We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #279 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Our suite on 13th floor, overlooked Westminster Abbey and London eye. So is in easy walking distance to these tourist spots as well as Big Ben , Downing Street , Buckingham palace etc.
The staff were very helpful and efficient . The room was great and nicely furnished . This hotel has free wifi and we had an apple mac in the sitting area and our bedroom. The only surprise , no mini bar but there was room service and they had a very nice bar. We did have the use of the executive lounge for complimentary drinks , but Everyman and his dog seemed to be in there so gave that a miss.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pompeychic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Pompeychic1,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a detailed review of your stay, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand, and it is a joy when we receive confirmation from valued guests such as yourself that we have succeeded in this venture.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,014
    2,424
    627
    186
    66
See reviews for
1,109
2,630
339
1,274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

stayed in this hotel in October and really enjoyed it. The rooms are nice size and clean, the staff is helpful. The location was very good to explore royal London. Short walk to Westminster abbey, parliament and Big Ben. The tube is also close by, when you are ready for other parts of London.
price is medium to high, depending on the day of stay... at least $215 per night

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear sotms,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a detailed review of your stay, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our location and facilities convenient for your needs.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand, we are glad that we have met your expectations of our establishment.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had never stayed in this part of London and it was a great destination and under normal circumstances would have been a slice of heaven. But given the HUGE construction projects underway it should be quite some time before it returns to its peaceful self.

This hotel is a typical Hilton Doubletree product with excellent front of the house, ample rooms with bath and a nice executive lounge that is well stocked and nicely appointed. I would look forward to returning here but only if the construction projects have finished. They start very early and even on weekends so it is not very restful. Although, if you are there on business you would most likely not notice as you would if in town for a leisure stay.

The hotel was equidistant from two different tube lines which made exploring easy. We most enjoyed walking home from a long day out and about to find Westminister and Big Ben waiting for us as we climbed up the tube steps.

Had this not been a stay with out points I would have definitely been more upset. As it turned out the booming construction served as a wake up call for us to get out and see London. Although I do think someone should have shared this with us and others making reservations as this definitely was disturbing even for this city girl.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is the first time I have stayed here and I'm sure I will make it my London base next time too. I like staying in Westminster and the hotel is an easy walk to the tube (if the Abbey, Big Ben, etc. aren't enough). The staff is friendly and helpful. As an aside, I am very pleased to see another reviewer mention that the staff treated them with respect when they organized an anniversary commemoration of the Lockerbie tragedy.

Speaking of services at Westminster, if you have never been to some Christmas service at Westminster, put it on your bucket list! You will never be a scrooge again!

I found the price of the hotel rooms a very good value, but as others say, the bathroom (shower only, unless you upgrade for a suite) is a bit small.

It would be nice if the Executive Lounge had windows and bigger variety of snacks. And it would be nice if they had REAL orange juice for breakfast (not "orange drink" with 50% added sugar) but having said that, they worked hard to humor me when each morning I asked for fresh squeezed.

Very accommodating folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMR3837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear NMR3837,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a detailed review of your stay, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests appreciate and have come to expect from our Brand, and it is a joy when we receive confirmation from valued guests such as yourself that we have succeeded in this venture.

Your feedback is important to us as it enables us monitor the service we provide, and I have passed your comments regarding the variety of snack in the Executive Lounge and the orange juice at breakfast to our Food & Beverage Manager for further action and review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

By booking this hotel months in advance, I was able to secure what I thought was an excellent rate for a hotel located right in the heart of London.

It was quiet, which was perfect for me to adjust to the time zone without sleep being affected by external noises.

There were several cafes located in the adjoining streets where you could get a cheap but hearty breakfast which is a nice alternative to the hotel breakfast (if it's not included in your rate).

The only drawback is that you're about 10-15 mins walk to a tube station, but the #88 bus does go past outside and will take you to Trafalgar Square and beyond.

Also, bear in mind, this is more of a businessman's hotel - so the rooms are smaller and set up with a desk and computer. But if you're just using it as somewhere to sleep while you're out and about, then it's perfect. And also be prepared for a tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: Upper floors I would think would add to a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoidaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear PoidaK,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the number of positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This has been the first time I have stayed overnight in London and the hotel did not disappoint at all. It is close to the tube, only about 10 minutes walk, is spotless and has everything you could need. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the number of positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed here before and may well do again. But I do have to say it is rather pricey for the size of room. I had a queen exec room which isn't much bigger than the bed. The bathroom is very small with only a shower, loo and corner sink. It does the job (play to lay after big night out) but it costs a lot considering. The breakfast was very good though and the service is always good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Peter B,

Many thanks for your review of your first visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your recent stay, and I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comments on our room rates. Please be assured that we do regularly conduct surveys with regards to our pricing structure to ensure we remain on par with our competitors in the London marketplace. I am sorry that you found our standards rooms rather compact for your needs, and can recommend upgrading to one of our King City Suites if more space is required on your next visit.

We would love to welcome you back to our Hotel in future. DoubleTree by Hilton often runs seasonal promotions offering significant discounts off our standard rates at various times of the year, so please visit our website for more information on our fabulous holiday deals.

Thank you once again for your review, and your kind feedback on the service and breakfast, which I have shared with the team. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.



Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#429 of 1,069 in London
9,359 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing