We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A capital Premier Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #123 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A capital Premier Inn.”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I regularly stay away on business, and usually choose Premier Inn as you can always rely on their consistently high standard. This time the stay was pleasure rather than business, and as some of the more central P.Is were full we chose Borough Market for our London break.
The hotel was just as you would expect from Premier Inn - large comfortable room (particularly spacious for London), well maintained, huge bed etc. Not five star luxury, but everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Free baggage storage both before we checked in and after we'd checked out was particularly appreciated. We didn't eat in the hotel attached (partly as there are lots of good local alternatives), so I can't comment on that.
The location is fantastic. Southwark is easy to get into central London from on the tube (London Bridge station), or by river taxi for the more leisurely, yet doesn't feel like part of the metropolis. The architecture and history is really interesting, the market (thu-sat) vibrant and full of tempting stuff, and the whole atmosphere more of a village than a city. It was so quiet at night. I have never before slept in central London without the constant drone of sirens outside, but here there was nothing - and yet the view from outside was pure classic London, with the Thames, St Paul's, London Bridge etc.
Having now stayed here, I would preferentially choose this P.I. over the more popular (constantly full) County Hall branch or the one near Leicester Sq.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am please to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our rooms to be large and comfortable. I am glad to hear you had good use of our luggage room facilities and our fantastic quiet location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to London Southwark Borough Market Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    446
    93
    24
    6
See reviews for
446
386
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Virtually across the street from Vinopolis wine and conference centre, and a short walk to the Tate Modern. Excellent price with breakfast included and very clean room, large enough for a family. Ideal for seeing the sights, not far from the Globe theatre, London Eye, HMS Belfast and London bridge. Would recommend especially for the price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are situated in a fantastic location along the Thames close to many great attractions, I am glad to hear you found our rooms to be clean and large.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Price is fare, rooms are big, king size bed, soft pillows, clean bathroom, location is excellent, staff is nice and kind. Enjoy ! Go to borough market, walk on southbank, enjoy southwark cathedral's bells :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear you found our location to be excellent. We are a stones throw away from many fantastic attractions. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff and rooms, the team will be very happy to hear they helped make your stay enjoyable.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Best Prem Inn we have stayed in, if you love the South Bank of London (and even if you just need a central London hotel with good transport links) then stay here! The quality of service, location & cleanliness made us feel like we weren't 'just in any Premier Inn' but in a far superior one! Very friendly staff made us feel more than welcome and made the trip very special indeed. Smiley faces all around, especially in the restaurant, where the breakfast was delicious... I even heard a lady on an adjacent table saying that 'this was the best hotel breakfast she has ever had!' Our feelings exactly. GBK and Wagamamma just opposite and all the delights of Borough Market just minutes away! Directly opposite Vinoppolis which has made me want to come back with girlfriends for a grown up nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and you found us to be the best Premier Inn you have stayed in. I will pass your feedback on to the staff members, who will be more than happy to hear they made your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Fantastic pre xmas break - central to transport links for around London. On the doorstep to the Thames, Vinopolis, Globe Theatre, Clink Prison Museum and BOROUGH MARKET.
Premier Inn was clean, comfortable and staff were welcoming and friendly; and we were lucky enough to stay in Room 123 with the adjoining door to the Anchor Pub next door.
Sampled Borough Market on the Saturday morning before leaving to buy pre xmas goodies.
Will definitely be back in 2013.
Thank you Premier Inn

Room Tip: Room 123 has the connecting door to The Anchor pub/restaurant = will be requesting this room when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are in a great location on the riverside near many fantastic locations.

I am pleased to hear the staff were friendly and welcoming and your room was comfortable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Had a fantastic two night stay at the Southwark borough market premier inn this past weekend.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was wonderful (everything is in walking distance), and the rooms were incredibly clean and comfortable.
The only issue that I had, was I was expecting on site parking (£15.00 per day) at the premier inn, but when we arrived, there were only 6 car parking spaces, all of which were full.
The receptionist was very helpful, and gave us the postcodes to other car parks nearby, but two of the postcodes didn't work with my GPS, and one of the car parks was closed for filming. We ended up parking at the IBIS car park, which cost £46 for two days.
Everything about the stay was perfect, but had I known parking was going to be quite so limited, I would have travelled by train or made other plans as far as parking went.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraCWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay here with us and our staff were friendly and helpful. The team will be very happy to hear they helped make your stay an enjoyable one.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to parking. Please accept my apologies that you were not informed of our limited on site parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

So off to London for a couple of days of Christmas shopping with a two night stay at the Premier Inn in Southwark.

Got a good deal on the internet by booking a couple of weeks in advance - around £280 for two nights bed and breakfast, and after a short walk from London Bridge station found the hotel., (Hint - Cut through the market next to Southwark Cathedral, its a lot quicker!). Check -in was easy and the reception staff very pleasant and the room was great - large, clean and with a super comfy and huge bed, and plenty of room for storage. Despite the fact the room was ground floor the hotel is in a quiet street so no noise to disturb our slumbers after a hard day hitting Oxford Street!.

Breakfast was excellent - the dining room was a little hard to find as it was in an adjacent building on the first floor but that's hardly a complaint as there was a nice view of the river Thames. Food was plentiful, lots of choice of cereal, juice, breads, etc, and then self-service cooked breakfast - Chef was on standby to refill anything that ran out and the food was all piping hot and well cooked.

We didn't really want for anything while we stayed (except for some extra tea bags one night which were soon forthcoming) and the reception staff were helpful and very pleasant. The hotel is in a redeveloped part of the riverside and there are cafes, bars and restaurants close by, as well as Borough Market. Its about a ten minute walk to London Bridge tube station. All in all this is a great example of a good value hotel, ideal for a short trip to the capital, absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: Premier Inn have a good night sleep guarantee so all rooms should be fine, air con was not intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. I will pass on your feedback to the team who will be very happy to hear they made your stay an enjoyable one.

I am glad you had good use of our riverside location near borough market. We are a stones throw away from many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,069 in London
3,336 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,069 in London
1,618 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#274 of 1,069 in London
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing