We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little bolt hole in Camden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #261 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little bolt hole in Camden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious (4 women in room - 2 dbl beds) parking limited but available. Very we'll located on the lock. close to tube station for access to City CRT. Lots of places to eat and drink in close proximity. Had a great stay! Even had Jenga to accompany our afternoon drinks!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KazzyGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    617
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
421
500
91
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

spent a great weekend exploring Camden the Holiday Inn was a great base - limited parking hence only 4 stars also a slightly noisy nightclub - room v comfortable and breakfast service excellent the staff are to be commended - we would come back for sure.

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed our 6 night stay here (2 adults, 2 kids). Definitely would stay here again if in London. This hotel has a friendly, helpful staff and is near many restaurants, lots shopping, the Camden Town Underground, and bus stops. The room was comfortable and clean and contained a small safe, flat screen TV, desk, sitting chair, hair blower, and 2 double beds. The bed was fairly comfortable (8 out of 10) with lots of pillows. The internet in the room worked really well for us. The bathroom was also clean and was supplied with shampoo, bar soap, and towels. We were in room 427 and while it didn’t have much of a view, it was very quiet. The lobby has a nice sitting area with a bar and Starbucks. There is also a business center with a computer and printer to use. We had the hotel buffet breakfast two mornings that included scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, sausage, bacon, sunny side up eggs, beans, mushrooms, freshly made pancakes, meat selection, cereal, juices, and pastries. If you book breakfast with the room, it is especially a great deal.

The staff was efficient with the wakeup call, Harry Potter tour tickets (Federica was wonderful), and taxi call on last day.

Some of the restaurants we ate at around the hotel were the Ice Warf, The Diner (breakfast), Mr. Pretzel, Samba (frozen yogurt), and Wagamama.

If coming to the hotel by bus or underground with luggage and want to avoid the crowd on Camden High Street during the day. I suggest walking Parkway to Arlington Rd to the Hotel at Jamestown Rd.

There is a bus stop on Camden Street for bus 24 that goes from Camden Town down to Victoria Station (many stops in between) and a bus stop on Camden High Street for bus 27 that includes a stop at Madam Tussauds. See the bus routes on London Toolkit http://www.londontoolkit.com/mnu/london_transport.htm – Public Buses – Central London Map. Use different highlighters for the different bus routes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our third stay at HI Camden. And it is still the best hotel we have stayed at in London. I will give a shout out to the staff, who is so nice and do a fantastic job.Treat us like VIP's. And a kiss to Mark, who placed a late-arrival snack in our room.....The best hotel in London.

Room Tip: Stayed in 425, no view, but silent :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schleins Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A group of 3 of us recently stayed here on a trip to London.
The hotel was clean, tidy and fresh.
We booked through a third party site so paid approx £175 a night compared with the £400 that the hotel charges on the door!
If in the area again we would use again (for the same price!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Holiday Inn at Camden Lock is staffed by people who are well trained, and who deserve praise for the good natured way that they deal with clients. My wife and I would definitely stay there again.

The room we were given was fine - however it had absolutely no view (a brick wall in fact) - but this was not a major concern, as we had a super comfy bed - and sleep came very easily :)

Breakfast was excellent - the whole place is spotless - a very well run hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightriderLuxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really nice hotel in a great location overlooking the lock. Rooms really clean, staff very helpful, especially Mark Hampson who went the extra mile to help us even before we arrived. Hotel bar not to pricey and there are loads of places to eat and drink within walking distance, The Bucks Head somewhere we would definitely recommend.
Tube 2 mins walk from the hotel so no worries about paying for taxis.

A great hotel which we will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEGull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Fantastic You! Thank you.

Well, Mark is really chuffed and so are all your Camdeners. And you see, not need to roam around, we do offer fair pricing for a good fare ...

Such a nice little love note, we can only die to have you again soon. Thank you again, Sue and Tony.

Eddy & your happy lot, the Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#436 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#649 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#262 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing