We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not what I would expect for #13 on Trip Advisor. Pretty good location but no Tube Stops close by.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #305 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Not close to any of the mainline Tubes. Bathrobes are a plus & nice little features like closets, ironing board, etc. but bathrooms are small & beds still not up to par with American Kings in places like Westin & all newer American chains that have upgrade their rooms. Mostly rooms look directly into surrounding buildings unless you're lucky enough to have an upgrade to a higher floor & even then you just look over the top of buildings. I found the staff to be short on knowledge & their English wasn't always that good. Restaurant is nice but VERY SMALL portions for higher prices! Room service was good quality & fast, BUT their "Tray Charge" for room service was steep at $8!!! Gym is pretty good for a hotel gym, newer equipment, 2 nice flat screen TV's. I wasn't always impressed with the MAC/TV as it seemed to freeze frequently, requiring it to be turned on & off. If I were to chose again for a similar price I would have chosen the Hilton London Tower.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,442 - 4,448 of 6,452 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

Having traveled to London by rail we used the tube to get to the hotel. It's easily reached being 5 minutes and 10 minutes walk from Pimlico and Westminster tube stations respectively, which for us made for easy access to all the main attractions of London.
From the moment we crossed the threshold we became aware that we were away from the normal routine. The hotel reception area was clean and modern and was busy without being hectic. Check-in was easy and we were soon escorted to our room.
The hotel has accommodation from the second to the thirteenth floor. We had booked a room on the thirteenth floor which gave amazing views over the rooftops with London stretching as far as the eye could see.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and contemporary with excellent facilities. (Each room enjoys an Apple computer incorporating TV and radio as well as a hi-fidelity CD/DVD player).
We were seated immediately at breakfast although at the peak period over the weekend you may have to wait a couple of minutes before a member of staff escorts you to your table. (If you wish you can have room service).Breakfast can be continental or cooked, according to your preference. My wife and I chose cooked and even though the restaurant was busy our meals were served well within an acceptable period of time, the food being both hot and of good quality.
As we were staying for two nights we had booked a table in the restaurant for dinner on the second evening and were not disappointed. The restaurant is much quieter during evening meal although busy enough to create an ambiance. A la carte and table d'hote menus were available or you could choose from either should you wish. The wine list also offered plenty of variety. The food was again of a high standard.
In all areas of the hotel we found the staff pleasant, attentive and helpful but not overbearing.
We like to visit London two or three times a year. Would we stay again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeydeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Modern and comfortable with excellent service. Room was quiet and well furnished with very comfortable bed, Mini bar, AppleMac TV computer etc . No view from our second floor room and only a very good shower [with glass doors - no shower curtain!!] - no bath. Excellent continental breakfast. A very pleasant stay which we would love to repeat sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Brilliant hotel. We will undoubtedly stay there again. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel before the change to "Mint"...it was the Westminster City Inn, while we stayed there, in Sept 2010.

Highs...generous (by Euro standard) room size; good location in quiet neighorood, reasonably close (5-10 minutes) from tube stop; super-attentive staff; Apple computers in-room; free (included) DVD rentals; great location relative to London sights.

Lows....nothing significant to note, but a bit pricey Overall, a great hotel experience!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJKKJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

If you are fed up with paying high prices for mediocre hotels in London......no more!.The City Inn [now called Mint] is a fabulous new hotel.Beautiful rooms,gorgeous public areas,in short....faultless.I even managed to get the tv channels working on the Mac computer.Of course the staff try to get you to take 'extras'...'can I make you a dinner reservation in our restaurant for this evening,sir?', & of course keep away from the mini bar in your room [better still bring your own drinks & use it as a free fridge!].Location should not be a problem,an easy,flat ,safe.10 minute stroll from Pimlico station.following signs for Tate Britain which is virtually next door to the hotel.As it has free entry the Tate is well worth a visit.From there the whole of London is a short tube ride away.Top tip: check out websites for Alpharooms & Travelrepublic both of which have deals half the price of other agencies. I paid £109 for a double room with breakfast...& the breakfast alone for two people costs £33.You will be offered an upgrade to cooked breakfast for an extra £5pp.The continental will probably suffice but if you pay the extra you will be presented with a beautifully cooked & presented plate of food.Good enough even for tv's Hairy Bikers.Did I mention that they were at the next table?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirven42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Mint Hotel Westminster and had a fantastic time.

We booked this hotel on the strength of what we read on TA, and it did not let us down!

The room was superb. We had the entry level one but to be fair was loads better than many other London hotels we have stayed in. The IMAC entertainment system was a really good touch, the room was clean and bed comfy. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but did have a drink in the 1st floor bar and that was nice for a hotel bar.

The only very slight drawback was that the location was a little further away from the tube than we had expected, but don't let this put you off.

All in all, we were very impressed and would recommend to anyone, and of course would come back again without doubt,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £135 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing