We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently close to big attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #312 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Located about 10 minutes from Westminister Abby, Parliament etc this hotel is steps away from the Thames river and Lambton Bridge affording pleasant strolls along the waterfront in a quiet part of the city. The Executive lounge which offered a good variety of food for breakfast and a nice assortment of appetizers, unfortunately, is located in an interior section of the hotel on the 2nd floor so lacks ambiance. It also is closed after 10 so if you want water or cola, you need to remember to get it early or head down to the vending machines in the lobby which actually had some very nice sandwiches that we enjoyed upon our arrival at 11 p.m. Our River view room was a little utilitarian ( not luxurious) and you had to peek around the window to really see the river, and bed too hard for our liking but the room was very quiet and room darkening curtains allowed us to sleep in.

Room Tip: You are not going to really get a view unless on the river view side and even then it may disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear debbie p,

Thanks for your kind review of your stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our locations and facilities useful for your needs.

I am sorry that you found the mattress too firm for your tastes. We appreciate that our guests have preferences when it comes to the consistency of a mattress, and we are happy to accommodate these preferences. Mattress toppers are available on request for those who like a softer bed, and we provide bed-boards for our guests who prefer a firmer mattress. Please feel free to take advantage of this complimentary service on your next visit, and kindly accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment.

Other than this, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,364 - 2,370 of 6,538 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a well appointed suite with great views of the Thames and parts of the city. Nice decor and good service. Executive Lounge was a plus. Centrally located near Tate Britain and Westminster Abbey, although very little in the way of shopping or restaurants in walking distance.

Only negative was terrible safe, which is hard to reach (on floor of closet) and difficult to use.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rkboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear rkboca,

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster. It's a pleasure indeed to receive such glowing feedback following your recent stay, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities well-suited to your needs.

I am sorry to see that you experienced some difficulty operating your room safe. We have a 24-hour Duty Manager who is happy to respond to any and all queries, no matter the time of day; in future, please feel free to advise us of any assistance you may require, so that we can resolve your query to your satisfaction whilst you are still in-house.

Thank you once again for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a standard accessibility double which was fine-although the view was a blue wall. We had a problem with fridge which didn't sit properly in it's cupboard and wasn't switched on. We didn't say anything till the second day as we didn't really need it. Breakfast was good, hot and plentiful.
Very convenient although for some it may seem a bit off the beaten track-round the Horseferry road which leads to a little street of shops-cafés etc. it's equidistant from pimlico and Westminster tube although the approach from pimlico is quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveholsLeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear IloveholsLeic,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. I'm pleased to see that you generally enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for your needs.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the view from your room, and that there were some issues with the minibar placement. Please be assured that your feedback has been forwarded to the relevant departments for further action. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast and other aspects of your stay.

Thank you once again. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Overall a great hotel for the prices. We benefitted from booking an Executive floor room which provided access to the Executive Lounge which i would recommend doing. The only things i would highlight is the bed in the room is not a big as you would expect (supposed to be a Queen but felt more like a double) and the 'TV' is actually a on-line linked Mac pc and not a 'Flat Screen' as described.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Derek B,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The employees that work there are all awesome. Everyone that we interacted with were extremely courteous making our first time in England wonderful. This Hilton has done a great job at hiring a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Karen W,

What a pleasure it is to receive such glowing feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I have shared your kind comments with the team, who are very pleased to have made such a positive impression.

Thank you very much for your patronage. We hope to welcome you back to Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at Double Tree by Hilton Westminster for 2 nights.. Lovely Hotel in a quiet location,and about 15 minutes walk to Westminster. Staff are very pleasant & extremely professional. Breakfast is wonderful with plenty of choice. Rooms are clean with some great views from the top floors.

Millbank lounge is a great place to relax & have a drink and more preferable than the executive lounge which is an enclosed room with no windows or views & probably the grimmest executive lounge I have been into. To add to that it gets very full at peak times when nibbles & drinks are served and resembles Happy Hour at an all inclusive facility. Can be standing room only & feel anything but executive .

However, would highly recommend this hotel and will go back again. May save on the executive upgrade next time though.

Room Tip: Top 3 floors have amazing views, but you may have to upgrade to an executive room to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denmar25Cardiiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Denmar25Cardiff,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree Westminster. We're delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and found our location and facilities useful and convenient.

Your feedback is important to us as it enables us monitor and improve upon the service that we provide, and I have forwarded your comments regarding the atmopshere in the Executive Lounge at peak times to our Food & Beverage Manager for training and quality purposes. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Other than this, I trust that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and I have shared your review with the team. We appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Westminster on your next visit to London!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here last night for a wedding nearby. It was me and my 16 month old daughter. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the accommodation was just fine. It wasn't huge, but it was fine for our needs. The location was excellent and the full English breakfast was delicious (except the scrambled eggs which were super uber buttery :/) We stayed on the 9th floor (room 933) which was lovely and the view was lovely too. We were provided with a travel cot which was fine, but my daughter refused to sleep in it as the sheets/board was too noisy, so she slept with me in bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Lisa C,

Many thanks for your review of the DoubleTree Westminster. I'm delighted that our service and standards met with your expectations, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We thank you for your patronage, and look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,


Dola O
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in London
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £121 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing