We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #274 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms are clean & a good size but are soulless. Fine if you like white walls, white linens & brown carpet but more reminiscent of a hospital room than a welcoming hotel.
Staff were efficient but robotic. It's just another corporate hotel with nothing special to recommend it. Marriott do it better!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Katiebrit,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster.

I am disappointed to see that our decor did not live up to your expectations, as we are often praised on the contemporary style of the Hotel and the comfortable, relaxing atmosphere provided. However, we understand that everyone has their personal preference when it comes to Hotels, and we appreciate your feedback of your experience here. Your kind comments on the cleanliness of our guest rooms and the efficiency of our staff are much appreciated, and I have shared this with the team.

Once again, I am sorry that our rooms and facilities were not to your personal tastes, but thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,997
    2,400
    622
    184
    63
See reviews for
1,094
2,612
339
1,265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Westminster area is great location to base tourist activities, enjoyed walking to many sights and also walking to bike rental locations.
Similar to very nice US hotel room in size, room was nicely furnished and very comfortable bed.
Enjoyed buffet breakfast. Give sorbet a try in restaurant, won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, and found our location and facilities convenient and useful.

Your feedback is much appreciated, and I have shared your kind comments on your dining experience with our Food & Beverage Team members, who are delighted to have made such a good impression.

Thanks once again, and we hope to welcome you back to the Westminster DoubleTree on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a great stay. The rate is kind of high, and I was surprised the decor is kind of plan compared to American hotels, but the customer service was an A+! Everyone was friendly and professional. Recommended places for us, called cabs for us, got us extra water bottles and blankets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okieindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Okieindi,

Thank for your review of your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and the team here are so delighted that you found our service and facilities to be top-notch.

Regarding our room rates, we do regularly conduct surveys to ensure that our pricing remains competitive with other 4-star London hotels, and our current rates are in line with this. We also offer seasonal discounts and special offers with significantly reduced rates, so please check our website to take advantage of one of our fabulous holiday deals.

Thanks once again for your kind review. Hope to welcome you to Westminster again soon!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location and accessible to tube station and London's must-see sites! Great customer service and room service. I place a premium on cleanliness and must say I was very impressed. I wish it was easier to get the lovely bath foam (Coriander and ginger) provided out of the bottle! My biggest frustration was the internet connectivity. It was terrible! The explanation given that they were in the process of switching providers was not convincing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Stella M,

It's a pleasure to receive your detailed feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster.

I am delighted to see that you like our location. We are often described as an oasis of calm within the City, as our guests get the benefits of a Central London hotel whilst maintaining a peace and quiet that belies the hustle & bustle of the busy capital. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliess of our facilities and the friendliness of the staff has been shared with the entire team, who are encouraged to continue to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand.

I am sorry that the Internet connection was poor during your visit. We have listened to guest feedback and are currently working on upgrading the Internet and Wi-Fi system throughout the Hotel, so that we can provide a solid service that all our guests will enjoy in the near future. Thank you for your patience whilst this is being actioned, and please accept my sincere apologies for any incovenience.

Other than this, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for my R&R trip July 2013. Met my wife and had a holiday. Great location. A few block from bus stop and about 1/2 mile from the London Underground. Walking distance to Westminster Abby, Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye. Nice Pizza Joint next door and pubs all around the area. Really enjoyable. Would Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katmandu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Katmandu69,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and found our location and facilities perfect for sightseeing. Indeed, we are often referred to as an oasis of calm within the Capital, as our guests get the benefits of a Central London hotel whilst maintaining a peace and quiet that belies the busy City.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved and our efforts kindly recognised by valued guests such as yourself. I have shared your kind comments with the team, and we are all very motivated by your encouraging words.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visit for dinner a saturday evening. The food were exellent. They had a lovely cookie sunde as dessert.
Maciej the manager realy maked us feel welcome. Everything was perfect. Thanks, we will be back :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ingela C,

It's a joy to receive such glowing feedback following your recent visit to the DoubleTree Westminster! We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us, and I have shared your kind comments with the team. Maciej is especially pleased by your feedback, and we are all encouraged to continue to provide the high standards of service that our valued guests enjoy and expect from our Brand.

We hope you will visit us again in future. Please do let us know when you plan to return, so that we may welcome you personally.

Thanks once again!

Best regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff was very helpful--especially the concierge. The rooms were clean and had 2 bottles of water in the room when we arrived. Other Hilton hotels I've stayed in replaced the bottled water every day. At this one, you had to pay for water past the first two bottles. Complimentary water every day would be much appreciated. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank R Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear R Craig B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#425 of 1,069 in London
9,240 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,069 in London
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing