We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good value, I'm tempted not to say.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Ranked #154 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a good value, I'm tempted not to say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

No there's no little shampoos or lotions to take. (just bulk hand soap and body wash dispensers). Wifi is only free for 30 minutes (then £3 or about $5 for 24 hrs, or free at the attached pub/restaurant.). Speaking of the Anchor, it's where the breakfast is. We also had a dinner there with friends. Food was so so and we would probably not do it again but you could do worse and it is very easy. Novotel breakfast was a little better. Service was adequate (read as they were trying hard but understaffed for their busiest times). There are loads of good restaurants around and you should not miss borough market. It's under 5 minutes walk and has loads of fresh foods in stalls and small storefronts. Unlike most of the London hit list for tourists, you will find loads of things here that you will not find everywhere else. While there is one in Covent Garden as well, Neal's Yard (cheese shop) is a do not miss for us. Back to the hotel. It is basic, cheap for what it is and a fantastic location for everything except the West End attractions (though not bad for those). We were 2 parents and 3 and 5 year olds. The beds were perfect. The room was clean. The noise was not bad. The staff were friendly at a minimum and Katrina was extremely helpful with info we forgot to gather ahead of time. We would definitely go back we just hope not too many people figure out what a steal it is. I would not recommend for a romantic getaway or someone who wants a room to hang out in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flushmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Hi, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear you had an enjoyable time in London and found our hotel to be clean comfortable. Be sure Katrina will see your lovely comments, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    425
    86
    24
    6
See reviews for
406
352
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

the staff here are very welcoming and helpful, they are a credit to the company. They were only to happy to help us and helped make the weekend a success. The location was superb and was ideal to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0nx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff. We all hope to see again in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here over St Patricks Weekend for three nights and throughly enjoyed our time here.The girls at Reception are fantastic,friendly,helpful and very obliging.That really made our holiday.A special mention to Mimi at reception who is just a gem.Breakfast in the mornings were excellent,and the room we stayed in was great.One small downside was my sons single bed was jusy under the window which tended to be a little draughty at night but everything else was great.Fantastic Pub to the fron of the hotel looking out over the Thames...have to say drinks were in my opinion overpriced bu other than that......Loved it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deselby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
I would like to thank you for your lovley comments, I hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great, as all Premier Inns are, but it was the location that was really special. Southwark is a really trendy and vibrant place with nearby attractions including the Globe, the Tate, the Shard and only a short tube ride to all the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hi, Thank you for your comments.

I am happy you found our hotel 'great' and that you enjoyed the location.

Hope to see again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Everyone seems to know that Borough is 'on the up' but yet it's almost deserted! This newish hotel is only 5 mins walk from (the empty) Southwark Tube Station and very close to The Shard, London Bridge, Tower Bridge, South Bank, HMS Belfast ... you could do your whole family weekend without having to cross the River. The hotel achieves exactly what it sets out to - simple, comfortable rooms, in a convenient location, at an affordable price. Breakfast was everything a growing family needs, and yes, the beds did give a good night's sleep. I would use it again, and maybe soon ...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rarelydelighted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Hopefully you will be visiting us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Exceptionally sweet and helpful staff - they made us feel welcome and ensured all was well with our stay. The wonderfull ladies also made sure we new all the best local sights, museums, retaurants, and things to do. Rooms were quiet, spacious, and clean - our only complaint is that the mattresses are too hard. Excellent value in a great location in the City. Close to the tube, the Thames, and for foodies the Borough Market is heaven at 6 Pounds a serving.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StigRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for comments. I'm happy to hear you were made to feel welcome during your stay.

Sorry you found your mattress to be hard, our housekeepers would have been more than happy to make the mattress more comfortable for you. I regret on this occasion we did not get opportunity to do this for you.

Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I used this hotel a lot when I was travelling regularly to London. I got to know the people on the front desk - Premier Inn seem to get really good front desk people.
I was using Travelodges before, Premier Inn is a completely different experience. There are fluffy white towels and decent beds and it is generally just a lot more civilised.
The hotel itself is a bit fiddly to find and it's not great for public transport but it's worth the effort. The breakfast room has a great view of the river. The rooms don't, they all face the back or the courtyard.
The pub is attached which is very useful when it's cold!

Room Tip: Avoid the ones near the stairs to the restaurant (at the north end). I think the low numbered ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafrinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for the positive comments.

As regular guest we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing