We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but beware of creaky camp beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location for attractions such as the Globe, the Shard, HMS Belfast, the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. It is also close (i.e. within walking distance with suitcases) to Mansion House and London Bridge tube stations. Borough market is right beside the hotel and is worth a visit to have lunch from one of the stalls. There are also has plenty of restaurants and coffee shops close by, including a surprisingly quiet and pleasant Starbucks. An adequate and reasonable value for money breakfast is provided in the pub linked to the hotel (by an internal corridor). Note that you have to pay for breakfast at the hotel reception (not in the pub). This is not a problem and can even be done in the morning about 30 mins before you have breakfast. If you want something a bit different (and are prepared to pay more) try Bills restaurant in Clink Street.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and Borough Market was totally manic. Lots going on and lots of activity. However, surprisingly, the hotel was very quiet. This may be because we had an inside room that looks into the courtyard / car park.

The only negative point on this trip was the size and noisiness of the kids beds. We were aware these were pull out beds. But, these turned out to be quite noisy (i.e. creaky spring noise) and not full length, which is a problem if you have a 5'8" teenage boy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guitar_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not entirely live up to your expectations in regards to the childrens beds. As well as having our maintenance staff examine the beds, I will be forwarding your comments to upper management as areas for possible future improvement/refurbishment.

We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

On business and working at South Bank Uni which is within walking distance.
The reception staff are excellent as is the chef who cooks breakfast, which consists of very nice food and the breakfast room has a friendly banter going on.
The rooms are usual Prem style, clean and neat with a very low to the ground bed in room 4.
The pub bar closes at 22.30 sharp.
There's a good balcony beside the river with plenty of seating.
There's a very good fish restaurant nearby in Borough Market called Applebees which serves great food.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms facing the court yard as with open windows you can hear a pin drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naldotwo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We’re extremely pleased that our hotel left a positive impression in terms of its location, staff service and breakfast. We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is snuggled in the busy, bustling thouroughfare of people walking along the Southbank. The hotel facilities are excellent. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and things to see within easy walking distance. Borough Market - a must for everyone, is a speciality international food market with the most amazing variety of smells and flavours. Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge and London Bridge Underground all within a short walk of the hotel (5 mins). The beautiful walk along the Southbank to Tower Bridge in one direction and Blackfriars Bridge in the other direction, is an array of pubs, restaurants, coffee shops, entertainment, everything! There are small high street shops on Borough High Street and a late opening shop in case you need it, all within a short walking distance. If you do not like to use the Underground (children , elderly) there is lots to do in this area so you don't have to go too far if you don't want to and if you do the Underground is not far away. Good location to suit lots of needs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbows848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a five star review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you were happy with your stay, as well as enjoying our very central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I use this hotel regularly when I visit London as it is convenient to places I'm likely to visit and I know that it will be of a consistent quality. I'm confident that I will get what I pay for. The only drawback is the price. The room rate has been escalating on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 328Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your experience with us here at Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market. I'm pleased to hear that you find our hotel to remain consistent in regards to its brand and standards. Although we try our best to retain value for money for our guests in regards to our rooms, our prices reflect supply and demand, as well as being reflective of our desirable location and nearby facilities. You may just find that our rooms tend to cost less if booked via our website. Also, any ongoing promotions and saver rates will be applied via the website only.

Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I found this to be the best location that I have stayed when visiting the sights in London. What I loved was the position of the hotel, you could just step out of the hotel and you was on the embankment where there was plenty going on and fab for people watching. The hotel staff were friendly and very efficient and helpful. The room was a good size, clean and quiet. I loved where we had our breakfast, all oldy worldly and the staff there were fab as also the breakfast. I would certainly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much and that you found the staff here to be very friendly and our location to be very convenient during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel has some very good points, i.e. the location for the Globe theatre and the helpful reception staff. Breakfast is pretty average. Although, the main drawback is the size of the child's bed in the family rooms. My son is 14 years old and 6ft tall and therefore my wife who is 5ft 6ins had to sleep in the child's bed and I had to sleep with my son. Be prepared!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to a review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not completely live up to your expectations.

In regards to the size of the childs bed, please accept our sincere apologies. Our beds are designed for children aged 15 and under and are designed to accommodate the average weight and height for a child. For the reference for all future guests, we do advise that you call the hotel directly before making a booking to ascertain that the beds meet specific requirements - in this case, a separate bedroom would have been required at the time of booking due to the height of the child. For future reference, please note that a few of our other sites do have twin rooms featuring two double beds.

We would like to apologise again for your experience with Premier Inn. On the upside, we are pleased that you found our hotel staff to be helpful and our location to be ideal. As for your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast, please again accept our apologies. We will contact the staff at the Anchor Pub to make sure that they are consistently delivering our brand of breakfast to our guests.

We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Location is excellent being within a 15 walk of the City of London where I was working for a few days. As with any budget hotel the interior is utility and, in this hotel's case, is showing signs of age and considerable use. Whilst it appeared 'tired' this must not distract from what met my needs, providing quiet nights in a comfortable bed.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're happy our hotel provided with a comfortable bed and a quiet location, fulfilling its promise of a Good Night Guarantee. In regards the more aesthetic aspects of the interior, we will take into consideration your comments for areas of possible improvment. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#94 of 1,081 in London
2,811 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#57 of 1,081 in London
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing