We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curate's Egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fraser Suites Kensington
Ranked #673 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Curate's Egg”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Like the curate and his egg, our experience of this place was mixed. It was a late booking for two nights, uncharacteristically using Agoda because we decided to come to London a few days early on short notice. It was advertised as a 32 sq m four star deluxe apartment for about GBP 170 per night. When we dropped our luggage off at lunch time we asked for a quiet room. When we checked in, we were given a low-ceilinged basement studio looking out on passing legs on a major road. We asked for another room - impossible because they were full. When we asked for a refund, we were told we could only have one night refunded - better than Agoda's conditions, but unsatisfactory to us. We sat for an hour as the management negotiated with Agoda, then accepted their offer of a better room, next night, and breakfast one morning, and free internet.

The management was used to dealing with people like us and had their lines prepared - as colonials,we might not be aware that London uses all floors. The problem here was the 4 star rating. A dingy, noisy room at basement level is not 4 star deluxe. The gourmet breakfast was plastic - plastic tables and chairs, tiny pastries, yoghurt, cereals and toast, cheese and machine coffee (the machine stopped working, the muesli was stale and they ran out of croissants).

The apartment on the 2nd night was a 2 bedroom suite, much better, although the internal spiral stair was a bit of a challenge. The kitchenette was well supplied with pots and pans and so on. Unfortunately, the sour taste from our first encounter, and the knowledge that most people pay UKP10 per night for the internet.

Despite management's efforts to compensate, will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room above ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AusGreyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This serviced apartment is center to everything you can ask for. Near the Gloucester Tube station. This is a top class safe location with a nice private garden. Key Card entry to all parts of the apartments. Daily maid service is good (not great). Free wifi for all your deivices. One day we lost power (in London - yes believe me) the front desk guys ran to us to provide a well charged torch light. Kids friendly. Nice Loft. We were in a two level two bedroom. Nice Patio. You can get a CAB just right outside the apartment almost anytime. There is a waitrose near by. Tesco express too. Get a Lyca mobile (Free 1 pound topup automatically) and what more do you want. May be a pool would have been Nice. But you are London. I shoudn't ask for more. Luxury its is.

Room Tip: Get a two level two bedroom. Bedrooms are a bit smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camssmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and our 2 children had booked into the Fraser suites at Queensgate to stay for a week while my husband ran the London Marathon. We chose to stay here because it came highly recommended from some friends of ours who had stayed there in the past.

However at the last minute I had to unfortunately cancel due to my mother being diagnosed with a terminal illness. We were forced to cancel the entire trip as a result so we could be with my mother and family.

I can't thank the management team at Fraser Suites enough for their kindness and generosity at a very difficult time. They happily refunded us and were so understanding. I am forever grateful and I do hope one day we will return and stay.

In the meantime, I plan to spread the word about this hotel. Thank you...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed at fraser's suite for two months and beside being comfortable and nicely furbished
they would really need to improve their CLEANING skills if they want people coming back.
We rented a two bedrooms apartment with bathrooms and one large kitchen, as I work from home I always was at home during daily cleaning. The cleaner, has never been able to lift a paper on the floor for all the time we stayed there-left it on purpose to see how long it would take her to pick it up-when cleaning the drawing room table there were some objects on it, she was passing the cleaning cloth around them...sometimes the dishwasher machine did not perfectly cleaned all saucepans or dishes and she was putting them dirty anyways in the cupboard.

Another downside is the terrible food smell ( fried garlic most of the times) that comes in everyday from other apartments, it was so strong that more than once we have been woken up by the smell!

The positive sides are: great location, apartment size, and the beautiful garden where guest can spend time.

Is it true that apartments are noisy, I could hear the person in the second room walking as she was in mine.

Over all, if you have to stay a long time in a residence is it more than acceptable, just bear in minds these things I pointed out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Pros:

1. Great location - right in the middle of Kensington, basically just vis a'vis Natural History Museum, Science Museum and V&A.
2. Nice building - Georgian terraced town houses linked together. Some cons because of that as well
3. Fabulous park for guests. Just in front of the terrace we had a fenced old park for habitants of surrounding buildings. If you have time and wether permits try to spend few hours there justs lying on the grass. Oasis of tranquility in the centre of London
4. Very good customer service. With one "but"

Con:
1. Building needs, maybe not major but slight renovation. We had a two level apartment, with bedrooms in basement and there was some mold in few corners.
2. You can hear people walking upstairs - but it's common in old London's buildings
3. Internet service is a joke. We had quite a few Apple devices and during our 5 week staty, despite numerous attempts to fix it, we didn't have a single day of uninterrupted service

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafał K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was a really nice hotel in a great area - its in the midst of south Kensington, beside Kensington Gardens and stone's throw from the V & A, Natural History Museum etc. The hotel is a beautiful Georgian terraced building.
The room was well appointed - clean and fresh with kitchen facilities and a modern bathroom (with L'Occitane toilettries!). My only complaint would be that you could hear the guests in the room above walking about but that is probably due to it being an old building.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#402 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#630 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#456 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Kensington

Property: Fraser Suites Kensington
Address: Fairbriar Residence 75 Stanhope Gardens, London SW7 5RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#373 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Suites Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Kensington Hotel London
Fraser Suites London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing