We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #231 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent hotel, Only a short (3 minute walk) from Camden tube station. The hotel itself is very modern and clean and the staff were very helpful.

The location is superb with Camden market only a short walk away and the area has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.

The only gripe I had with the hotel was the fact the I paid in excess of £120 for the night and this did not include breakfast!!! I was offered breakfast for an additional £9 but I decided against that and instead went to the Wetherspoon pub which in next door and opens at 8am.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good to read you enjoyed such a great offer; our rates usually sit above the £200 mark (and without breakfast).

Now promise us to try our new breakfast concept please. It is probably the cheapest in the whole of London! Full access to freshly baked rustic baguettes, fresh and usually warm croissants (see another recent review), freshly made smoothie (of the day!), pancake flipped with love ... how could you resist to the call?

We can't wait to having you again on our fun side of town.

Eddy & your loving Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, where else would you be?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

My favourite hotel in the city for a while now has been refurbed..
I'm not sure about the tons of ikea furniture everywhere but it IS comfortable, the rooms are comfortable, the dining room is lighter and better for breakfast and it's still at the heart of this great area.
Theres a small business area with USB charging posts etc and next to it is a rock n roll tourist map of the area, my only tip would be, see this first... plan a morning walking the area.

Good call Holiday Inn, STILL my favourite!

Room Tip: away from the lock is quieter but boring... you don't come to camden to snooze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a great base. Everything about it is easy. great to get around and loads of atmosphere and pubs and shops on your doorstep, all the staff are lovely and the hotel rooms are great. Especially overlooking the canal. Go there

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel recently for my son's Birthday. I had booked via another site and was unsure about the room we'd been allocated so I e-mailed the hotel twice, on 13th and again on 19th Feb asking what type of room we were in and if we could have a room overlooking the lock. I never had a reply to my questions, even after phoning up to check I'd got the correct e-mail address. When we arrived, we'd been allocated a family room with two double beds (room 128) but the only view from the window was of a solid brick wall and the room was very dingy because of this. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable and we didn't spend much time in it.

The hotel location is great, for us it was straight on the Northern Line from St Pancras to Camden Town and then just a five minute walk through the bustling streets. There are loads of places to shop and restaurants nearby.

We had breakfast in the hotel which was brilliant. We were given a choice of tables and seated immediately. The food was of good quality and there was an extensive choice too.

Hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming throughout our stay and after checking out at 11am, we were able to leave our bags until teatime so that we weren't dragging them about all day.

I'm not sure if I'd stay again, as I like to try different areas of London and felt let down that the hotel never replied to my e-mails, but the staff there were lovely and the location is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank blades-fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We were definitely off to a bad start, but I'm glad your stay made up for it.

I am looking into what happened with your emails, because they are supposed to help us communicate; so rather worrying. Now, for our 'double doubles' (or 'twins'), they all face inward for a guaranteed beauty sleep for the whole family. Should you have an opportunity to come back for a romantic London weekend or concerts in the area, we'll make it extra special by upgrading you to some stunning views!

Thank you for your honest and detailed review. Please accept our apologies for the breakdown in communication.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and two daughters stayed at this hotel over the weekend and found it as they had expected a first class hotel.
It was clean, comfortable and ideally situated in the heart of Camden with the centre of London easily accessible. The staff were very friendly and helpful which makes the difference when on a weekend break.
The room was spacious for London standards and the beds comfortable and until we checked out would definitely stay there again.
After they checked out and left their bags at reception, going out for a bite of lunch one of my daughters remembered she had left one of her tee shirts in their room(321)After checking her bag they approached reception. They made some checks but told them it was not there!
I am informed it was left in the room and we do not understand why it was not found?
It was only a tee shirt and not of much value but it is the principle of the thing and will make us think twice about returning!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenM553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for all the very nice comments on your feedback. Thank you also for taking the time to express your frustration, we heard.

I shall be conducting my investigation first thing tomorrow morning, but I wanted to confirm you that we are indeed listening to what you are saying, and that we always make our best to build relationships, and not undo them.

I shall hope the T-shirt may reappear, although if it was white, it has most probably gone with the linen, which is what often happens with guest's towels, etc. when just as plain white. I shall nevertheless contact you directly through TripAdvisor's internal messaging service.

Let's hope we'll make it up to the whole family soon. Thank you.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Wanted a last-minute break in London and fancied seeing Camden. his is perfectly situated in the heart of Camden, overlooking the lock and markets. Can't recommend enough (Weatherspoons opposite too!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobStokes512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the location of this Holiday Inn, service was good and the staff at breakfast very accommodating. For me it was the basics that failed here: the bed. It was hammock-like with a selection of lumpy pillows that had me tossing and turning and gave me real back and neck ache in the morning. What a shame.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Artemistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

What a shame indeed. Can I get in touch directly through Trip Advisor's internal messaging service please? I'd love to have your room number so we can do our due diligence (also like to engage).

I personally stay in the hotel regularly and try different rooms every time. Plus we have a constant bed replacement plan so none should get through our net. Pillows follow similar plans.

On another hand, I'll share all the good notes here with the team.

Thank you for taking the time. I hope we'll speak soon.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
650 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#672 of 1,077 in London
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#227 of 1,077 in London
3,751 reviews
Corner House Hotel
#757 of 1,077 in London
426 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing