We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern amenities in elegant and quiet westminster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #267 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“modern amenities in elegant and quiet westminster”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Helpful and hospitable staff check. Ample selection for breakfast check. In-room Mac computer and free wifi check. Modern hotel in a quiet elegant location (neighbouring Burberry design studios) check. This is one straightforward hotel for travellers who are seeking a quiet retreat at the end of the day yet close to all the fun of central london. Must book executive room for best experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Ros D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,960
    2,364
    606
    178
    56
See reviews for
1,056
2,580
334
1,247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August for 6 days. First of all we liked location, walking distance to Big Ben and walking distance to Pimlico underground as well. We stayed in King city suite and room was spacious enough. Bedroom and living room so good choice for family of 4. Tried to upgrade for King Master Suite but didn't succeed and that's good as view through the window from our room (room without number just "Westminster Suite") was fabulous. We were able to see Big Ben, parliament and London eye. Amazing view!!! Rooms are clean. Suite comes with Executive lounge access.
Cons:
1. WiFi connection was not stable. Connection in the living room was ok but just behind the wall in the bedroom it worked slowly or didn't work at all.
2. Would love to have some fish at breakfast. I am not asking about wide variety at breakfast in London. We have stayed at many 4 and couple of 5 stars hotels in London and every time the same: sausage, ham, beans, potatoes two types of cheese. Anyway for London breakfast was 4 of 5.
All in all we loved this place and recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Ask for the room City view to Westminster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Eriks S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback of your experience with the TripAdvisor Community, and are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and liked the view from your room.

Your feedback is important to us as it highlights areas of our service in which we can improve, and I have forwarded your comments regarding the addition of fish to our breakfast menu to our Food & Beverage Manager for further consideration. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am also sorry to see that the Wi-Fi was poor during your visit. We have recently had some challenges with our signalling router; however, we have been able to identify and isolate the fault, and are working on a long-term resolution to the issue. Thank you for your patience whilst this is being actioned, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust that the remainder of your stay was more than satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London.

Kind regards


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Comfortable hotel very close to westminster.If you like walking its an ideal stopping off spot.Otherwise use taxis ( lined up outside ) there inexpensive when 4 are travelling.Hotel had free lounge for "executive" stays.Which provide free snacks and drinks anytime during waking hours.And alcoholic drinks between 5-7 pm.Nice touch doubletree.Beats the heck out of a cookie on arrival.Rooms a tad small with no drawer space but adequate wardrobe space.Safe for passports etc in cupboard.Comfortable bed all the same.Besides only a place to sleep while your exploring the sights.Bathroom a wet room so be careful not to slip.Just a couple of moans.After arriving back home in Australia found that they had overcharged me on my credit card for items I had paid for in the hotel.Watch out and check your statement carefully.It was a job and a half to get things sorted out via email.But they came through wonderfully.Staff were friendly and plentiful.Breakfast was a farce though.Everyone seemed to come down at the same time and threw the staff into disarray.But the food was worth the wait.I think! cramped dining room.Ok if inthe don't mind sharing your meal with complete strangers elbow to elbow!Memorable.

Room Tip: Be patient with the staff.Upgrade if your not happy with standard room.And watch for overcharging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhjass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear jhjass,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Here at the DoubleTree Westminster, we are very proud of the positive contributions that members of the Trip Advisor community have left for us over the years, and it is a joy to add yours to this growing number.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first trip to London. We wanted somewhere central to most of Londons attractions and this hotel was in a great location just behind MI5 headquarters.

We arrived at 6:20am on a Saturday after 29 hours on a plane so the facy that our room was ready was fantastic. We had a room on 10th floor with great views.

Bed was comfortable and room had everything we needed except the fridge did not work.

Hotel breakfast was great and the hotel had easy access to underground and the Thames

Staff were great and there was always cabs outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear David Quinn,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your stay, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to see that the fridge in your room was not working. If you could kindly contact us with further details on the room you stayed in, we can investigate this in further detail and make any repairs if required. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond to any and all queries, no matter the time of day; in future, please feel free to utilise this service so that we can resolve any issues to your satisfaction whilst you are still in-house.

Other than this, I trust that the remainder of your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pre book thinking I would get a good deal in London. Upgraded on arrival for Executive treats, like Marriott Executive Club, with free hot snacks upto 9pm. Wrong - Double tree only do 5.30 to 7.30pm. Exec Lounge was bare not as welcoming as Marriott. Retired room - no bath, shower like Travel Lodge. Mac PC replaced computer TV. Intranet Slow as was WiFi. Went to bed, kept awake by noisy extraction fan. Fridge fall off it mounts. Desk socket broken. Experience felt short changed with a disinterested receptionist more interest in fixing room not Customer

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed information regarding your recent visit.

I am sorry that there appear to have been several issues with your assigned room. If you could kindly contact us with further details on the room you stayed in, we can investigate this in further detail and make any repairs if required. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond to any and all queries, no matter the time of day; in future, please feel free to utilise this service so that we can resolve any issues to your satisfaction whilst you are still in-house.

I am also sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your bathroom. This is a common feature with most London properties due to space constraints, however please be assured that all our rooms have been designed to offer our guests a comfortable stay with all the facilities you may expect from a 4-star property, making maximum use of the limited space available in a prime city centre location.

Thank you once again for your review. I am very sorry that your experience with us was not as positive as you would have liked, but thank you for sharing this with us, and we do hope to one day welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster and provide you with a fully positive experience.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

An excellent hotel which unfortunately is currently surrounded by a lot of building work. However, the location was quite central with plenty to see within walking distance. Asked for adjacent rooms as family group but put on two different floors.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Liz F,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We are delighted that you generally enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your two rooms on the same floor due to high occupancy. For future bookings, kindly contact us in advance to make special arrangements and we will be delighted to attend to your needs. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust that the remainder of your stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in future for a fully enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here on business which was pre booked for me and from arriving had problems. They did not have my daily food allowance allocated to my room or my free breakfast. My room faced a noisy building site but was not told about this when I asked could I have a room with a nice view. The room was large and bed was extreemly comfotable although the bathroom was tiny. I am not a large preson but when siiting in the toilet you could hit your knees on the bathroom door, wash you hands and open the shower cubicle at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80502946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#406 of 1,067 in London
9,141 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
775 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing