We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverley City Hotel
Ranked #923 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is situated in a very handy area , near 2 tube stations and near Paddington train station.
We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom.
The man at the reception was very kind and changed our room on a lower floor when we requested.
The breakfast staff always willing to serve with a nice smile.
We have enjoyed our stay , and we will return with the family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Do yourself a favour and give this place a miss. I now regret not consulting this website's reviews before deciding to book there. Although we didn't see any of the infamous cockroaches my wife spotted a "roach trap" placed in the hallway so clearly they do have "roach issues"! We had a room out the back below ground level which was small, dark and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The bedsheets were ingrained with the stench of cigarettes and my pyjamas still stank when I got them home the following day. What's more we had an awful night's sleep because some inconsiderate residents were moving around and opening and closing doors at regular intervals throughout the night, and there didn't seem to be any staff around to do anything about it. The shower was good for 1 shower's worth of hot water and then it went cold. The only good thing is the location, and it's not like they're the only hotel in the area is it?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

For real? I stayed here about 7 years ago and it was the worst hotel ever, like something out of a movie. There was a cockroach in our room (and I see by other reviews here that they still have this problem). They blamed us for letting in cockroaches by leaving the window open (how else are we supposed to get fresh air in this hell hole).

The room was tight and the bathroom even tighter. There are no elevators and the stairways are narrow. And the towels are not exactly the cleanest. Skip the breakfast buffet, it's down in the claustophobic basement and they're cheap.

Actually, please skip this hotel altogether.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, even if they pay you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

To charge 62 pounds p.p. a night for a rat's nest like this should be criminal.
The room was situated below ground level, with no natural light coming in.
At night time we nearly froze to death in was they called a "bed". After a couple of nights sleeping in this hotel we began suffering from severe back pain. (Had to buy pain killers in the pharmacy). And they never changed the sheets. Bed spreads were discusting and itchy, probably around 30 years old and never washed.

The room had virtually no shelves to put our stuff, so everything had to be put on the floor or on the bed. Shower was OK, but the water didn't get warm until after about 5 mins.

Breakfast was a joke, and the "orange juice" looked radioactive...

London hotels are usually a bit expensive, but for the price they charge at this hotel, you would at least expect a bit more effort. These people don't even try.

Stay away from this place, please!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Do not go here if you dont want to share an allready not clean room and bed with roaches. We stayed for 3 nights and it was smelly , dirty sheets , and finally the last night we had cockroaches in our bed , this was on the 4:th floor as far up in te building as possibel. I dont even want to imagine what the basementrooms contains...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sofia i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Location is great, just a 5min walk from Paddington station. But the hotel.. change if you still can ;) We needed to report at a different hotel as there was no staff in our hotel. They have basement rooms, which seem like a broomcupboard! I requested something better and got a room on the second floor, which was somewhat better with the natural light comming in. I don't understand why they wanted me in the basement room while they had other rooms available.

The room itself looks shabby, the wireless internet did not work in my room at all (though I had paid for it!). The bed wasn't too bad and the bathroom was ok. Breakfast was quite lousy and nothing continental about it, at all. I would defenitly stay somewhere else if I would visit this part of London again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at all and if you can't help yourself: stay out of the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badzeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel was ideally situated for our 3 day 2 night stop in London .Our room was clean with what seemed like a recently refurbished bathroom.The room layout could have been better utilised with shelves in one of the alcoves where tea and coffee making facilities would have been welcomed.
We were not overly concerned with the old portable television,{with remote that did not work} but the use of a wall mounted one would give more room for the shelving as mentioned earlier.
If you are over a certain age or have any disability I would recommend you requested a ground floor room as it does not have a lift and even for a fit person carrying a large suitcase up three flights of stairs is hard work.
The breakfast was as stated in the literature but small touches such as fresh, or even concentrated orange juice would have been better than the orange "squash" we had. I really would like to know who enjoy s cold hard boiled eggs ,sliced spam and thinly sliced cheese with very little flavour,for their breakfast as it is not one of my favourite ways to start the day.We chose to eat around the corner for our second day .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank bardavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kingsway Park Hotel
#862 of 1,077 in London
294 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#608 of 1,077 in London
608 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#695 of 1,077 in London
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#761 of 1,077 in London
427 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#723 of 1,077 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverley City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley City Hotel

Address: 142 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #923 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beverley City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed within a Victorian building dating from 1890. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beverley City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley City London
Hotel Beverley City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing