We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #256 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my family. It was a very pleasant experience.

Check in was fast and they didn't even comment when we checked in at 10:30am. The room was ready. As a IHG rewards member I was given a voucher for a free drink and snack at the bar for the whole family which was great.

The room was large and comfortable. The TV was big and as well as most of the UK freeview channels it allowed me to plug in my tablet to the HDMI port and use the TV to display our own media. A feature that every hotel should offer these days.

The bathroom was a little small but had a bath and a good shower.

We didn't use room service on this visit but we did have breakfast in the hotel which was very good. Hot options were hot, fresh and tasty. The pastries were very good and there was a pancake station which my daughters loved. There was also a good selection of healthier options such as fruit and yoghurt. One of the best Holiday Inn breakfasts I have eaten.

The lobby area was comfortable with a selection of board games available which we used to relax after a long day in London. The bar had a decent selection and the coffee was good.

The location is very good. Next to Camden Lock by the canal with many bars and restaurants close by. The tube station was a five minute walk away but be warned it is closed for entry on Sunday afternoons due to large crowds. The next station is quite close though.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be using it for our next trip to London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinycarot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
See, we have thought about it all. From the HDMI port to the pancakes and the board games, we have tried to give a full fun and relaxing experience. You are worth it!

Thank you for your detailed feedback. It was just a pleasure to read it and the team just loved it too. So, how can we thank you? Oh, I know! We will spoil you even more next time and make you addicted to our Camden vibe!

Let us know when you are back and let us take care of the rest!

Anna Maria & The Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, our fun is addictive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    620
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
422
504
93
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Romana, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A bit of luxury in Camden. Great location if you are staying around the Camden area. Standard Holiday Inn so nice rooms etc although not so good if you don't get a room overlooking the canal.Great staff. Not a good choice if you plan on visiting more central London locations. Bus service is good although Camden Town tube is just awful and the Northern Line is not the best.
Have stayed here many many times and always enjoyed it.
A big disappointment however is the lounge area. Only a couple of comfy sofa's. It certainly looks nice, but the other chairs and sofa's do not encourage a relaxing atmosphere. Note to hotel, please please get this area sorted.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lock
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallouBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated comments and definitely thank you for the ‘food for thought’.

In Camden it’s all about choices. You can choose a lock view room for romantic atmosphere, a city view room for modern comfort or an interior family room for guaranteed peaceful sleep. Same thing with the transport! Buses, overground and underground all in walking distance and ready to take you around our lovely city.

Our new Open Lobby is about feeling relaxed and at home but also working, eating and socialising. So we have lots of different spots for you to enjoy. Can we talk it through over a Starbucks coffee next time you will be staying with us? I would love to find out more and walk you through the whole concept.

Anna Maria & The Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, different people, all Open Lobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed one night in room 417 (Queen with view) and loved it! The hotel is so close to the market that we kept on using it when we needed the loo... quicker than queuing and much, much cleaner! The hotel is spotless, the breakfast is fantastic, the view from our room was the best we could have wished for, the bed and pillows were very soft and fluffy.

AND we did not hear a bit of noise!

Marta at reception is very helpful and smily and we would definitely stay again!

Teresa

Room Tip: 417 complete silence and lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

For my wife and I returning to stay at the Holiday Inn Camden Lock is like catching up with a good old friend.

We stayed at the hotel three years ago for something like fifteen nights, spread across five months, as my wife was attending a monthly training course nearby and we have stayed a number of times since. When you stay somewhere that regularly by default you get to know the hotel, the staff and how it is operated.

First of all the location; we love Camden; the area is famous for its markets; it is young, vibrant with a good selection of restaurants, bars and night life. The familiar sights of London are a short tube or taxi ride away.

On this return to the hotel there have been some significant changes; the reception area and lounge/bar have been completely revamped as has the restaurant. The changes are bold; bright and we liked them. As always the room was clean, comfortable and despite overlooking the road, quiet and we both got a good nights sleep. We also enjoyed the view South from our 4th floor room that overlooked the roof tops of Camden towards the familiar skyline of Central London; any room with a view of the Post Office Tower and rooftops always seems to cheer my morning up.

We did not dine in the restaurant but have done so in the past and found the food to be good quality and above average value for a hotel. The Breakfast the following morning leads me to believe that our earlier experiences would still hold true. The breakfast had all you would expect in terms of selection from Full English to Continental; but what makes it so pleasant is the quality of the presentation and the friendliness of the staff. We also have certain dietary requirements and have always found that these have been accommodated with ease.

It was pleasing to see some of the staff still working at the hotel from our original visit three years earlier. Continuity of staff in the hospitality business is always an indicator that something is working well in terms of the management of hotel (providing of course the staff do a good job). We find that the staff at this hotel are courteous, professional and friendly without being in your face.

Although this was just a one night stay we will be returning and if you are sort of person who wants to stay in an area a bit closer to the real London and away from the West End tourist traps, this may well be the Hotel for you.

Can you tell I like the place?

Room Tip: The Canal Side Rooms provide a great view across the canal to the shops, bars and stalls that form p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stay here often for business. Nice clean hotel, with spacious modern rooms. Canal facing rooms are better, the ones on the side opposite the pub can be noisy. Staff don't bat an eyelid when you come and go at all hours, and are attentive without being nosy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcjwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
That review is definitely nominated for the ‘Small & Beautiful’ award!

Thank you for your sweet comments and don’t worry about the noise. We have rooms for everybody, so let us know what you are looking for and we will make it happen. Just give us a call before your next stay and let us spoil you a little bit more. Do we have a deal?

Anna Maria & The Camdeners magically appear to create great memories
Only @ Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is in a lovely place beside Camden Lock and the market which is great fun. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was so small it was difficult to navigate round the door to the bath. I would say it is more suitable for young people than families as it is very ultra modern and lacked any really comfortable seats in the public area, there is no bar as such they have an open plan lounge with an eclectic blend of furniture and you can have a drink there. Personally I prefer a more traditional layout and a lot less lime green paint. They have put a Starbucks coffee counter in the lounge area which was expensive and lacked choice. Poor soundproofing also made it noisy at night and in the early morning.
In my view it was expensive for what it is won't rush back.

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room rather than a view go for those in the centre of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy Camden and our Open Lobby. Yet we realise that this is not necessarily something for everyone, and we do accept that. We are a contemporary hotel, but the new lounge / bar / open space is also turning the traditional concept of hotel lobby / bar / restaurant unto its head. However a lot of people praise the change and do enjoy our Starbucks! Even though this is not your fully fledged coffee bar, as you can expect ...

Altogether, we got an amazing buzz and atmosphere out of the change. For a quieter experience, we are also lucky enough to have the mezzanine level of our Open Lobby, did you know that? Same style, same casual feeling, but maybe greater for families since you can enjoy your favourite movies (or cartoons!) in the Pop-up Lounge! A somewhat more homey-cosy experience. And all of this served with a honestly priced menu, our famous Camdeners' smile and loads of care.

Thank you for your honest feedback, and thank you for your 'room tip'.

With regards,

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You know sometimes you just want to treat yourself a bit? You want to take your little key card and open the door on a lush and luxurious hotel room that you don't have to sell a kidney for. Well, this hotel was just that. Located in a perfect spot to access all the funkyness of Camden, I had a spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with a bed you can melt into and even a choice of firm or soft pillows. I had cable TV, great service and, when I fancied a beer and some hot chips in the cool and cosy lobby, I was not disappointed. This hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DangerMouse2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#426 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#651 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#277 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing