We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked behind the Houses of Parliament”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #281 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tucked behind the Houses of Parliament”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was quite a find. I booked it for my husband and I to enjoy the New Year's Eve celebrations and it didn't disappoint! The reception staff were extremely helpful and presented us with warm chocolate cookies on arrival. The underground secure car park was excellent - we paid £30/day. We stayed in room 1102 which is a corner room and gave us a great view of the fireworks. The amenities were very good with Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. The room had an Apple Mac which served as a TV as well. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety of food to choose from. We also ate a late lunch in the first floor bar which was really excellent - definitely recommend the mushroom risotto and beef burger. I'd definitely go back to this hotel for business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: There is a lot of building work going on directly opposite the hotel, so you might want to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Rachel M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future. Happy New Year, and all the best for 2014!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    2,433
    627
    188
    66
See reviews for
1,112
2,637
339
1,277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Absolutely great value. The hotel was modern, very clean, quiet and stylish. The room was very clean, spacious, well fitted with equipment ie iron, kettle ..., bed was very comfortable & I slept very well. Checking in I asked for a quiet room and this is absolutely what I got. Would definitely stay again. Walking distance: 5-10 mins walk to Victoria Station & shops, 10-15 mins to Westminster & Horse Guard Parade, a walkable distance to Oxford Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Jacqui E,

Thank you for your review of your visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always very rewarding to hear directly from our valued guests when our efforts have been recognised, and I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are delighted to have made such a good impression.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to have the pleasure of your company at the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

From a warm and professional welcome at check-in to a clean and comfortable room, the hotel is everything you would expect and. The location is ideal - only a few minutes' walk from Pimlico tube station, or the Houses of Parliament and Westminster station, and right by the river should you wish to walk along the Thames.
I found the fitness centre well-equipped and the room was modern and spacious with everything I needed - the iMac computer in place of a television is a nice touch for the traveller without their laptop.
The big thing for me though was how helpful the staff were when I lost a silver ring of huge sentimental value, and they went to great lengths to find it for me, which was extremely kind of them. I will certainly be staying at this hotel again on future visits to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVS2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Sharpy2305,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such glowing feedback, and such a joy to know that you enjoyed your visit and found our facilities convenient and useful.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the highest standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved and our efforts kindly recognised by valued guests such as yourself. I have shared your kind comments with the team, and we are all very encouraged by your kind words.

I'm delighted our location is suitable to your needs. We have often been described as an oasis of calm in London, as you get all the benefits of a Central London hotel without the hustle and bustle of the city that usually accompanies it.

Thank you once again for your kind review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We needed a map to find this hotel (we chose to walk from Westminster Underground station as we love the area, Pimlico station is nearer to the hotel for more convenience) but we found it easily. Very nice hotel, we were not keen on the advance payment of £50 we had to pay in lieu of any services we may use as we knew we would not be incurring any charges. However only a minor irritation & payment reversed on checkout. The room was small but comfortable, a few more little milk cartons would have been nice as we use two per cup, again a minor point. Breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: a higher room would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Lizzie1960,

Thank you for your kind review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your recent stay, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities suitable to your needs. We have often been described as an oasis of calm in London, as you get all the benefits of a Central London hotel without the hustle and bustle of the city that usually accompanies it.

Your feedback is important to us as it highlights areas of service in which we may serve you better, and I have passed your comments regarding more milk cartons in the room to the relevant department for consideration. At present we monitor the amount of beverages initially provided to prevent wastage, but more are available on demand at no extra cost, so please keep this in mind for your next visit.

Thank you once again for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed one night and had an excellent experience. Good size room, easy check in. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The bar was good with an excellent selection of drinks. Buffet style breakfast was good with a nice selection and plenty of staff. Overall the hotel is a great location within walking distance of the London eye and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear drjdentist,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure to receive such detailed positive feedback of your stay, and are we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the number of positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times now with my partner and I can't fault it. The hotel is beautifully modern, the rooms are a good size and clean. Shower rooms instead of bathrooms which suits me but others like a nice bath and this hotel doesn't offer that in the standard rooms.

The bar is gorgeous with a great cocktail list and super friendly staff.

Only downside is the current building works outside but there wouldn't really be much a view anyway from the hotel. It is however ideally located next to Houses of Parliament and Big Ben, short walk to oxford and regents street however we like to hop into a black cab and get there for less than £7.

I think this will be a regular for us when we visit London. Such excellent location and if you a fortunate enough to get upgraded, the executive lounge offers snacks and drinks for free.

Stayed here over the New Years celebrations and they kept the bar open till 2am and the next morning the breakfast was a hot and delicious as ever.

would definitely recommend if you plan on visiting London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear randab1983,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such glowing feedback following your recent stay, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities suitable to your needs.

I'm pleased that your room was quiet despite the construction in the local area. We are often described as an oasis of calm in London, as you get all the benefits of a Central London hotel without the hustle and bustle of the city that usually accompanies it.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy, and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved, and our efforts so kindly recognised by valued guests such as you. I have passed your kind comments to the team, who are all delighted to have made such a positive impression.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future. Please do let us know when you plan to return, so that we may welcome you personally.

Thank you once again!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel a couple of times now on our visits to London. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the rooms are a decent size for a London Hotel with comfortable beds. The bathroom is really, really tiny though. Not too much of a problem for us, but for a larger person I could see this as a problem. We visited the Bar in the evening which was a bit strange, with very uncomfortable furniture, and red lighting and very annoying "muzak" playing which was not relaxing. You felt like they didn't want you to linger. However, overall we would stay again as its comfortable, clean and in a good quiet location, yet near to a lot of London sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Twinkletwo,

It's a pleasure to have you back at the DoubleTree Westminster, and we're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your kind comments regarding the service from the staff has been shared with the entire team, who are encouraged to continue to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand.

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit to our Millbank Lounge, as we are often praised on its contemporary style and the comfortable, relaxing atmosphere it creates. However, we understand that this may not be to everyone's personal preference, and we appreciate your feedback of your experience there. We have recently opened our Executive Lounge in keeping with DoubleTree standards worldwide, so if you book an Executive Level room or King City Suite on your next visit, you may find the Executive Lounge decor and ambience more to your liking.

Other than this, I trust that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand in general and our property in particular, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#428 of 1,069 in London
9,402 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing