We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get it cheap!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #765 of 1,087 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get it cheap!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location for Kings Cross but tatty rooms. I wouldn't want to stay again unless London was full! Normally there is plenty of better competition in the £100 range but London can be tricky when it is busy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    132
    151
    71
    41
See reviews for
70
136
53
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My son stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 19th June 2013 for one night while passing through on his way to France. I paid for B&B. When he explained that he getting up and leaving earlier than breakfast was being served. He asked at the reception (while checking in) would they be able to arrange either sandwich or snack for him to take away either in the morning or the night before. They declined saying 'they don't do that'. The reception staff were not very friendly at all and dismissed this offer. In this day and age you would think that a customer's priority is paramount. As he had paid for B&B you would like to think that they could accommodate this request. Not a very good hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are a light sleeper. The rooms are extremely small and we couldn't hear everything in the next room and guests stomping up and down the stairs. Beds were not very comfortable. We could not sleep at all. The location is good but that is about the only positive to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Previous reviews all say the same. It's just very noisy, guests banging doors, pacing around the loose floor boards above. If it wasn't for the price & location I'd have been disappointed. I can only assume the guests above us had a lot of packing to do, they spent over an hour (from 6.15) squeaking the floorboards. And with the other guests banging doors on our floor (to be expected from any multiple occupancy accommodation) it did not make for a great nights sleep. Overall I would say hotel good, guests poor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scook78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The rooms are very small, however I only paid £25 for 1 night to stay there so I cant complain! Excellent location (about 5 minutes walking from Kings Cross/St Pancras) friendly staff, and clean, what more could you ask for really for £25!? I would recommend to anyone who is on a tight budget in London as it is a good base to explore all of the major attractions.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a higher floor, so you are not near the noise of the breakfast room in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

A room just outside King's Cross for £50 - what more can you say? Perfectly adequate for a short stay, not sure I'd want to be there for a week. Bed comfortable, reception helpful, shower worked fine too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuccir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel is in a really good location,5min to St. Pancras /Kings cross.The receptionist wasn't helpful at all,our train departed at 7 in the moring,and we asked if we could have the breakfast earlier,or if we could take a croissant with us,and she said (quite carelessly) that breakfast is from 7 and she cant help.However we paid for the breakfast too,we didn't get anything for our money :( The room was tiny,cleanliness was ok,but the toilet was outside of the room,and the shower in the room was tiny,separated from the room with a shower curtain,and with NO LIGHT inside..very uncomfortable.The bed was ok,but we woke up a couple of times hearing people passing by,or walking upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#737 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#536 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#738 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#516 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Property: Hotel Montana Excel
Address: 16-18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #765 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing