We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly friendly and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #246 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshingly friendly and great service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here on Thursday evening with a couple of colleagues, whilst exhibiting at Grow London, a new gardening show on Hampstead Heath. After an early start and a busy day, we were looking forward to a good rest and a comfortable bed! We weren't disappointed. We were given a very friendly and efficient welcome when we arrived and the room was spacious, clean and airy. The bed was really very inviting, plump pillows and even a pillow menu! My female room mate and I had great difficulty in deciding which one we should settle for . . Soft, firm . . Which did keep us giggling and awake for some time, but what a nice choice to have to make! And a great night's sleep, which was much needed.
The bathroom was very clean, shower good, breakfast good, again with lovely friendly service, and check out nice and efficient.
All in all an easy hotel to stay in, made a great one by the staff! Really friendly, courteous and attentive. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to anyone. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    640
    140
    39
    41
See reviews for
437
524
93
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I just love Camden - yes like the other reviewers say it is noisy but that is Camden - Camden is noisy and buzzing Its about music and lots of bars and the markets and food! Lots and lots of street food stalls.

We came or our wedding anniversary and the Camden Crawl - Had a great time. I then found our that Taste of London was on during the same weekend.

Regents Park is just a short walk along the canal, the walk through Regents Park is longer!! It takes approx. 10 mins to the zoo.

Kings Cross is a couple of stops a way but it was such lovelly weather and as we travel light we walked along the canal - about 1hr give or take - we did just stroll and it was very pleasant!

Our first room overlooked the lock, but having stayed before I know how WOW the rooms above the lock are so they happily moved us the next day when there was availability. Room 503 had a view but not as good when you sit down, we moved to 507, a smaller room but the balcony was huge and right above the iconic bridge!! There is a suite on floor 4 which has the best of everything but you are very lucky if you get that room - it is their bridal suite. :)

Breakfast was really really tasty - and plenty of it!!

The bar is modern and pleasant.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable with all the toiletries you need if you have forgotten something they usually can help - toothbrush etc - I once left home without a brush!!!

There is a great area for business and WIFI access and Starbucks coffee!!

The staff as always are what make this hotel - they really do care! Both before during and after your stay!! We get a personalised Christmas card!!

You may get gifts in your room - cup cakes, wine, balloons etc dependant on your reason for travelling

I recommend requesting a room looking over the lock , canal and market, a high floor and being an IHG member for upgrades and a free drink - it costs nothing!!

Thank you once again for looking after us and making our break really special :)

Room Tip: Room 507!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as I had a night out planned in Camden. You cannot fault the location - right on the lock and I was lucky enough to get a room with a big window opening out onto the lock itself. However whilst this was picturesque, the noise from the bars out there never stopped all night. It was really noisy and I did not get a good nights sleep at all!

The hotel bar looked modern and the staff were very friendly. The room itself was quite small, the bathroom very petite however it was normal London size!

All in all a good stay, I just wish they could put better noise reduction windows in - earplugs in the room just don't quite cut it!

Room Tip: Get a room away form the lock if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aks120LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review, but I am sad to read you didn't get what you were mostly in for: a good night sleep.

Whilst our windows are already double-glazed, and all of our rooms are fitted with heavy curtains for full black-out and further noise reduction (and FREE ear-plugs as you mentioned), we understand that the lighter sleepers amongst you may find it difficult. Please in such a case, do ask us for an internal room, or rooms on the street side; we do have enough choice to suit everyone's taste and sleep pattern. We do.

Now if you come to party in Camden, then join the fun!!

Let's catch up soon and allow you a different experience. Thank you.

Eddy & the Camdeners, we do care!
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place was really great. We got off the train and it was only a couple blocks to the hotel. We walked in the door and were immediately greeted by a really friendly staff. We were too early to check in, so they locked up our suitcases and we went to visit the market. The market was really great as well!
The lobby was large, and clean, with different seating areas to choose from. There is a Starbucks as well, which is really just another Starbucks, nothing special.
The elevators are tiny, but did the job just fine.
The room we had was a two bed with a pullout couch. We were nervous about the pullout because of every other previous experience we've had with hotel pullouts. It was just fine though and plenty comfy. The room had plenty of storage areas to put all our stuff, it was clean, with a good air conditioning unit, and the bathroom was modern and nice.
The thing that put this hotel up into 5 star range for me was the staff. Any questions we had were answered with friendliness and courtesy. They all absolutely went above and beyond what was required!
As for price, I don't really remember what the price was...we used points. So for us, it was quite a value!
As much as I would recommend the hotel, I would not recommend the restaurant. I went there for dinner my first night because I was too tired to look for a different one. The first waitress came over and I asked her what something was. She didn't know, so brought a different waitress. She didn't know either. So, I asked what the soup of the day was and she didn't know that either. Then she just stood there and waited for me to order. I didn't really know what to order because they didn't know what anything was! I ended up ordering the pasta with bolognese sauce, and it was actually pretty terrible. The little meat pieces were so hard I almost couldn't chew them.
Great hotel, great location, and great staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked two rooms for one Friday night in June, £175 per room (without breakfast) - which I think is extremely expensive for what it is, you pay for the location only, yes it's right on the lock, but that can be a negative late at night/early hours, when the pubs are really noisy in the streets nearby.

We walked from Euston Station, the direct route to the hotel along Camden High St, it took about 30 minutes to walk. Hardly worth getting a taxi or tube in my opinion, the traffic was so bad and the weather was good to walk in.

We waited quite a while to check in, but we were an hour early. They also held £50 per room on my debit card for any possible spends we may make while at the hotel. The reception guy was polite and pleasant enough.

Our rooms were on the 3 floor and directly opposite the lifts. I usually ask for rooms away from lifts whenever we stay anywhere, because of the noise from them and other guests, but on this occasion I forgot. I did ask reception if I had infact requested to be away from the lifts on my booking (I couldn't remember) but I hadn't and they did offer to move us, but by this point we had unpacked, we were hot and with just one day/night in Camden we wanted to make the most of our stay, so we decided not to.

We love Camden and the hotel itself, is in a great location on the lock, opposite the Stables Markets. We ate locally at Gilgamesh that evening, not at the hotel, so can't comment on their food. We got back to our rooms around midnight-1am ish and the noise from outside was really quite loud, but we stuck the provided earplugs in and it wasn't too bad, and the lifts weren't as noisy as I though they would be.

The beds are very comfortable, with a choice of pillows too. There are tea & coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and iron and ironing board too, good cupboard space, the room was very comfortable actually.

When we checked out the next day we left our bags in the storage room so that we could have another look round Camden and go for breakfast. I highly recommend Cote Brasserie, which is a few side streets away from the hotel, £9.50 for a full English breakfast with a hot drink, fruit juice, toast & jams - excellent quality and brilliant service! And cheaper that the £13 (I think) that the hotel were charging for breakfast.

All in all, an average stay, very expensive for what it is, the location it good though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SUZELANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnCamdenLock, Manager at Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
That's a very honest review, thank you!

Sometimes I wonder whether no impression is not worse than a positive or (very) negative one. So it feels a little frustrating to leave you with no feelings about us, but that's something for us to work on. We got the message.

On the details of your (very) detailed review, I am pleased to read that our free ear-plugs (in all rooms) serve their purpose and that all in all, you had been welcomed nicely. And yes, our buffet breakfast is selling (well) at £13.50 per adult (kids under 13 eat free!), fully reflecting the value of our freshly baked buttery croissants, pancakes made to order, freshly cut fruit salad, quality cafetiere coffee, our home made smoothie and the large choice of full English breakfast.

Now we shall look forward to seeing you again soon and perhaps, we might trigger a good moment or two?

Thank you again.

Eddy & the usually excited Camdeners
Holiday Inn London Camden Lock, we love the experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had our room upgraded for my birthday (free of charge) with chocolate cake and balloons in the room on arrival with a view of camden lock. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice enough. Great choice of food at breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded if it's a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 2 days with family, ( both under 7 years) at this central London hotel. Great place to stay. London Zoo 15 min walk and Euston station, 2 mins on the underground tube. 5mins walk from Camden tube station to the Hotel.

Reception staff very helpful and rooms good size for London. Great for visiting local Camden market and for the rest of London.

And yes the breakfast and food service is really good.

Regards
Kay

Room Tip: Book through Holiday Inn website and get points and the best price. I checked broker sites and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#439 of 1,069 in London
627 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#321 of 1,069 in London
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Property: Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#188 Family Hotel in London
#213 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing