We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montana Excel
Ranked #786 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of Montana Excel Hotel is excellent. Just few hundred meters from King's Cross Station. Even though the hotel was close to the station, the square next to the hotel was quiet. The hotel itself was clean, including the hotel room and on-suite toilet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was ok (toast, bacon, eggs, sausages, tea, coffee, marmalade and orange juice - but the tomatoes came from a tin), although the breakfast room was quite warm and the sausages had been too long on the tray. Wifi worked well in early mornings and late evenings. All in all, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karri_Karri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location close to Kings Cross / St Pancras. Unfortunately we were on the top flor which wasn't fun with two large suitcases to get up all the stairs. We had a room with a shower but shared toilet. The shower was to small to use & we are not big people. The room was cramped as the beds were going across the room - you could hardly get passed the end. It would make a lot more sense to have the beds running along the walls - more room to move about and maneuverer suitcases. Breakfast was very good - the hotel is noisy but it was mainly other guests slamming doors. Very clean and tidy though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessDAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in a twin plenty of room for me but could be cosy if two of you! Booked ensuite so had a toilet in the room :) check in was friendly and quick breakfast was ok but had to come back twice as breakfast room was full. The room was clean but this hotel is very noisy ... not the hotels fault as such but they must get a lot of people for the station as lots of late night arrivals and early morning departures. The location of the hotel is amazing so close and convenient... and for £90 in London its a gem :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Montana Hotel was in a terrific location for sightseeing and yet it was quiet, too. It is on the corner of Cromwell and Gloucester Roads and about a half a mile from the V&A. There were plenty of good restaurants nearby as well as a Waitrose, a Boots and other stores. The tube station is directly kitty corner across Cromwell. Our room was spacious on London terms. We had a double bed, a sitting chair, an armor, a desk, two bedside tables and a bench with drawers on top of which a suitcase could be stored. The ensuite bathroom was tiny. It included a sink, toilet and shower. A large person would have a difficult time in such a tiny bathroom, but it was okay for us. The room included an AC/heat unit (AC worked well for us), a small refrigerator and an electric kettle. Our room came with breakfast, but this was the most disappointing part of our stay. The coffee was instant and the toast was generally cold. There were four cereal choices, yogurt in cups (no plain), canned fruit, fresh fruit, and juices. It was adequate, but not great. One could order a full English breakfast for 6.95pounds, but we went out for breakfast after the first morning. There were plenty of places nearby to sit outside and enjoy a real coffee. The front desk staff at the Montana were very helpful and nice. I believe they would offer touring advice if asked and arrange tickets and tours, but we did not need this service. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, but would arrange a room that did not include breakfast, if possible.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back (#304) that was very quiet. All rooms seem to have sound proof windows, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Brilliant as it was only 3 mins walk from Kings Cross underground station.
Booked a twin room for a one night stay. We stayed in B4 in basement. It was clean and pleasantly decorated with a shower base in the corner of the room meaning the steam goes into the room. Also a sink but no toilet. This was up a flight of stairs and didn't lock!
Beds were comfortable although only 2ft 6" width. Spare pillows in cupboard.
Tea and coffee supplied but no hairdryer.
Towels supplied but no where to hang it after shower. Soap tablet supplied on sink.
Woken by other clients going to breakfast as it was next to our room. Tried 3 times to go in to have breakfast but no where to sit as packed. Buffet style breakfast with sausage, bacon, fried egg, tomatoes, beans, toast, cereal plus hot drinks. Polite staff!
Okay hotel for one night but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you have a jammed packed schedule and literally want somewhere to rest your head you can't go too wrong. I paid £60 for a single room with shower and sink (no toilet.) It was clean and had everything I needed in it for a night stop over. I was nervous about the shared toilet however it was very clean at ALL times, if very small! The breakfast was good for the price of the room and the dining hall was immaculately clean and presented nicely.
The hotel overlooks a classic London square, a nice view except for during my stay it was nice weather and the local street drinkers conducted a leisurely afternoon which they did not interrupt with trips to the loo (why would you it seems when you can wee in the gardens!) Late at night the street/square filled with young adults who were not particularly obnoxious but were just noisy by their sheer volume. This noise went on until past 1 am.
The hotels walls are thin and you can hear your 'neighbours' however during my stay the people in the hotel were all very quiet and I only heard noise at reasonable times.
If you are looking for somewhere cheap to rest your head it's an OK bet... Just tire yourself out in London and you will sleep like a log!

Oh and before I forget on the plus they had tea milk and tea bags for 5 cuppas.... not bad for a single room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Customer service is Soviet style.

Location is good, but street/park outside frequented by aggressive drug dealers. Other guests in hotel are drunk and loud. Doors banging all night. Shared toilet is horrid. Beds are child size and not full length. No mattress protector. One rubbish pillow which had to fold in half. Shower in the room makes room damp and shower smells. No shower gel. Nowhere to hang wet towel. Gum all over room carpet. Room stank.

Breakfast was disgusting.

Tip: book earlier and stay at the nearby Crescent Hotel in Cartwright Gardens. Amazing what difference you get for same price just gets booked out too quick)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinkyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#441 of 1,077 in London
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Marylebone
Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana Excel

Address: 16-18 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #786 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montana Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Excel London
Montana Excel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing