We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #281 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“What a great Hotel!!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed two nights on 12th Floor with views to Big-Ben!!Spacious room with one double bed and an extra-bed for my son ( great that children stay free in Hilton Hotels until 18 years old!!). Both beds were very comfortable and the room and bathroom spotless clean. Free internet and two bottles of water per day free of charge.We have got a great pre-paid rate on Hilton website...much cheaper than Marriott or Park Plaza for the same dates.
Warm welcome at check-in...easy chek-out.
Great quiet location ( didn`t hear any noise at all!!),steps away from Tate Britan and 10 min walking to Westminster and Victoria. Bus 88 to Piccadilly and C10 to Victoria on the street in front of the Hotel.Pimlico tube station is 5 min walking.
Superb breakfast buffet with delicious hot food cooked to order!
Fantastic staff and service.This was my 10 th time in London and the best stay ,by far...I will return soon for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,015
    2,426
    627
    187
    66
See reviews for
1,109
2,632
339
1,275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

very nice hotel. having a computer all set up and connected in room was helpful but not so great as a TV. Breakfast was okay, food in lounge lousy, dinner in restaurant excellent but pricey. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have stayed here now a number of times. Very clean, well appointed, great location with a very good breakfast.
I have stayed in a number of so called high end Hotels in London and would say they have a way to go to match this Hotel.
It's position and neighbors means you can find yourself sitting next to some interesting people at breakfast in the City restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel became a Double Tree only 3 months ago. Before it was named Mint Hotel. The hotel is located next to the HQ of Mi5 and Burberrys...but I guess out of town spooks and fashion people already knew this.
Rooms are not big....but for London this is good.
Internet is fast and free. Staff is very friendly. Gym is Ok.
Breakfast is super.
Westminster and Pimlico subway stations are very close and the Tate gallery is just around the block

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed one night because of a central London business review meeting and subsequent dinner.

Once I got over the strange feeling of staying in an hotel in my own city, I took stock of the place.

The public areas are large and airy, with a double-height atrium, and the longest reception desk I've ever seen. Regrettably, like the old Post Offices, only two service points were manned, meaning long queues and waiting time to register.

Making my way to my room involved walking along long, cold and soulless corridors looking more apt for a warehouse than a place of rest and relaxation.

The room itself was a pleasant surprise - better laid-out and fitted than almost any I can remember. A particularly nice touch was the iMac and the free WiFi.

Breakfast was okay and the standard unremarkable hotel buffet. A lowlight was the otherwise efficient obligatory Eastern European waiting staff being totally flummoxed by my innocent request for Marmite for my toast - smiling and nodding and then ignoring me completely in the hope that I'd forget. The hotel may be in the UK, but based on this experience it seems not many Brits stay there.

On reviewing my bill I was surprised to see room tax added as an extra item. I wasn't worried because the company was paying, but as far as I know there is no room tax in the UK, so one to watch there perhaps.

In summary - a pretty run of the mill hotel with comfortable rooms, but a little lacking in soul and style..... oh, and Marmite :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banker_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Check in was a breeze,, but the size of the room was very small..3rd floor interleading rooms..not nice, and no view. I felt very cramped in the room, and there was blood/brown/wine stains in the chair in the room and on the bathrobes..that didn't matter much as we were there for the soccer(man u and liverpool) But the service from staff was good and the location of the hotel is great..breakfast was very nice and tasty(we were always out for supper).. I would look around for other hotels within the area next time i go there..hopefully there is something better, bigger, and with a view.. Sing4

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sing4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just back from a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. Right from the minute We stepped inside the door we were made to feel welcome. Check in was seamless, only seemed to take a matter of seconds. Then we were given a huge warm cookie to enjoy in our room. I was upgraded to a Queen double with river view. Nice touch and a big thank You to Greta whom I actually booked the hotel with. Room was large by London standards,absolutely spotless. Nice touch with the IMAC in the room with free internet,This also doubles up as the TV. Hotel location is right in the middle of many tourist sights.Tate Britain is on the doorstep while Houses of Parliament are a 5 to 6 monute walk away. Westminster tube is a further 2 minute walk. Pimlico Tube is a little closer. Bus stop almost on the doorstep plus Taxi's lined up at reception. We had breakfast included,Continental breakfast was buffet with a wide choice but you could also choose a traditional breakfast which was cooked to order.Yummy. Breakfast staff were wonderful and friendly. I travel to London numerous times throughout the year and will certainly be coming back to The Doubletree. Really enjoyed My Stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom71_Tina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#430 of 1,069 in London
9,374 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing