We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #281 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very clean, spacious rooms compared to others I have stayed at in London. Clean. Comfortable bed. Apple computer screen makes for small TV screen. About 5 minute walk to tube. Check in was slow didn't have enough people on the desk I had 3 large bags and bell desk watch me struggle with them. I even went and knocked at the door yo get there help and was waved off. Found it very rude. Left me with a bad taste. Otherwise everything was very good. And would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,017
    2,432
    627
    188
    66
See reviews for
1,110
2,637
339
1,277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice before when it was a Mint Hotel. There are one or two changes for the worse.

1. Slower internet.
2. No minibar.
3. Breakfast now self service and not as much choice.
4. Staff seem to struggle with check in procedure.

Also when booking there was no mention of building work going on around the hotel. It's a good job my husband and I are early risers and are out all day!

Saying that. The more experienced staff were very helpful in giving me instructions on the best way to get to the zoo.
The room was comfortable and quiet at night.
The hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing.

I will return to this hotel when the surrounding building work is completed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenwightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned on Friday May 16, 2014. If location, location, location are the most important things in a vacation hotel this is a winner!
The hotel is in the middle of everything that a tourist would want to see. Parliament, Westminster Abby, the river themes, even the Globe is within walking distance { about 1.8 miles} if you like to walk. The hotel food is OK and the service a bit uneven. The people at the front desk seem to all be in training as we still don't have our bill correct. They do try, however.. The concierge was excellent as he helped us get on the right bus and find the trains we needed. The room are small, which is typical in any large city. There is an Apple TV in the room which gives you access to both local TV as well as a computer. Useful if you, like I, subscribe to Netflix or Amazon Prime . There is a Pizza Express within 20 feet of the hotel. Good pizza and some unusual Italian dishes. Quite reasonable. A pub, the Marques in about 2 blocks away. Great food reasonable prices. If we had found it sooner, we would have eaten there every night...Hope this helps..

Room Tip: Breakfast is worth the price, but nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahalp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I don't think I have ever felt discriminated against before stepping into this hotel. From ignoring my questions or at best offering a "There is nothing I can do", to placing me as far and tucked away into the winding corridors of the hotel, made me think twice of having breakfast there, safely. I wondered if perhaps I had done something unsavoury, but finally decided to let the General Manager know about my disappointment. The person appears to have the same attitude as his/her colleagues: I am ignored. At least there is some consistency, but I doubt I shall be back. I truly felt unwelcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Saba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Saba N,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel.

I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we pride ourselves on the high standards of service that we provide that our guests enjoy, as evidenced by years of positive feedback here on TripAdvisor and other travel websites. The experience you have indicated is very unlike us and certainly not how we usually operate; our General Manager responds to any and all queries that are brought to his attention as do all members of senior management.

Your feedback is important to us and I am keen to discuss the grievances you experienced. Kindly contact us directly at your earliest convenience, so that we can address any issues in further detail.

As earlier mentioned, this is not how we operate, and if we have indeed let ourselves down on this occasion, I sincerely apologise.

Thank you, and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked the Executive Queen Room. Had access to the executive lounge which provided a very satisfying breakfast. If you book this room you don't need to request an additional breakfast. free internet. Staff was very friendly. Our room was quite roomy. there was construction across the street from the entrance of the hotel (our room was on the 12th floor and was facing the construction), but we did not hear a thing. no dust no dirt nothing. Rooms and toilets were clean. The location is great 5 mins. walk to Big Ben and Westminister Abbey. we stayed for 3 nights and we practically went everywhere by foot. If I come back to London I'm definitely going to try checking into the double tree Westminister Hotel.
and also the Hotel is Located at a very safe location.

Room Tip: Sometimes the Executive rooms are the same price as the standard room. go definitely for the executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gupsiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

7th visit to the hotel. Staff excellent, rooms lovely. Love the location as it's really quiet and handy for everything.
Only thing they could improve would be to re-locate the noisy ice machines to the lobby or first floor. We have never seen any guest use them and they really are noisy at night when trying to sleep.

Room Tip: Not floor 3, 6 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corbitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Double Tree hotel is conveniently located in London. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. We enjoyed our long weekend stay. The staff was efficient and helpdul. There are many local eateries besides the hotel restaurant. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#428 of 1,069 in London
9,400 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing