We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel and Fab view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #311 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed here for my 30th Birthday as i was going out in town for the evening.
The hotel lobby was very big and bright and also busy. It didnt however stop someone coming to help me.
The staff on the front desk couldnt do enough for me and when they found out it was my birthday made a massive fuss.
My room was lovely with a view of the Thames which was so nice. The bar also had the most amazing views of London.
It was easy to get into town from there and it was perfect for what i needed.
The breakfast the next day was lovely but if it hadnt have been included in the cost of my room i wouldnt have wanted to pay nearly £20.00 for a cooked breakfast.
Other then that it was a lovely stay and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the Thames. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,264 - 4,270 of 6,543 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel is slightly out of the way which will suit some and not others. Nearest tube is 5 mins walk away at pimlico. Hotel is nice and rooms are well appointed. Bar on first floor has selection of whisky... Always an important consideration!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tartan_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Booked a single room here for one night. Excellent room with efficient air con, double bed, power shower and good quality toiletries. Varied breakfast included in the price. Dinner was reasonable (for London) and good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Mint hotels offer excellent quality hotels at very reasonable rates. Use Trip Advisor to search for the best rates.

Close to Pimlico Tube station and easy walking distance to houses of parliament. Excellent bus service near hotel to Paddington station and other locations.

Rooms are spacious, modern and very comfortable. Apple Macs in every room are also used as the TV. Free wifi available in rooms and hotel public areas.

Staff were always very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We just came back from a 3-night stay at the Mint. From start to finish it was a great experience. We got a great rate. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was bright, comfortable and very clean - and not at all cramped, which is often the case in London.
The only downside was having to use the Mac monitor as the TV - not great quality and a bit small. But a nice idea - just need bigger monitors probably.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although difficult to tell from the hotel booking site, this hotel does still have smoking rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NekoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

An excellent value for London with quite reasonably sized rooms. Clean, well-kept and well run. Located 15-20 minutes walking from Pimlico Underground with access thereby to virtually anywhere you would want to go in Central London. Hotel restaurants nothing memorable and not much in the immediate neighborhood but hop on to the Underground an there are numerous excellent restaurants with a myriad of cuisines.

Travelling with our children, ages 16 and 22 we had one double room and one suite. The suite was lovely, roomy and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esigall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here for six days and could not have been happier especially considering the price point. Here are some of the major highlights (none of which are entirely original since many others have pointed these out as well):

1. LOCATION -- you get the best of both worlds. You're amazingly central to everything but the hotel is located on a very quiet side street. As my wife and I were walking to the hotel upon arrival in London (from the Pimlico Tube Station) my wife kept commenting, "why did you book a hotel in the middle of nowhere?" That's how quiet the street is. She didn't realize that we were literally one block away from Parliament.

2. The MAC in the room. At first I didn't think it would be such a big deal but it turned out to be an amazing convenience not only for contacting people via email but just planning out the day and getting tourist info.

3. The price point -- I thought the hotel provided amazing value. Sure there are cheaper hotels but for the location and the amenities you can't do much better unless you jump into a significantly higher price category.

4. The staff was very helpful and professional.

5. Nice size room -- by London or NYC standards, the Mint has very generous rooms. If you haven't stayed in a real urban hotel, you should definitely expect something smaller than what you might find in a city like St. Louis or Miami.

The CONS:

1. I wish there were more storage space. We were there for six days and had to live out of the suitcase because there weren't any dressers for us to unpack. Not such a big deal in a one night or two-night stay but when you're there for an extended period, it becomes something of a pain.

2. Housekeeping was a bit spotty. A couple of nights, housekeeping did not replace used glasses. It's not a big deal to rinse out a used glass but it does seem to reveal a lack of attention to detail.

3. The shampoo was pretty awful. After two days, our hair was so dry that we ended up buying our own shampoo.

Again, despite these three issues, I still think the Mint Hotel was fabulous and would definitely stay there again the next time we're in London.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in London
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £121 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing