We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel In london”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #277 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel In london”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

First the check in was very smooth. Thanks. Is is very close to the Westminster Underground.
I stayed here for 3nights. Rooms are not huge but still of decent size according to london standards. The view from higher floors is O.k. Its very close to some london attractions.
Rooms are clean. Bed is Comfy. Best part is imac in the rooms.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: For Family you should take a higher category rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oswalsachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,998
    2,403
    623
    184
    63
See reviews for
1,096
2,612
339
1,267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here before but hotel has changed name a number of times! For a business trip it is hard to fault, (from my perspective at least) close enough to business part of city, high quality and caters for all your needs. To be honest I would probably not use for weekend break as not big on character but I don't think they are targetting that market.

The positives were staff that are very keen to be attentive and regularly check that every thing is in order. The room is very comfortable with a really nice integrated Apple entertainment system. Good free wifi service in rooms but if I did not have notebook, I could have choosen to go online anyway on Apple system. Special requests at breakfast were easily accommodated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fad-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here one night in September 2011. The hotel is very nice, rooms modern, comfortable. Very nice breakfast too! But all of this comes at a price! Little bit far from tube network! Would I stay: if they have a sale!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff, the cookues on arrival/check in cute touch. room was spacious,clean & comfortable.great location.only downside-food was way expensive.would definately stay again & recommend to all

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is recently refurbished so very smart and clean. The staff are most helpful. We chose an 8th floor room with a very comfortable king bed (slept really well). The room was quiet and well appointed but only had a shower, no bath. The hotel's really well located for cuture vultures being right beside Tate Britain, a minute's walk from bus routes 88 (direct to Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly circus, Haymrket theatres), and C10 (direct to the Southbank concert halls and National Theatre); and about 5 minute walk to Pimlico tube station (Victoria Line) and bus route 360 (to Sloane Square and the Saatchi Gallery where the cream tea is worth the trip alone....but I guess that's another review). I also see from Tripadvisor that the hotel's close to a good Chinese (the Hunan on Pimlico Road) so we'll be trying that next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cellarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel was a great value, especially in London where finding an affordable, nice hotel can be difficult. This hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the major attractions of Westminster and several different underground lines. The hotel itself was very nice. The room was clean, comfortable, and I loved that they have a computer in the room for you to use. It makes things so much easier for those of us who do not travel with a laptop! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful as well. I highly recommend staying here if you'll be visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for New Years Eve 2011, it was a great location for this - you could see the fireworks from the riverbank just outside the hotel, and other locations were only 10-15 minutes away by foot. The nearest tube station is Pimlico, about a half a mile away - alternatively Westminster is not much further away (in the opposite direction).

The hotel itself was very nice indeed - very clean room, spacious (unlike other hotels in London) and very comfortable. A brilliant feature was the iMac in the room - not only used as a TV but you can also use it as a computer to browse the internet, saves you bringing your own laptop.

Service at reception was good, but on two occasions cleaning / housekeeping staff seemed to knock then instantly let themselves into our room without waiting for our response. We were also woken up early one morning by cleaning staff at about 8.30am on New Years Day - so if you want a lie in, make sure you put 'do not disturb' on the door!

Otherwise, everything as fine and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absolution101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#427 of 1,068 in London
9,245 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,068 in London
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing