Room Tip: Try getting a room at the back away from the busy/noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Stratford.
Firstly, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the problems you have encountered and that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. We are sorry that your room was hot and the comfort cooling did not cool your room sufficiently. Our comfort cooling system is scheduled to be changed over for summer settings by next week.
Stratford as an area have improved tremendously. The Olympic park has just opened offering new tourist attractions such as the ArcelorMittal Orbit and one London’s largest urban parks. Next time you are here please feel free to speak to our reception who can provide some good recommendations for restaurants in close walking distance.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent base for Olympic village
and tube station Central line direct into London.
Great value for money and service.
Self serve Breakfast more than adequate.
Staff friendly and interested in guests.
Thank you for enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Stratford. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection, our friendly staff services and found the hotel location convenient. We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel itself is in a good location for rail station and Olympic Park. Room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast excellent. Staff polite and efficient. But, and it's a big BUT, no-one in my family got a wink of sleep all night. When we arrived the room was at 22.5degC. The air conditioning was not working and within minutes the room temperature had leapt to an unbearable 24 deg. A member of staff came to examine the thermostat and stated that the aircon was switched off as "it is not summer yet" and it was not possible to switch the aircon on. We were told there were no fans available and to open the window. Overlooking what must be the noisiest street in London - no hope of any sleep there! By the morning the temperature was at 25degC. Myself, my husband and my young son had endured a night of hell. Not ideal as my son was competing in a national sporting event that day and was completely exhausted.
On checkout I reminded the Receptionist of the awful night we had suffered. She led me to believe we had been refunded the cost of the stay. Unfortunately I must've misunderstood her as on arriving back home I discovered we had only been refunded 20% of the room rate. Frankly I would rather have paid the full rate and had a good night's sleep!
Apart from enduring a tortuous night of no rest in an airless oven the hotel was great. But a good night's sleep was all we really wanted.

Room Tip: Take a mobile air conditioning unit with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Shelagh B
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford and thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that your room was hot and the comfort cooling did not cool your room sufficiently. Our comfort cooling does need to be changed over to work effectively. We have not changed it over as yet because we were unsure of the weather in April. I am sure you will remember last year when we had snow in March and an unseasonably cool April with temperatures being 1.1 degrees below average. We have realised that we did get it wrong now and we have now requested they change the settings as urgently as possible and ordered a new supply of fans for the interim period which arrived on Tuesday.
It is unfortunate that we do need to rely on the comfort cooling to be changed over when the hotel was built ten years ago it was the most suitable system available. It is also more environmentally friendly than air conditioning because it is centralised and uses less fuel. Thank you for also mentioning the positive areas of your stay despite having such a bad night’s sleep. If you want to visit again please contact myself and I will ensure we make every effort to ensure that your room is a comfortable temperature.
Yours Sincerely
Julian Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Great location as only a short walk from the tube station. We were staying for a festival at the O2 so it was a fantastic location.
Room was good and clean. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
0.1 mi away
The Westbridge Hotel
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,077 in London
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Stratford City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Park Royal
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross
0.0 mi away
Travelodge London Stratford
Travelodge London Stratford
#344 of 1,077 in London
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in London
#303 Family Hotel in London
#357 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £57 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing