We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to stay for Central London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Ranked #153 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good base to stay for Central London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

On business and working at South Bank Uni which is within walking distance.
The reception staff are excellent as is the chef who cooks breakfast, which consists of very nice food and the breakfast room has a friendly banter going on.
The rooms are usual Prem style, clean and neat with a very low to the ground bed in room 4.
The pub bar closes at 22.30 sharp.
There's a good balcony beside the river with plenty of seating.
There's a very good fish restaurant nearby in Borough Market called Applebees which serves great food.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms facing the court yard as with open windows you can hear a pin drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naldotwo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We’re extremely pleased that our hotel left a positive impression in terms of its location, staff service and breakfast. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    425
    86
    24
    6
See reviews for
406
352
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is snuggled in the busy, bustling thouroughfare of people walking along the Southbank. The hotel facilities are excellent. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and things to see within easy walking distance. Borough Market - a must for everyone, is a speciality international food market with the most amazing variety of smells and flavours. Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge and London Bridge Underground all within a short walk of the hotel (5 mins). The beautiful walk along the Southbank to Tower Bridge in one direction and Blackfriars Bridge in the other direction, is an array of pubs, restaurants, coffee shops, entertainment, everything! There are small high street shops on Borough High Street and a late opening shop in case you need it, all within a short walking distance. If you do not like to use the Underground (children , elderly) there is lots to do in this area so you don't have to go too far if you don't want to and if you do the Underground is not far away. Good location to suit lots of needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbows848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a five star review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you were happy with your stay, as well as enjoying our very central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I use this hotel regularly when I visit London as it is convenient to places I'm likely to visit and I know that it will be of a consistent quality. I'm confident that I will get what I pay for. The only drawback is the price. The room rate has been escalating on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 328Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your experience with us here at Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market. I'm pleased to hear that you find our hotel to remain consistent in regards to its brand and standards. Although we try our best to retain value for money for our guests in regards to our rooms, our prices reflect supply and demand, as well as being reflective of our desirable location and nearby facilities. You may just find that our rooms tend to cost less if booked via our website. Also, any ongoing promotions and saver rates will be applied via the website only.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I found this to be the best location that I have stayed when visiting the sights in London. What I loved was the position of the hotel, you could just step out of the hotel and you was on the embankment where there was plenty going on and fab for people watching. The hotel staff were friendly and very efficient and helpful. The room was a good size, clean and quiet. I loved where we had our breakfast, all oldy worldly and the staff there were fab as also the breakfast. I would certainly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much and that you found the staff here to be very friendly and our location to be very convenient during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel has some very good points, i.e. the location for the Globe theatre and the helpful reception staff. Breakfast is pretty average. Although, the main drawback is the size of the child's bed in the family rooms. My son is 14 years old and 6ft tall and therefore my wife who is 5ft 6ins had to sleep in the child's bed and I had to sleep with my son. Be prepared!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to a review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not completely live up to your expectations.

In regards to the size of the childs bed, please accept our sincere apologies. Our beds are designed for children aged 15 and under and are designed to accommodate the average weight and height for a child. For the reference for all future guests, we do advise that you call the hotel directly before making a booking to ascertain that the beds meet specific requirements - in this case, a separate bedroom would have been required at the time of booking due to the height of the child. For future reference, please note that a few of our other sites do have twin rooms featuring two double beds.

We would like to apologise again for your experience with Premier Inn. On the upside, we are pleased that you found our hotel staff to be helpful and our location to be ideal. As for your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast, please again accept our apologies. We will contact the staff at the Anchor Pub to make sure that they are consistently delivering our brand of breakfast to our guests.

We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location is excellent being within a 15 walk of the City of London where I was working for a few days. As with any budget hotel the interior is utility and, in this hotel's case, is showing signs of age and considerable use. Whilst it appeared 'tired' this must not distract from what met my needs, providing quiet nights in a comfortable bed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're happy our hotel provided with a comfortable bed and a quiet location, fulfilling its promise of a Good Night Guarantee. In regards the more aesthetic aspects of the interior, we will take into consideration your comments for areas of possible improvment. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved the location...right off the Thames, near lots of restaurants and nightlife. Every time we went out there was something going on...street musicians, etc. It was also a very easy walk to the Tube. The rooms are very small, and I think they should saw off a piece of the tv stand so that you can walk to the restroom without squeezing by (the bed almost hits the stand), but other than that, no complaints. The bed was excellent, and the hotel was very quiet.

Most of all, the staff was extremely accommodating! They couldn't do enough for us! If we ever visit London again, we will be staying at this Premier Inn!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdenning1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market regarding the standards of our beds, the quietness of the hotel, the great location and of the brilliant service you received from our staff. We shall pass your feedback regarding our desks onto upper levels of management.

We hope you will give us further opportunities to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing