We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT location! Surprisingly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“PERFECT location! Surprisingly good hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We've often walked past this hotel and thought what a great spot it would be to spend a couple of nights doing London as tourists (even though we live at the end of the Central line!).
So that's exactly what we did and it was brilliant. We love the whole South Bank and Borough Market anyway but to be 'living' a few steps away from the Globe for three days was really special.
We had fabulous weather which did, of course, help enormously but even without it this would have been a great trip. We did galleries, exhibitions and palaces, the view from The Shard, an afternoon at the Globe, an evening at the National Theatre, dinner with friends, the Tate to Tate water bus.... Being able to nip 'home' for a bath after a day's sightseeing before a night out was absolute bliss.
The staff were SO smiley and charming. The room was much bigger than we expected, well equipped and well air conditioned. Would not hesitate to recommend this Premier Inn - especially to foreign visitors. The location makes for a really fabulous London experience at an affordable price.
PS Visit the Perkin Reveller restaurant at the Tower of London. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor overlooking the car park (there aren't any river views proper) for maximum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review. It was lovely to receive such a positive feedback and we are happy to hear that you immensely enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to make every guest's stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and we are absolutely pleased to have received your 5-star review. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you decide to stay in Central London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    441
    93
    24
    6
See reviews for
435
381
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A really nice, friendly hotel with a touch of class. Breakfast served in a effect shake serial pub, rooms comfy and staff amazing!!!!! Could not complain about anything and wished we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Gina,
Thank you for wrting your review about Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location on the south bank of the Thames, just along from the Tate Modern, good views of the City, lots of adjacent pubs, restaurants, etc, etc. however don’t expect regular Premier Inn rates, you’ll pay through the nose for this ‘premier’ location – central London prices I guess.
The hotel itself is fine, the usual setup and formula: nice rooms, good beds, clean and comfortable-ish. The bathroom was a fair size with a good mixer shower.
The hotel however is built round a courtyard which is the back yard for the attached Anchor Inn public house. In the morning the Anchor empties their glass bin – that’s exciting! - sounds like all hell breaking loose out there. On other days the Anchor restock their beer barrels – well they are big metal things aren’t they? - so that’s a hell of a racket too! I thought Premier Inn guarantee a quiet night’s sleep don’t they?...
Getting in to reception is an adventure in itself (there are no directions or signs that we saw): go through the big double gates into the courtyard, cross the cobbles (high heels add to the adventure-factor here), past the kitchens of the Anchor where the kitchen staff - gathered to have a fly fag and watch the new-meat teeter across the cobbles - will helpfully direct you (or stare blankly depending on the mood) to swing round to the left where you’ll find reception cunningly concealed round the corner, no doubt where it’s quiet.
The hotel staff are excellent however; friendly, helpful and always a pleasant smile and a cheery hello.
But the excitement just never stops: breakfast is taken in the Anchor Inn (not sure if this is part of the actual Hotel, it could just be an attached business) which is reached through the hotel via a maze of twisty passages, all alike. The dining room in the Anchor is absolute piggin’ chaos; a complete farce. No plates, no juice, no control. I’d made the mistake of paying up front for brekkie but who’s to know? - people wander in and out, have brekkie, wander off, nary a word! – boy, did I feel ripped off!
So the Hotel is good (but noisy) but the Anchor Inn really needs sorted out!

Room Tip: Get a high-up room away from the Anchor Inn's yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank How-did-I-get-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write such a constructive review about our hotel. I do appreciate it and am sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Our hotel is located in a very nice and lively area indeed with so many amenities just a stone's throw away. It is to some extent reflected in our pricing. As you might be aware, all hotels in Central London do tend to offer higher rates.

I am very sorry to hear that Anchor pub had a delivery on the morning of your stay and, as a result, disturbed your sleep. I absolutely understand your frustration but I am afraid that this is something beyond our control. We had a conversation with the Anchor Pub management but they informed us that their supplier has an allocated slot for deliveries, which cannot be changed, at least at this point. Please note these deliveries do not take place every morning, and I am sorry you were unfortunate to have it during your stay with us. As for the entrance to the hotel, it might indeed look a bit weird especially from a guest's perspective trying to find the entrance but I have to inform you that talks did take place involving CEO to consider moving reception to the front onto Park Street. Unfortunately, the decision has been made to keep reception as it is due to many complications pertaining to it.

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the customer service received at the hotel. Our reception team would be happy to hear their efforts were recognised once again. However, the Anchor Pub staff are not employed by Premier Inn, therefore we cannot guarantee the same great service. I understand your point of view ragarding the breakfast at the pub but as you might know our hotel is very small and does not have kitchen. on-site restaurant or even a small bar like the majority of Premier Inns across the UK. Therefore, we have no choice but offer breakfast in the pub next door. I appreciate your comments about your breakfast experience and would have to speak to the pub manager again to make sure thier service is improved and up to standard.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Two night stay whilst seeing a play at the Globe Theatre. Perfect positioning, lots of things going on in and around. Clean, tidy, friendly staff who are knowledgeable. Will definitely stay there again. Let the staff book you a taxi, much cheaper than the black cabs if you are travelling from the hotel to a particular destination that is too far to walk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank troublesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I was pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found the team here to be friendly and accommodating. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location for central London (you can walk to London Bridge station iIt's just behind Borough Market, within walking distance of Tate Modern and Waterloo Station), it's clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, don't come here expecting luxury- there are no mini bottles of shampoo or even a mini fridge in the room, so I give it a four star rating with that in mind. But we stayed here for a week in a family room with a two year old and two month old and it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisvegasgirlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that our hotel was exactly what you needed for a London getaway being in a perfect location with so many amenities just a stone's throw away.

Premier Inn is a budget hotel chain, so we presume our guests know more or less what to expect. In the meantime, I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I'm really starting to like Premier Inns - you know what you're getting, the cost is fair, and due to the 'Good Night' sleep promise, on the whole you do get a good nights sleep. Always clean and nearly always good locations.

For our reason being in London the location was perfect, and odd entry to the hotel which was tucked away round a courtyard - but staff good, friendly and an excellent one night stay! Always check the website for great offers and try to book as far ahead as possible - we saved ourselves about £70.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with Premier Inn brand as a whole. We do hope that you become one of our loyal customers and let us wow you every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My daughter booked the hotel as a London mini-break for myself, my wife, my daughter & two grand daughters (2 rooms)
Staff were brilliant & friendly even having storage for luggage if arriving prior to check-in time.
The immediate area is a hive of activity with loads to do and see,plenty of eateries and loads of good pubs with one adjoining the hotel !
Rooms were clean, modern, spacious and a good breakfast available in morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelamanning06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We were pleased to hear that you immensely enjoyed your stay as well as liked the breakfast in the Achor pub and were happy with the location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market and hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#93 of 1,068 in London
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing