We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great - Room average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #268 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location great - Room average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I will point out at the start that I stayed on a room only basis, so did not try any of the facilities, room service or breakfast so can only review on what I experienced. First of all the location is great, right next to Camden Lock, loads of bars, the markets, food choice aplenty and if you've not been to Camden before then I recommend it for the sheer buzz of the place.
The room we were given was overlooking a brick wall (literally 10 foot from the window) and was cramped (family of 4 so 2 double beds). The bathroom was tiny, tired and had a broken toilet seat and leaky tap handle (water leaking from the handle rather than the tap!!). When I say the bathroom was tiny, you could hardly get in and out of the bathroom when opening the door - nothing like the pictures you see on the website which has a walk-in shower etc. I'm sure there are rooms like this, but I certainly wasn't in one of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squareballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was sorry to read we had not been up to your expectations, but I am sure we could change that perception if you would give us another chance. Please. In the meantime, I'll check that our little plumbing issue is fixed.

Just to complement your detailed review, you indeed stayed in one of our 'double doubles' or 'twins', which do well as family rooms. They do offer 2 proper double beds, looking inward for guaranteed peace and our usual functional bathroom. Yet you're right, this is no ballroom indeed, but usually serves the purpose for a good family stay in a vibrant area of London. All the pictures for these rooms are equally available online; the ones you mentioned are actually for our Executives and Penthouses.

I cannot read anything about your sleep so I shall assume you all had a restful night and a nice shower in the morning. That makes us rather happy.

Thank you again for your honest feedback.

We shall hope to see you again.

Eddy & your truthful Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    607
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
415
493
91
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in the penthouse rooms with a balcony overlooking the canal (pushed the boat out a bit) Amazing location, right in the heart of Camden, and a 5 min walk from the tube. Room large, very comfortable and clean with fantastic views. Breakfast was great with good range of cooked, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and jams and freshly cooked American style pancakes. Staff were very helpful, good service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandora2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nothing exceptional but rooms are nice, clean and location is fabulous. Fresh food for breakfast and helpful staff. Less noisy than what we expected. Room cost is reasonable for London. We think we would come here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Could we be cheeky and ask for an extra * on your overall score please? First we do our best to share our difference (usually successful), but also your comments seem overall very positive ...

Maybe we'll get even 5* then at your next visit? Told you, we could be cheeky!

Give us a little heads up before your next arrival please, we'd like to be ready for you.

Thank you again. Looking forward to WOW'ing you soon.

Eddy & some truly exceptional Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, where else?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for two nights. The reception staff are very attentive and helpful. The hotel and the room were both fine, clean and well maintained. The location overlooking Camden Lock is lively and buzzing for someone wanting to make the most of a stay in London, just minutes walk from the tube. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here with my IHG points and it wasn't a let down. The staff were brilliant (especially the night guy) Room was clean & tidy, bed very comfy. Cannot comment on the price range as I didn't pay so no comment on value for money. Ideally located for the busy night of Camden Town, which is not a let down :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel by mistake but was not disappointed because the staff was outstanding. It makes such a difference to have a friendly welcome when you check in & during your stay. Ramon checked us in, Miguel took care of my husband's passport "problem" and Gonzalo showed us to our room & was delightful. Our room was comfortable with nice linens. We purchased Wifi access for a very reasonable cost. The hotel is located need all transit, only 20 minutes to London by underground. Only ate breakfast once because it was too much food. Samir helped with our wifi connections. Thanks again to the great staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a couple of days on a shopping trip to Camden. We paid £160 a night for a room with 2 king size beds in. To be honest, at this price, compared to other london hotels, it was a snip. The hotel was spotless, modern, and in a great spot for the markets and nightlife. Staff were friendly and helpful. We only used the restaurant once for brekkie. The food was fresh, piping hot, with a great selection of food from the buffet. Would definitely stop here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Westy1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#437 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
York & Albany
York & Albany
#624 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing