We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is fantastic where the staff and service are purely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #229 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

great hotel, great service and the best room service I have ever had. This hotel mkaes staying in London and away from home a true pleasure. Keep up the good work and I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: try and get the executive room with a view of the locks, they are awesome rooms!!! Plus try the spic...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right next to Camden Lock. The rooms are comfortable. Nothing fancy about it, but you don't need much more in London.

Hotel staff polite, but not particularly helpful.

PS: Don't pay for breakfast, it's not worth it as it is below average quality and there are dozens of restaurants in the area for great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a0lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

I am struggling to understand where we've gone wrong here, probably you could help me?

We will be trying not to take it personally yet we, Camdeners, are very passionate. We do put our heart into welcoming our guests and whatever we do. So we might have to realise that, maybe, we cannot seduce everyone ... but this is very frustrating for us.

At least, we got a 5 out of 5 for your beauty sleep, and this is what matters most ... for most hotels. Will we get another chance one day to WOW you possibly?

I shall certainly hope so. In the meantime, thank you for taking of your time to feed us back.

Eddy BROSSE
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here for 2-nights (18 and 19 April'12) and would have nothing but praise for this hotel. Well situated, close to tube, etc. There is a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff are very professional, friendly and helpful. Lovely room, really clean and plenty of space. I will most definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillycokerrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We just got back from staying at this holiday inn. It is located close to the tube station (about 5 minutes walk). However, it's located on the northern line and resulting in doing more transfers to more touristy locations. We've been to London almost 10 times and liked being in the center of town. This is a bit out of the way for us. The front desk was friendly. The rooms good size (european standard) for the 4 of us. I don't know when the hotel was built, but it seemed really new. The room was clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms well equipped. So why only 3 stars? I really hate when hotels nickel and dime you. There is no free wifi at the hotel. I knew that before hand. But they charge a per hour rate at their business center. This is really the first time I stayed somewhere when they did that. They gave us a complimentary 15 minutes pass for printing out our boarding pass. For a new, modern hotel in 2012, I expected more. Charge a few more bucks/pounds and include these amenities. That said, there are free wifi places around. The wagamama (noodle soup place) across the street.
The camden lock area is full of street markets. A lot of tattoo/piercing shops and what not. We've enjoyed strolling around. All said and done, we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lock.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaanjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Good to read that you felt our hotel was new ... since it is 8 years old. So at least, we're doing something right here; we do maintain our proud property rather well.

We are bang in the middle of Camden and access to the city centre is truly easy as you noticed, as you reach the very centre in minutes. From there, one do, as one would from anywhere, have to change to wherever one intend to go and visit. It is very straight forward and the newest alternative is the Barclays Bike, for rent just outside the hotel (GBP 1.00 a day!).

Internet access is being discussed intensely out, about and within our company of course. Access to the Business Centre is free, the one you enjoyed. WiFi in rooms is chargeable although at a fair price, with two levels of service according to your needs (standard & business). Our intentions are not to take money off you and leaving you to feel short changed though, hence our network is well maintained, fast and secured. Anyhow, we did hear you and something is being done about it. Thank you for raising the issue, this will actually help us (although I can't develop too much on that one!).

... yet, the Camdeners are feeling a little frustrated though as they feel they deserved a "4 star". And, if you don't come back, how are we going to make sure we wow you?!

Please make sure you still visit us when you pop by Camden Markets, on your next trip over the Pond ... it'd be nice to treat you. You see, we do enjoy ... gently gently ... "killing our people with love"!

Thank you!

Eddy
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Have staying here several times over the last few years and never been disappointed.
This time around treated ourselves to penthouse room on top floor with balcony. Booked ahead on a non cancelable rate and hardly more expensive than flex rate on a standard room.
Not too lucky with room allocation though as it was more on the side rather than overlooking the Canal where you'd want to be. Lovely spacious, well appointed room though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My sister and I booked this hotel as part of my Mum's 70th birthday celebrations which included the trip to London and to see Chicago and we were not disappointed. I had emailed the hotel the week before to ask if there was any chance we could have a room with a view of the lock as it was a special occasion and they were only to happy to help. On arrival my Mum was presented with a cake, wine, a card and the staff singing happy birthday....she was totally overwhelmed. Then we were shown to our room which was an executive suite overlooking the lock (brilliant view) and with a massive balcony which we sat on drinking the wine and eating the cake!! Aside from the exceptional customer service the hotel itself is a lovely place to stay. It's in a great location less than 5mins from the tube. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was also enjoyable which was the standard holiday inn buffet of fruit, cooked breakfast, continental, cereals, toast etc.

Overall I we had a fabulous stay it was just a shame we only had one night. Would definitely stay here again. Special thanks to Giovanni for organising this and to Eddy who looked after us on the day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Class act

I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Not because of the fabulous Camden Lock location or the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, simply because the people who run it seem to care so passionately about what they do. You get the impression they thoroughly enjoy their work and will do everything in their power to make your stay special. I booked the Holiday Inn Camden Lock for my wife's 60th birthday and we were both amazed and thrilled by the creativity of the lovely surprises they laid on for us. Eddy, Giovanni and Bianca clearly have immense enthusiasm and a great sense of fun, yet still manage to perform their roles with finesse and dignity. A class act indeed! Thanks to all three of them and their teams, of course, for a wonderful stay. (Although I am what you might call a seasoned traveller, this is the first time I have ever been inspired to write a review for Trip Advisor. That says it all!)

Room Tip: For a unique view of London, choose a room overlooking the lock.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#434 of 1,072 in London
639 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#670 of 1,072 in London
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#747 of 1,072 in London
421 reviews
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing