We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I spent a week there in November. I stumbled up on this hotel on the internet by chance. The staff was very friendly, very helpful. My room was huge and comfortable, especially considering London standards. The tube was only a short walk away. Very close to the Thames, the Globe Theater and the Borough Market.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. For a budget hotel my room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is well positioned, its on the south side of the Thames River, pretty much half way between all the Westminster attractions on one side and Tower Bridge, Tower of London area on the other. It was about a 25 min walk in either direction to get to some great London attractions, and the walk was nice too, along the southern banks of the Thames, with lots of Cafes. I had no problems with noise at all, and I have to say the staff at reception were excellent, very polite and friendly. My only complaint was with one of the restaurant staff, whilst I was having breakfast, a male staff member sneezed into his hands twice then directly proceeded to place out new glasses in the juice area. I called the head waiter over and pointed this out, he immediately apologised, removed all the glasses, and took the waiter aside for a lesson in hygiene. It was handled well by the head waiter, but it did turn me off the rest of my breakfast. That was my only complaint, the hotel itself is very good, great rooms, staff, and the hotel is well positioned for many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Premier Inn never fails to disappoint me. First time in this particular one stayed in County Hall last time. Must say staff could not do enough especially Marta who was lovely after a long long day provided us with a dial-out pizza menu so we could relax in our room! Location is good although, as a family would probably prefer County Hall. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast as described by others was in the adjoining Anchor Pub. It was help-yourself apart from the cooked breakfast which you had to order. My husband tends to like quite a lot and it was quite embarrassing for him to have to ask for so many bacon so many sausage etc. Another point I would make is at County Hall the restaurant is so children-friendly not the case here. When we arrived after a long journey we were told it was closed and that the pub served fish and chips. After enquiring with them found out they dont do a childrens menu quite annoying really.
The only other downside is, and it is with regret I mention one as it is a lovely hotel, is the noise. We had a room overlooking the courtyard and at night it quite noisey someone seemed to be slamming a door in the pub area which did get on your nerves after a while. Also in the morning the sound of crates was very annoying and quite early.
However, if you can put up with that give this hotel a go it is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davlyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Read a few reviews about other premier inns in central london and booked southwark due to the positive feedback....so glad i did because this is the place to stay!! Hotel so clean and modern and staff just lovely, especially genny on reception, who offered travel advise and even an umbrella on a damp morning. Set back from the chaos of the city yet only a few minutes tube ride from London Bridge Undergound to any of the main landmarks. Family room consisted of a huge very comfortable bed and two very comfortable matresses on the floor either side of the bed. Opted for the full breakfast in the Anchor Inn which was excellent value for money...family of four could eat as much as they wanted for £15 a day. Found this set us up for the day ahead. Very minor fault was cooked breakfast was a bit slow in coming so leave an extra 10mins or so for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights for a service at St Paul's Cathedral along with other sightseeing. Typical Travel Inn standard overall but our room (3rd floor) was a little small compared to the ones on the 1st two floors. Strongly recommended hotel all round with excellent selection of pubs/restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel is nicely located along the south bank of the Thames. Main entrance to hotel is funnily hidden in an internal courtyard - from the outside it's like you are entering a garage! All hotel staff were well mannered and did their best to offer a good service. Room design had a modern touch, and was kept very clean. TV, telephone and WiFi (WiFi is not free though) facilities are available in the room.

Breakfast is served in the adjacent pub 'The Anchor', which offers a nice view of the River Thames. Very good breakfast served with a choice of cereals, buns and bakes, traditional porridge and of course full English breakfast!

As previously stated, location is great for a walk along the southbank of the Thames towards Tower bridge or over the SouthWark or Millenium bridge to St Paul's Cathedral.

I also recommend a short visit to Borough market and Southwark Cathedral, both of which can be found on the way to the nearest underground station - London Bridge, which is approx 5 minutes away form the hotel. In this regard, it may also be good to point out that you may hear some trains in the background, especially during the early morning hours when everything is very quiet.

Overall, a good clean and modern hotel that is situated in a nice location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stayed here on new years eve 2008/09. Great room and friendly service on arrival. Enjoyed a good breakfast in the pub next door the following morning too. Pretty good base to explore areas like Covent Garden if you don't want to spend the money to stay in those places. Unfortunately, not on the same tube line, however, if you are prepared to walk over the Southwark bridge (you get some pretty good views on both sides if you do) you can pick up the tube on the other side down to Somerset House. Would recommend if you want to stay south of the river.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank da_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#94 of 1,081 in London
2,812 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#57 of 1,081 in London
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel

Address: 34 Park Street | Bankside, London SE1 9EF, England (Formerly Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#140 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sample foodie treats down the road at Borough Market or take in the view from London Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing