We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #126 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

It was a cold room and I found the heating system too noisy to leave on all night. An extra blanket in the room would have solved the problem. The girls in reception were excellent and tried to please. The bath side was too high for my partner to get safely into the shower. There were no hand rails to steady you as you got in. the hotel was qiet in spite of being in a busy area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to a review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not live up to your expectations.

At Premier Inn we pride ourselves in having a 24 hour reception with staff on hand to help with any problems that may arise during your stay. Telephones are also fitted in every room with a direct link to reception. Upon request, we are able to provide extra blankets as well as silent, mobile heaters. We are unfortunately unable to store extra duvets in the rooms as there is a lack of storage space for them.

We would like to apologise again for your experience with Premier Inn. We're happy to hear that our reception staff were excellent in their service. We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to email us at: London.Southwark.pti@whitbread.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

I work in London regularly and always stay at this Premier Inn. Very friendly staff always with a warm welcome. Very convienient location for good restaurants and pubs and easy access to the whole of the south bank.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank vancast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience with us here at Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. I'm happy to note that you find your stays with us enjoyable, convenient and warm in regards to our team. I will take on board your comments and will share them with our team at Premier Inn. Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here whilst attending an event at St Paul's Cathedral and the location was perfect. As you would expect the room was spotless, at perfect temperature and with a very comfortable king sized bed. Plenty of restaurants close by and only 5 minutes walk to London Bridge tube.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goyagoya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We’re extremely pleased that Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market lived up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent hotel, welcoming, clean as always expected at Premier Inn. Good location for sightseeing central London and particularly good for enjoying walks beside river. Lots of history and sights close by; other places easily accessible by foot, train, boat or bus. Only disadvantage, restaurant menu not available to guests who are in the bar, but bar menu not available in restaurant so could be difficult if a couple fancy different menu items not available on one or the other! Premier Inn may have addressed this by now so worth checking. Bar can get busy as it is a pub open to the public, so if wanting bar menu don't eat too late. Despite this drawback, food was excellent and service very good; Breakfast was also superb. Would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're happy to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service and found the location of our hotel to be convenient for nearby attractions.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. For clarification purposes, the Anchor Pub itself is an business separate from Premier Inn and is not owned under Whitbread PLC. However, I will pass your suggestions onto the manager at the Anchor Pub.

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Hotel is located right on the bankside. Historical "Anchor" pub is right next door. Also there are plenty of outstanding pubs and restautants nearby.
Hotel absolutely matches the high-class Premier Inn standart!
Room is comfortable, spacious and very clean.
Staff is well-trained, very helpful and polite.
Definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I was pleased to note our you found the level of service and cleanliness consistent with our Premier Inn standards. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights in November, having wandered past this hotel many times during London stays I finally remembered to book and will definitely be back.
Great location
Very friendly and helpful staff
Lovely room, comfortable bed, good shower, also a quiet room. All these aspects were very good and of the usual premier inn standard
Like the fact you could enter the pub next door without having to go outside, we took advantage of this on more than one occasion :0)
Breakfast, stale hot water in the VAT, stale crumpets, overcooked eggs so the middle was rock hard, didn't see any costa coffee available as advertised.
Would definitely stay here again but would have breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're pleased to hear that the hotel itself and the staff managed to live up to your expectations.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve. I apologise about the quality of the breakfast you experienced and as a result I will be passing your comments onto the breakfast team at the Anchor Pub. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I enjoyed this hotel stay immensely. The staff members were all extra helpful, the room was clean (and spacious), and I found the breakfast to be quite good. This property is situated amid a bustling and busy open market, which was a great treat. In addition, it is convenient to the Tube station and an easy walk up the Thames to the known tourist stops. No real complaints about this property. Would stay here again and would suggest to others as well. This is not a five-star hotel -- but they don't bill themselves that way. It is a solid stay, though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheelsupUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're very happy to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#88 of 1,076 in London
2,742 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing