We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room 536”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #312 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel looks pretty but...the first night my hot water wasn't working. After the Customer care rep told me"You just didn't know how to use the hot water thermostat but we will teach you!" they sent a technician and found out it was broken. To add insult to injury, they told me to get a towel and go to another room to take a shower and then return to my room. the same night I ask to move to another room because I need to shower again before going to work. they gave me room 536!!! BEWARE --there is a GYM right under the room and you hear POUNDING from 6 am to 10 pm from people running on the tread mill. I stayed 2 nights and didn't get a good nights rest for 2 days!. one another thing...the hotel is far from Pimlico Underground...you need to walk about 10-15 minutes...I have a knee injury so it was not convenient. The following week I had to stay in the same hotel. They upgraded me to an executive room. Big deal! it was the same size room same and the entire floor smelled like sour milk. The Hilton should wipe it's name off this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ayse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,392 - 2,398 of 6,538 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you want a pokey, overpriced room, with exorbitant car park and breakfast charges, this is it!, which explains the empty car park and handful of guest having breakfast. If offered one of the small, dark rooms overlooking the side of the building, reject it and you'll get a another small room overlooking a building site!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights with my 8 year old daughter and it was superb. The room wasn't ready on check-in but we were early but we were given access to the executive lounge as we booked an executive room. Yes, it was a small room and often was full and there were no windows but we didn't plan on spending much time in there. We were here to sightsee and this was great for having a refreshing drink or some nibbles.On our 3 days there, it was always well stocked with staff constantly replenishing the food and drinks. There was a drinks machine for tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc and a fridge with bottles of coke, lemonade, water and milk etc. There was also bottles of water kept out at room temperature. During the day there were jars of sweets, some nuts and apples and then in the evenings there were red and white wine, beer or lager and a choice of hot and cold canapes. There were 2 hot foods, vegetable samosas and spring rolls one night with 3 filled sandwiches. Never ate breakfast here, always went to the main restaurant.

Very good selections of hot and cold items and always replenishing. They bring you tea and coffee. Just be aware, the later you arrive for breakfast the less chance you will have of being seated immediately. The earlier the better but even when we turned up after 9am we only had to wait a few minutes.

We were on the 11th floor in room 1137 and it was right at the end of the corridor. It had an amazing view of the river with floor to ceiling windows. It did look onto the office building opposite but it didnt prove to be a problem for us. We found the room perfectly adequate, nice comfortable bed, plenty of room and the bathroom was fine. No bath, just a shower but again, we didn't spend too much time here.

We had complimentary drinks in the bar as it was both our birthdays and the bar tender was friendly and polite. We were also given a lovely gift of a jar of cookies which delighted my daughter no end and they were delicious.

We were also able to extend our check out for 2 hours at a cost of £20 which I think is excellent value and allowed us extra sightseeing time. There are always cabs outside the hotel should you need one. There is a bus stop literally down the street and another 5 mins around the corner. Just beyond that is the river with a fab view of the London Eye on one side and the Houses of Parliament the other. There is also a little play park for the little ones just down the steps from the roundabout. We walked to Big Ben in 15 mins and just around the corner is Westminster tube station and a selection of shops including Sainsburys. There is a pharmacy, couple of cafes and a pub within the immediate vicinity of the hotel and more further down the street.

If you walk straight down John Islip Street, the Tate Britain is there and a further 5 mins brings you to Pimlico tube station and opposite, a bus stop which will take you to the Natural History Museum and the V&A.

Overall, this hotel suited us perfectly. We wanted somewhere close to the sights that we could walk to and have ease of access to others. We wanted a hotel to have friendly staff, comfortable accommodation and great service and we achieved this. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There is building work going on around the hotel but as we wern't there during the day it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tanyamjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have now spent many nights here, and it is an excellent hotel to decompress from a trans Atlantic flight, or a long journey. At night the hotel is in a quiet residential area, but one has to note that there are currently three construction sites surrounding the hotel, so there may be some noise during the day. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms are particularly small, with just a shower and no bath tub, but the rooms have always been clean. The lounge on the first floor is a good place for a night cap, or an evening snack, and the breakfast, though served buffet style, is very tasty. If breakfast is not included in your stay, there are some reasonable restaurants on Horseferry Road,, and you might want to try the Loose Box on that road. The hotel is within walking distance of Whitehall and the Houses of Parliament. I myself have had no problem walking from the hotel to Bond Street and the shops there, but that may be too ambitious a walk for many. Because of the construction one should try to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, where it is relatively quiet. The staff is uniformly friendly and efficient, and it is important to note that the nightly rate is far below many London hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from all the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed there for 7 nights this past July.

Pros
- Customer service is awesome! We were able to borrow a North American electrical converter from the front desk as my husband needed 1 with 3 holes for his business laptop and the one we brought with us only had 2.
- We each got a cookie during check-in!
- We booked an executive room and although we could not do an early check in (not even 1 hr early), they gave us access to the executive lounge for that hour where we had snacks and drinks until check-in.
- Executive lounge well worth the price with the delicious breakfast and access to drinks
- It is close to a bus stop (about 5 minutes) and subway stop (about 10-15 minutes- and for those impatient, you can even walk to Westminister Abbey)- it's a great location!
- Luggage storage is very safe if you arrive before check in- they put a ticket on your bag and you get the corresponding ticket. For extra security measure (or to make it easier for them to find but it also is more secure), they ask you to describe your bag to them. Normally I am hesitant on checking in my carry on as it has all of my valuables but in this case I felt very secure.
- Overall customer service was amazing- they were efficient, organized, and pleasant.

Cons- very minor and they did not impact our vacation.
- There is construction going on in front of the hotel and we got a room with a view of said construction.
- We were given a wheelchair accessible room even though neither of us needed it and while there was a bit of extra space, everything was lower and that made it more difficult for us to use (ie toilet paper, toilet, sink was lower, etc.).
- Although we had access to the executive room, at times in the evenings it would be out of water, something we really needed after a long day of sightseeing and 3 mornings they didn't have water bottles either.
- Internet did not work unless you were in the lobby or executive lounge- which meant my husband was down in the lounge doing work a lot but it wasn't too bad because at least be had access to the snacks or/and drinks but when the executive lounge was closed, he would have to do work in the lobby.

Overall we were very happy staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I just stayed here for an evening for bisiness. I upgraded to an executive club room - not worth it all. Executive lounge was in a depressing little room with no windows. Only offered wine and beer. A couple of small sandwiches. The most popular item - small bags of potato chips. Bar tenders rude. We saw them actually taking small tastes from each drink they made - disgusting.

Room small but clean.

Much better choices not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveCarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited the Doubletree Hilton on the 18th August for 2 nights at £166 per night.

POSITIVES:

-- Breakfast was lovely (if not the best we have ever had) lots of choice, from cooked breakfasts, to fruit, croissiants, cereal, etc.

-- Reception area and dining area was lovely.


NEGATIVES:
Rooms are very basic. Walls need re-painting. No TV on the wall, had to watch tv on the Apple computer.
Views are horrendous. Most rooms overlook construction site (which is also very noisy).

Long walks to get anywhere. As we are in our 20s, this doesnt bother us too much.
About 20min to London Eye/Big Ben, etc. About 45 to Trafagar Sq, etc.
Bathroom was dated. Only a shower available. Very small, cracks in the sink, dirt in the shower basin. Needs updating desperately.
Room was basic. Small. Quite grubby.



We are not ones to complain, but for a Hilton, we expected much better.
Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up. Might be able to over look the construction site then!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Shellylouise,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to provide detailed feedback of your recent stay.

I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion, as we are often praised on the contemporary style of the Hotel and the comfortable, relaxing atmosphere provided. However, we understand that everyone has their personal preference when it comes to Hotels, and we appreciate your feedback of your experience here. Your kind comments on the quality of our breakfast and the standard of service you received from the breakfast staff are much appreciated, and I have shared this with the team.

Your feedback is important to us as it enables us monitor the service we provide, and I have forwarded your complaint about the condition of the bathroom in your to the relevant departments for further review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the view from your room due to the construction in the local area. It is our desire that every guest enjoys all aspects of their stay, and we are happy to accommodate requests for a room move where available, so please feel free to request this on your next visit. For the best views, I can recommend upgrading to one of our high-floor Executive Rooms, the benefits of which include access to our Executive Lounge and its facilities.

Thank you once again for your review. It is always disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay, but I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you did enjoy, and hope that despite this disappointing stay you will visit us again in future so that we may have an opportunity to redeem ourselves and restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in London
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £121 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing