We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #259 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bromilee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel is modern and clean. Cookie on arrival is gorgeous. Complimentary bottled water in room. Desktop computer in room. shower great. bed comfortable.
Hotel is about a ten minute walk to the river and houses of parliament.
Bar is expensive at £5 a pint of lager but you get complimentary snacks (crisps / nuts).
We paid £110 for one night at this hotel and overall we feel its great value for money considering that the premier inns and travel lodges are either only a little cheaper or more expensive.

Room Tip: Non-refundable rooms are much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bromilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Bromilee,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that our location and facilities are well-suited to your needs. We especially appreciate your love of our signature DoubleTree Cookies!

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand, and it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in this venture.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to Westminster in the near future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,945
    2,346
    596
    174
    56
See reviews for
1,046
2,559
330
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Doubletree Westminster/London hotel for a leisure vacation with a mix of family and friends. I found the lobby area to be very modern and inviting upon first entering. There are two restaurants plus an executive lounge for Hilton Honors members, which is awesome, as nearby restaurants seem to close early. There is not a pool, but there is a very nice fitness center. I was surprised just how close the hotel was to the houses of Parliament, Westminster Abby, the London Eye and Buckingham Palace. We even walked the mile and-a-half to and from those sites a few times, but if you wanted to take a taxi, the rate was very low as the attractions are very nearby. If you’re booking tours that you need to meet up for at Victoria Coach Station, that too is just a hop, skip and a jump away. Granted the proximity to the aforementioned, I think if I were to visit London again, I’d stay closer to the city center. I saw another Doubletree (Courthouse) and a Hilton (Park Lane) if using points for your stay that were just a tad north and closer to other attractions and restaurants, notwithstanding however, this property was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is construction going on across the street of two buildings, although once inside the hotel, we did not hear the related noise. The property offered complimentary wifi, which was very spotty in the rooms, but decent in the lobby. All of the staff I encountered from the front desk, housekeeping, room service and the restaurants, was very friendly. If in need of a taxi, there was always one waiting out front. If using points and/or breakfast is included with the room, it was buffet style with the typical eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereal, etc…and very filling.

The room I stayed in was a standard double twin. For Americans familiar with the Doubletree brand, the room here was not like the American Doubletree’s, the rooms were considerably smaller and so were the hallways; very narrow. Our driver informed us the building was about six-years old and was formerly another property. As I mentioned, the beds were twin and the shower was just that, not doubling as a bathtub too. Rather than a TV, there was an iMac that doubled as a TV and computer (with fast wired internet). Although the bed was a twin, it was very comfortable; we weren’t there to hang out at the hotel. Included in the room were a decent hair dryer, closet space, a safe and iron/board, but don’t forget your electrical adaptors! If I had to rate my experience here on a scale of 10, I’d give it an 8. I had a great stay here and no bedbugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312newswannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear 312newswannabe

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your stay, and are pleased to see that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding the Hotel's location. The DoubleTree Westminster is conveniently close to several Central London attractions and shopping districts without the disadvantage of the hustle and bustle that usually accompanies it. We are often described as an oasis of calm within the City, as our guests get the benefits of a Central London hotel whilst maintaining a peace and quiet that belies the busy City.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and we hope to welcome you both back to Westminster in the near future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights before travelling from London to Australia. Very clean, comfortable hotel, bed was very comfortable. Room did not have a bath which was disappointing as I had asked about this prior to my booking, we could have had a room with a bath but that would have cost approx 150 pounds which we could not justify, however we could not fault this hotel. Location was great, walking distance to London Eye, Westend. We hired the public bikes which are scattered around London which made getting around even easier, but it was an adventure hiring the bikes! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear BrisbaneMarie,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am sorry that you were disappointed at not having a bathtub in your room. All our standard rooms are equipped with showers, and this should have been made known to you at the time of booking; I sincerely apologise if this was not the case. Our room types and facilities are listed in detail on our website, so please feel free to peruse this in advance of your next visit.

Other than this, I hope you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back the DoubleTree Westminster in future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent a night here with the kids a we had a wedding to attend at Milbank Towers which literally is right behind the hotel so an ideal location for our stay.
Check in was no problem though we arrive at 2.00 and neither of the two rooms were available as we were an hour early, but they offered another room instead. Interestingly the hotel has a smoking floor which is a pulse for the smokers out there.
We were given the cookies at reception which are a nice touch but can't really cover some of the inadequacies of the hotel.
We had a standard room which doesn't really feel like a £200 a night room, much more Holiday Inn Express than Hilton. Small bathroom with a shower and those awful pump dispensers for soap, why do hotels do this, makes it feel more like a public toilet than expensive hotel.
Bed was comfy, there is a n Apple TV which has Sky sports which was great though the screen is small. Tea and coffee making facilities are in a draw under the TV. There is an ironing board as well which is handy. We were on the 8th floor (odd number) and over looked the adjacent offices.
There is parking available and it costs £20 for 24 hours. You can't pre-book so it's down to chance if there is a space available. We did have a snack in the restaurant on the first floor and the steak and pizza were both tasty.
This chain seems popular with Americans and I suppose if you can get a good discount the location is great being a 10 min walk from parliament but for the full rate you can get much more comfort and style than you get here.
Don't think I'll be back!

Room Tip: Smokers floor is the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southendwesthamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Southendwesthamfan,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your stay, and are pleased to see that you found our location and some of our facilities convenient for your needs. We are also delighted that you and your family enjoyed our signature DoubleTree Cookies.

I was disappointed to see that you did not consider your stay good value for money. DoubleTree by Hilton often runs seasonal promotions offering significant discounts off our standard rates at various times of the year. Please visit our website for more information on our fabulous holiday deals.

I am sorry that you have decided not to return to our property at this time, but thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed two nights over the weekend in July. Good sized rooms, Mac in room a bonus. Reasonably good location, though still a good ten minute walk from the nearest tube station. Hotel itself is nicely finished, though not overtly inviting.
Good range of food at breakfast, though in house food not a great standard and way over priced, even for central Lomdon.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant as it way over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embankment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Thoroughly recommend this hotel- everything was taken care of so well- super friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room (with good air- com that works- a bonus!) Modern stylish décor and good view out of the window by the lifts, although our room view was not so good. It is 0.4 mile to Pimlico Tube and 0.9mile to Westminster Tube, so easy access to the city. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff there- thank you:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GiraffeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel during August 2013 when I was in London for the Anniversary athletics games at Olympic park. The hotel was fairly easy to find (although I took a few minutes to realise it was the next street back from the river and walked past it once) and is located a shortish walk (15 odd minutes) from Westminster and is close to Pimlico tube station. First impressions were a clean modern hotel. The reception area was very busy with guests checking in when I arrived. Someone told me another hotel had suffered a power cut or something so they were being transferred across. The wait was still only a couple minutes though until I was dealt with.

The girl on reception who took my details (sorry cant remember her name) was delightful, very friendly and very efficient. The warm cookie was a nice touch.

My room was a couple of floors up, the view was nothing to write home about as it looked over a car park at the rear however I didnt mind because a) I got a good deal on the room and b) I wasnt there to see the sights and it was dark when I returned in the evening anyway. The room was clean and modern and everything was neat and tidy. The apple TV thingy was good once I worked out how to use it although I didnt really use it much. The room was quiet and cool with a nice efficient air conditioning system. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

I didnt stay for the breakfast as I was on a budget and so went elsewhere so cannot comment on that aspect.

Overall a really nice relaxing stay I would definately recomend this hotel to friends and family and would stay here again the next time I am in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The Hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing