We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camden Market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #261 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camden Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked a double room at the holiday inn Camden as it is right next to Camden market (love Camden market) the hotel is very reasonable in price, the room was really nice I was on the road side of the hotel not overlooking the market the road did get busy especially at night as their was a pub right across the road but you could not hear anything from outside, their was air conditioning in the room, the staff are very welcoming and helpful, would recommend this hotel to friends and family oh I did not eat at the hotel only reason being was as when I am visiting Camden market I like to eat from the many different market food stalls and their are plenty of restaurants in Camden but the food always smelt good when we got in the lifts ;-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ani66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    617
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
421
500
91
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

In a week when central London prices were sky-high, I ventured out to Camden Lock. I liked the hotel - friendly and comfy with a ground floor bar and Starbucks 'cafe corner'. My room was fine - a good sized double with decent space. Clean, functional and comfortable. Not the most handy location but I would go again (but noted the rack rates are ridiculous).

There is a popular pub over the road and it meant noise from people on the street until quite late.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrectorycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am somehow confused with a rather positive comment about Camden and our Camdeners, however we only score a 3*? Or maybe you are putting out a challenge on us for your next visit? That, we like very much and we are always up for it!

Now for location, this is what people usually praise (and its liveliness), just next to our enthusiastic team of real Camdeners. I can only assume this wasn't the right fit for your purpose at the time, and I am sorry to hear that. Yet this is then a good excuse to come back and enjoy the 'Camden vibe' and yes, your stay comes at a price .. but we all make it worthwhile!!

Thank you again. We shall look forward to that next challenge ...

Eddy & some really personable Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location of the hotel was very convenient so we had to take that option anyhow. There's not many hotels around this area with the facilities they have. Price wise was a bit high but overall was expected. They have full occupancy over the weekends so prices vary drastically betweeen weekdays and weekends which is not very nice for someone who wants a fixed rate for a week.
Internet prices for the room are ok if you stay more than 3 days. Free internet in the lobby has to pick up it's speed. Overall satisfied but had no compensation for a fire alarm that went off at 5:20 am.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocochan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I do apologise for the lateness of my response, we still have considered all of your valuable points and we do listen to you.

Now with what we call ‘dynamic pricing’, rates may change every day however on a several night stay we usually average them out to make it easier for you.

Regarding internet, we are expecting a complete upgrade of our system in the coming weeks, so please bear with us in the meantime. We’ll get there and we’ll surprise you with our fibre optic!

And last but not least, a fire alarm is always taken seriously in Camden. It was thoroughly investigated before we could say it was safe to remain. The alarm itself is also a sign that our system is healthy, despite the inconvenience of being woken up early and not in a soft manner. Therefore we would not offer any compensation, yet I agree that we could have managed it better as we usually wait for you downstairs the following morning with plenty of sweet things (and nice free coffee!) … I am sorry for this shortfall. Not very Camden, was it!

So again, we appreciate your time and your opinion and we shall look forward to having you again … we’ll make up for it. Camdener’s promise.

!Muchas gracias!

Eddy & your dedicated Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, only nice things about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

checked in to find you had to pay a deposit after hotels.com said i would not have too,then there was no parking at the hotel so had to park away from hotel.Went to a concert nearby and when we returned to our room me and my partner were having a chat when two employees knocked and said they had complaints about noise coming from our room to my disbelief and shock,whilst all the noise was actually from outside which never stopped till approx 6am.so i woke early the next day and could not wait to leave as i was worried if i made a sound i would cause trouble,but yet i heard the other rooms mobile phone going off and conversations through the wall !! but i never complained once.spoke to management who could not be helpful at all,won't stay here again even though i read good reviews before hand. we were never told where are rooms were on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laticia Marie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
And we are sorry you feel that way.

Camdeners are indeed a bunch of hospitable, genuine and enthusiastic hoteliers. There was no evil, only trying to look after everyone in our usual good way.
- the deposit you were asked is normal routine as with any hotel; as you had already paid for the room, this was only to cover your extra spending (and swiftly returned on check out)
- our car park; it is very limited indeed (8 spaces) yet we do give directions to the secure underground car park that is a mere 10 min walk from us
- Weekend means party time for many people, yet we do our best to accommodate everyone in the most inclusive fashion. However well soundproofed our bedrooms are, we sometimes have to jump in, and you should have indeed flag any inconsiderate noise to us straight way.

Now I cannot find any log of your complaint here, so I am sending you a direct message through TripAdvisor’s internal messaging service. I hope we could connect and somehow makes you feel a little better about Camden and the Camdeners?

Thank you for your honest feedback.

Eddy Brosse
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Usual holiday inn quality - consistently good. Great location just a few yards away from Camden Lock. Located on a road which is reasonably quiet, which is a bonus in London. I've stayed great a couple of times for business trips. It's not too far from the city centre and very convenient for an underground station - about a five minute walk.

Room Tip: No special tip - rooms that I have stayed in on two occasions have both been good. Nice size and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Nothing better than being measured on a regular basis; it does make a bolder statement in your review. A big ‘thank you’ from all the Camdeners here.

It is also nice to read that we are good ambassadors of the Holiday Inn brand, and that makes us proud. Now for rooms, just tell us what you like, what you need and we have enough on offer to suit just that.

When will we see you again? Will you flag up your coming in advance please, always nice to give a little extra for a ‘thank you’ …

Can’t wait.

Eddy & your regular Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, just your right London pad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and best thin about this hotel is the great location on Camden lock, surrounded by all that Camden has to offer and within walking distance of the tube. Hotel was functional, clean but room was a little dated. Staff were very friendly and I would definitely stay here again if I wanted to be in Camden or vicinity

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
When we just thought that the best thing about our hotel was our Camdeners … ;-) Not to worry, we are very proud of where we are, hence we try to mirror that within.

Now we’ll have to check your room as we do our best to maintain to a very good standard. Thank you for highlighting this.

Please come back to us. You know where we are, and never too far from anything or anywhere.

Thank you.

Eddy & the Camdeners.
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel appears to have been renovated recently. The breakfast and bar areas are really well designed with good quality furniture. There's loads of interest in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, with Camden canal and associated markets a really unique place in such a built up area. Breakfast was great and family room was ample for the 4 of us. Staff very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Neill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#436 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#649 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#262 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing