We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, no nonsense hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Ranked #328 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very clean, no nonsense hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed a couple of nights in a quite small but comfortable room that was quiet and clean. As others have noted, breakfast is basic, and you should be aware that the advertised free WiFi is very limited. The hotel location is OK, but the surrounding streets do not offer much more than small convenience stores and a bingo club. More shops and restaurants are available near Stratford station, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The Stratford High Street Station on the Docklands Light Rail is a couple of minutes away from the hotel and provides access to central London in 30-45 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    409
    158
    43
    17
See reviews for
205
218
41
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

IF you get a good rate then this hotel is OK.

When booking don't get it confused with the Holiday Inn above the Westfield Stratford shopping centre, this is a good 10-15 minute walk from the Stratford Shopping centre and transport links!

Reception was pleasant and no dramas, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are compact but not too small and for someone travelling alone like I was it was big enough.

The comfort isnt that great. The bed is hard and lumpy and the pillows, although identified as firm and soft options, all felt the same to me! The duvet is a joke really, not very thick and not that inviting either, I am sure this could be addressed.

There is comfort cooling in the room although it never felt as though it really cooled the room, VERY noisy when on highest fan setting. The small TV 'hangs' on the wall, you cant straighten it and you cant really turn it to view so the only real option is to sit on the bed and watch it!

The shower is large enough (1.5 size?) and powerful enough although I had an issue with drainage so the tray filled with water. I reported this to reception and the problem was fixed when I arrived back later that day, so no complaints there... other than surely this could be checked by the cleaning team? There was a lingering 'drain' smell after this issue that didnt go away whilst I stayed, surely again the cleaning team could address this?!

Breakfast is a very UNDERWHELMING affair! I know it is 'Free' but seriously, all aspects of it are poor and quality is economical in my view!

The scrambled egg was anaemic, the sausages poor quality, the beans were clearly cheap catering beans.. so I opted for toast... the bread was thin and poor quality. Even the orange juice was from concentrate and didnt taste nice at all. I chose bananas, they were fine!

Dont even bother with the wifi, its poor, slow and intermittent.

The best part about this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. I got a very reasonable rate so on that basis I have marked it at average, if I had paid more I would not have been happy.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a very busy main road, I would request a room that is not at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndMrsJonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear William_Lisa
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Holiday Inn Express London Stratford.
I am happy to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our team always try to be as helpful as possible and it is always fantastic to get that recognition.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. I can confirm that we do use branded options for our breakfast and not cheap catering options. Our scrambled eggs are made fresh.
We are a 10-15 minute walk from Stratford Station. Next time you visit why not try Stratford High St DLR station. It is only a five minute walk away and it connects to Stratford, West Ham and Stratford International transport hubs. We also are well connected by buses and it is only a two minute journey to Stratford station from just outside the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not find our beds comfortable. We have only recently changed our beds. This is from listening to guests who had told us our previous beds were too soft. Our beds are all Hypnos beds and are made to the same specifications as the beds they supply to four star hotels. We do offer soft and hard pillows which have also just been replaced. I can confirm there is a difference between them but they do vary. If you want one that is harder or softer. I am sure we can source one. Similarly if you require a thicker duvet, we would be happy to provide one.
Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel. I do hope you will visit us again.
Yours Sincerely
The HI Express London Stratford Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. It's a holiday inn express express so you should be getting something that accords to your needs.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful but after that not much positive to say.

1. The drains did not work properly in my room and water build up in the shower tray and the sink and took some time to flow away.
2. Room was dated, needed an uplift
3. Breakfast was limited and pathetic, this really was poor. I would not say most of the fresh stuff was that fresh. You could see people just standing looking and thinking, is this it?

The hotel is quite isolated and not much around it.

I'll not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddman572001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear toddman572001,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

never had any problems staying at the holiday inn express. They always give you a good sized room and bath room and really helpful staff.
We were very lucky that we had a room at the back of the hotel so didn't hear any traffic, we all had good night sleeps.
I think they should offer you more for hot food at breakfast, but I know this is a country wide thing, and that they need to say the same for all of their hotels.
Car park at the back is really secure if a bit expensive and on a first come basis.
Overall really happy with Holiday inn

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back of the hotel not the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsh8944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Just short of £200 b&b, for a budget hotel is ridiculous!!
That out of the way it's clean, nice sized rooms and this one has its own meal offer in the evening. Breakfast is the standard HIE experience so miserable sausages to accompany beans and scrambled eggs. If you pay £200 surely they can afford a better sausage?!
Bar open late into the evening without the staff glaring at you to go to bed and in a reasonable location close to the station/Olympic Park.
Just can't get over £200/night!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerE15, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your review.

Sorry to read your stay did not meet your expectations. We value the points you have made.

Our prices reflect the demand of business and the activities that were taking place in London over the period of your stay.

We always appreciate positive and negative feedback. We are grateful you took the time to let us know opinion and views, no doubt it will help us in the future to improve our services and facilities.

We are happy that you found the hotel clean and the rooms a nice size. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near future and see improvements made.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service is average with a nice and committed staff. Breakfast limited, food quite average, fairly good size room but not very confortable but above all, NOISY, Very very NOISY.

The price, as expected in London is quite high but the value for money is a rip-off.

I won´t ever come back !!!!

Room Tip: Don´t !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear JuanFPerez
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford. I am sorry that you experienced the problems you did at our hotel. I would really appreciate it if you answer the questions I sent you regarding the noise. If we can narrow it down to the room that you were in we can carry our some tests and if there is an issue resolve it for future guests. We try to offer value for money to all our guests and always price the hotel competitively. When there is high demand in London for rooms it can push prices high particularly during the summer. Our breakfast and wifi access is free to all guests which helps to keep your expenses down and helps to make Holiday Inn Express a value for money option. We hope you re-consider visiting us again because we would be happy to welcome you back. If you do decide to answer the questions I previously sent you regarding your stay I will be most grateful.
Yours Sincerely
Julian Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well placed and generally ok for a short stay it was spoilt when after an error the staff made in booking in resulted in me having to leave my room at 10 pm for another sub standard room. I asked if it was necessary and the European male abruptly said it was necessary as the Hotel was fully booked. No marks for trying to resolve it, being helpful or even reasonable. I had to move all my belongings. I wasn't convinced they were fully booked either. So right or wrong the manner and attitude was poor . You really can't deal with customers like that. Food only average. Accommodation only average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Stratford, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear RogerCaymenislands

Thank you for taken the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express London Stratford and providing valuable feedback. I would like to say sorry again for how this situation was handled and for the situation arising in the first place. I would like to try explain to you the situation. As you were a part of a large group your room had been assigned by the group organiser your room was already assigned. You were booked into a shared room with one of your colleagues. The receptionist that booked you in did not realise that you colleague had already been booked in and assigned you a different room. If we were not already fully booked we would have accepted our error and let you stay in that room. However, I can assure you that we were fully booked and we did need that room. If we had not have moved you we would have needed to find alternative accommodation in a different hotel for one of our other guests. It was decided by the Duty Manager that this was the least worst scenario.
I am sorry that we did need to move you at this time and for the mistake made by the reception staff who really should have taken more care when booking you in. I will be taking action on your feedback on how the situation was handled. I believe that the staff should have taken more steps to try to appease you for the mistake and I would expect this when we disrupt a guest in such a way.
Thank you for responding to my message and if you do wish to contact me again to discuss this further please do so.
Yours Sincerely
Julian Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#363 of 1,068 in London
1,187 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#469 of 1,068 in London
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,068 in London
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Stratford

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Address: 196 High Street, London E15 2NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Family Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn-Express London-Stratford Hotel. Located just 7 minutes walk from Stratford Station, with great links taking you to O2 Arena, Excel Exhibition Centre & Canary Wharf in just 15 minutes. Central London, The City & West End, are easily reached by Central and Jubilee tube lines. Express by Holiday Inn London Stratford is situated in the heart of East London, site of the 2012 LONDON OLYMPICS. Stratford Regional and International Station with the Eurostar Rail Link is due to be opened in Sep 2011. Stratford has excellent connections, making it easy to get to Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford. The hotel is 3 miles from A13 with its excellent links to A406 North Circular Road, A127, M25 & M11. Proximity of London City Airport via Docklands Light Railway and Stansted Airport via National Express Coach makes Holiday Inn-Express London Stratford an ideal base for business or pleasure. Complimentary Express Hot Breakfast is served every morning in our Great Room. Evening meals are served Monday-Sunday 18:00 22:00. Car Park booking is FIRST COME FIRST SERVE only. Charges £20 PER NIGHT PER CAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing