We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #794 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 April 2014

2 minutes walk from kings cross. £65 for a double room overlooking argyle square with breakfast included. Very friendly staff. If you want luxury you'll need to go elsewhere but if you want a very convenient, friendly place to stay you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We did not pay a great deal for our 1 night stay. I booked online and thought that the room included a basic ensuite but I think this is a fault with the websites advertising this hotel and not the hotel itself. Our room (G6) was a double room with a TV with a freeview box, tea making facilities and a bathroom style sink. The toilets and showers were shared between 3 rooms and located very close by. I concidered our rooms to be clean & secure but basic - just what we required. The hotels decor is worn and dated but the staff very helpfull and pleasant. We enjoyed a good nights sleep in comfortable beds. When my friend and I went for breakfast it was busy and we joined a table of 6 which already had 4 people sat down for breakfast. The people we joined for breakfast were very pleasant and we enjoyed their company. The breakfast was delightful! Full english breakfast buffet cooked lovely - (I think this was the reason why the breakfast room was so busy as people were tucking into seconds. Also I noted that the toilets and shower were cleaned often. If you are on a budget this is a decent hotel. I have paid slightly more for better in this area but you get what you pay for. I left this hotel feeling very happy that we got value for money. I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kachanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Cheap budget hotel- i thought i was paying for an en-suite, but had a small shower in the corner of the bedroom and no toilet. Shared toilet facilities. Breakfast was tasty and location is ideal if travelling into Kings Cross or Euston. I've stayed in better hotels for similar prices in this location- so shop around before you book if you want a larger room with better facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

If it's for one night (like me), what could you find for less in that area…I'm unsure. However, it's a basic 'dormitory' kind hotel with shared toilet on the corridor. The staff is not really smiling…the rules are the rules.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great budget hotel. In life you get what you pay for. This hotel has small rooms, small bathrooms, no lift and can be noisy. Having said that it is clean, the bed was comfortable, is close to transport and restaurants (highly recommend the O'Neils on Euston St opposite Kings Cross station) the staff are friendly, the showers are hot and the rooms are heated. A full English breakfast is included in the price, bacon,eggs, toast, tomatoes, baked beans cereal tea and coffee. Overall a good experience and we all agreed we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

There is something about London that guarantees that every hotel for which you pay less than 80 pounds is absolutely shoddy.

In this case, it was a room of about 8 square meters, questionable state of the carpet, the smallest shower in the world (which inevitably turned the carpet wet further, making you wonder about the amounts of mold underneath). Also, there was a shared toilet (although the website said bathroom included in the price, for which we paid extra, but obviously a bathroom does not include a toilet), which was in continuous use, even though it had a questionable rate of hygiene. Then, the walls were so thin that the neighbor's snoring could just as have been in our room. To top it off, the breakfast room was completely overcrowded and the coffee definitely not the best in the world, although it must be said that the staff there made a good effort.

All this hotel really has going for it is the location, which is green and quiet, and very close to St Pancras. But there are plenty of other good choices in its surroundings.

If London wants to keep up its reputation of offering only extremely overpriced hotels with bad hygiene standards, than it does well to keep these establishments running.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Montana Excel. Ok, rooms are not too big but what do you expect in central London for these prices? The staff is friendly and are doing their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#136 of 1,081 in London
1,300 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#318 of 1,081 in London
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,081 in London
4,483 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#766 of 1,081 in London
576 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#335 of 1,081 in London
4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Address: 16-18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #794 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing