We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #124 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best location ever!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed a week in a family room, and I must say this hotel has probably the best location for London visitors. 15 seconds and you're in Borough Market, Southwark Cathedral, and London Bridge station, going towards Tower Bridge, and another 15 seconds to the other side and you're near Shakespeare's Globe, Tate Modern, and on your way to Big Ben. Despite its proximity to all the restaurants and attractions, the hotel is very quiet. Breakfast is taken at the "Anchor" pub and restaurant, and has the usual satisfying mix. Staff is friendly and attentive, although at times you can come in and find nobody at the desk. On one particularly rainy day, a staff member kindly gave us an extra helping of tea bags (with cream, coffee, and sugar) to take up to our room as we were drenched. A nice touch! Recommended, especially as the price for the night is competitive. Free wifi for 30 minutes everyday or 10 pounds for the whole week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeirutPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a five star review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're very happy you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay, in particularly our all you can eat Premier Inn English Breakfast and our fantastic location. In regards to the occasional absence of staff at reception, we do strive to man reception at all times, with the exception of busier hours whereas staff may be required elsewhere e.g. to attend to guests or other tasks outside of the reception area. Once again thank you for your review, your feedback is very much appreciated. Hopefully you will choose to stay in our hotel for future visits to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    446
    93
    24
    6
See reviews for
444
386
54
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room, one double and 2 single beds which is perfect (I hate family rooms which end up being 2 double beds)
Perfect location for walking into the City, catching the tube or clipper, nice breakfast served in the Anchor Pub, friendly chef and waitresses
No problems during our stay, all staff friendly and professional, room clean, cannot fault anything.
Only one point is I’m not sure the smoking area for the staff of the Anchor pub should be next to the gas bottles!
Will book again next time we're in London

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Optimus_Lime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We're happy you found our location to be convenient for your trip to London and that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff to be professional. In regards to the gas bottles, we will pass your feedback onto the Anchor Pub and to upper levels of management. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your future returns to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just a short stroll from London Bridge tube station and right next to the Borough Market which was a real treat. Hotel staff are really friendly and professional and made this an enjoyable stay. We had a room with 2 extra beds for the kids which was plenty big enough for the four of us and was very comfortable. Room was clean and fresh and breakfast was spot on. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a five star review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. It really pleases us that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're happy to have supplied you with a brilliant location, clean rooms and a wonderful staff service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful without being over the top. The room was immaculate and so comfortable, and very quiet for such a central location. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a five star review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We are pleased to hear that everything was outstanding during your short break. We hope you choose to stay with us again if you decide to return to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is an excellent Premier Inn. Very near all the sights - we had tickets for the Old Vic and it is very conveniet for this theatre.And the Shard!
The staff are very welcoming and have a good grasp of what the area has to offer.
The rooms are well cared for and the bed was VERY comfortable!
The Anchor is a lovely place to unwind and the breakfasts are wonderful!
This is the centre of London and as such, is amazing value. Keep up the good work Premier Inn!!
We shall not hesitate to use this Premier Inn again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review on your experience with us here at Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market. We're very happy to hear that you found the location of our hotel perfectly situated for exploring central London and that we managed to impress you with our staff service and our comfortable beds. We're also pleased to hear that the Anchor Pub is successfully delivering our brand of breakfast to our guests. Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts and we sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in a family room during the school summer holidays. Staff were polite and helpful, and the room was ready on time with no issues, and made up daily. The room had air conditioning, but it was still hot. No issue with noise from outside considering the London location. Breakfast in the Anchor Pub attached was adequate, but not as good a selection as other premier inns we have stayed at. All in all, a good hotel, which I would recommend, particularly for those requiring a family room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your experience with us here at Premier Inn London Southwark Borough Market. I'm pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the service from our team met your expectations. In regards to the selection at breakfast, I will be forwarding your comments to the staff at the Anchor Pub as the entirety of our selection should be made available at all times at breakfast - with the exception of instances where items are running low or are out of stock - a rarity but a possibility. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location for attractions such as the Globe, the Shard, HMS Belfast, the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. It is also close (i.e. within walking distance with suitcases) to Mansion House and London Bridge tube stations. Borough market is right beside the hotel and is worth a visit to have lunch from one of the stalls. There are also has plenty of restaurants and coffee shops close by, including a surprisingly quiet and pleasant Starbucks. An adequate and reasonable value for money breakfast is provided in the pub linked to the hotel (by an internal corridor). Note that you have to pay for breakfast at the hotel reception (not in the pub). This is not a problem and can even be done in the morning about 30 mins before you have breakfast. If you want something a bit different (and are prepared to pay more) try Bills restaurant in Clink Street.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and Borough Market was totally manic. Lots going on and lots of activity. However, surprisingly, the hotel was very quiet. This may be because we had an inside room that looks into the courtyard / car park.

The only negative point on this trip was the size and noisiness of the kids beds. We were aware these were pull out beds. But, these turned out to be quite noisy (i.e. creaky spring noise) and not full length, which is a problem if you have a 5'8" teenage boy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitar_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PISouthwarkBM, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to a review for Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry to learn that on this occasion Premier Inn Southwark Borough Market did not entirely live up to your expectations in regards to the childrens beds. As well as having our maintenance staff examine the beds, I will be forwarding your comments to upper management as areas for possible future improvement/refurbishment.

We would like to thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#85 of 1,069 in London
3,335 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,069 in London
1,613 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#271 of 1,069 in London
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing