We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westminster Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #304 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On arrival we mentioned that it was a birthday celebration for my wife and we given an upgraded room. The staff were very considerate and when we returned after our day out there was a birthday card and a large tin of cookies waiting for my wife. This was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. A very nice hotel which we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear David E,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such positive feedback following your recent stay, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster we strive to provide the high standards of service that our guests enjoy, and have come to expect from our Brand. It is therefore very rewarding when this has been achieved and our efforts kindly recognised by valued guests such as you, and I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are delighted to have made such a good impression.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,331 - 2,337 of 6,459 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very modern and in a great location if walking to London attractions. The room was a lot smaller than I expected, but it was adequate for a one night stay. The bathroom was also small with only a shower. We had a room on the 14th floor which did not have much of a view as there are tall buildings surrounding the hotel.

The fitness center is very nice. It is separate into three different sections, has several treadmills, elliptical, bicycles and it even has two rowing machines. There are several weight machines as well as free weights.

The executive lounge was very nice and offered nice choices for the evening and in the morning for breakfast. Although food is only available in the evening between 5:30-7:30 pm, the lounge is open 24hrs (key access) with drinks available all the time.

The hotel charges for local calls, but the concierge desk was kind enough to dial the number of the car company to confirm our transportation pick up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear love2travel109,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such detailed positive feedback of your stay, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities convenient and useful.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your bathroom. This is a common feature with most London properties due to space constraints, however please be assured that all our rooms have been designed to offer our guests a comfortable stay with all the facilities you may expect from a 4-star property, making maximum use of the limited space available in a prime city centre location. I can recommend upgrading to one of our King City Suites if further space is required as the Suites are significantly larger, and are equipped with both a bath and a separate shower.

Thank you once again for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a standard mid range business type hotel but manages to be a bit better than average with some added value extras. The rooms are a bit on the small side but good for central london. There's a mac computer in your room which doubles up as a tv, and very nice toiletries from Crabtree and Evelyn. You get a cookie when you check in, the breakfast buffet is so big it includes a choice of porridge made with water or porridge made with milk. My only thing is that although it's very central and only 5-10 minutes walk to Westminster, it is not a very residential area so there aren't very many restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear eleanor s,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your visit, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs.

We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Thanks once again!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Helpful and hospitable staff check. Ample selection for breakfast check. In-room Mac computer and free wifi check. Modern hotel in a quiet elegant location (neighbouring Burberry design studios) check. This is one straightforward hotel for travellers who are seeking a quiet retreat at the end of the day yet close to all the fun of central london. Must book executive room for best experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ros D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August for 6 days. First of all we liked location, walking distance to Big Ben and walking distance to Pimlico underground as well. We stayed in King city suite and room was spacious enough. Bedroom and living room so good choice for family of 4. Tried to upgrade for King Master Suite but didn't succeed and that's good as view through the window from our room (room without number just "Westminster Suite") was fabulous. We were able to see Big Ben, parliament and London eye. Amazing view!!! Rooms are clean. Suite comes with Executive lounge access.
Cons:
1. WiFi connection was not stable. Connection in the living room was ok but just behind the wall in the bedroom it worked slowly or didn't work at all.
2. Would love to have some fish at breakfast. I am not asking about wide variety at breakfast in London. We have stayed at many 4 and couple of 5 stars hotels in London and every time the same: sausage, ham, beans, potatoes two types of cheese. Anyway for London breakfast was 4 of 5.
All in all we loved this place and recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Ask for the room City view to Westminster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eriks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Eriks S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback of your experience with the TripAdvisor Community, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and liked the view from your room.

Your feedback is important to us as it highlights areas of our service in which we can improve, and I have forwarded your comments regarding the addition of fish to our breakfast menu to our Food & Beverage Manager for further consideration. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am also sorry to see that the Wi-Fi was poor during your visit. We have recently had some challenges with our signalling router; however, we have been able to identify and isolate the fault, and are working on a long-term resolution to the issue. Thank you for your patience whilst this is being actioned, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust that the remainder of your stay was more than satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Comfortable hotel very close to westminster.If you like walking its an ideal stopping off spot.Otherwise use taxis ( lined up outside ) there inexpensive when 4 are travelling.Hotel had free lounge for "executive" stays.Which provide free snacks and drinks anytime during waking hours.And alcoholic drinks between 5-7 pm.Nice touch doubletree.Beats the heck out of a cookie on arrival.Rooms a tad small with no drawer space but adequate wardrobe space.Safe for passports etc in cupboard.Comfortable bed all the same.Besides only a place to sleep while your exploring the sights.Bathroom a wet room so be careful not to slip.Just a couple of moans.After arriving back home in Australia found that they had overcharged me on my credit card for items I had paid for in the hotel.Watch out and check your statement carefully.It was a job and a half to get things sorted out via email.But they came through wonderfully.Staff were friendly and plentiful.Breakfast was a farce though.Everyone seemed to come down at the same time and threw the staff into disarray.But the food was worth the wait.I think! cramped dining room.Ok if inthe don't mind sharing your meal with complete strangers elbow to elbow!Memorable.

Room Tip: Be patient with the staff.Upgrade if your not happy with standard room.And watch for overcharging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhjass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear jhjass,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first trip to London. We wanted somewhere central to most of Londons attractions and this hotel was in a great location just behind MI5 headquarters.

We arrived at 6:20am on a Saturday after 29 hours on a plane so the facy that our room was ready was fantastic. We had a room on 10th floor with great views.

Bed was comfortable and room had everything we needed except the fridge did not work.

Hotel breakfast was great and the hotel had easy access to underground and the Thames

Staff were great and there was always cabs outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear David Quinn,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to see that the fridge in your room was not working. If you could kindly contact us with further details on the room you stayed in, we can investigate this in further detail and make any repairs if required. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond to any and all queries, no matter the time of day; in future, please feel free to utilise this service so that we can resolve any issues to your satisfaction whilst you are still in-house.

Other than this, I trust that the remainder of your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#218 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £134 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing