We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great London location - full of character"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Ranked #208 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2009

The Hotel was fine, very friendly staff and good amenties. The location was great, just on Camden Lock and the Markets, which is brilliant for our 14 year old daughter. Lots of restaurants to chose from. The Mango Room near the Camden Town tube station is fabulous. Great food.

Only a short walk to Primrose Hill which has magnificent views across the city.

All in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMandyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Stayed here on business. Location not ideal, but hotel generally pretty good - rooms nice and large by London standards, although furniture a bit cheap. Service at check-in a little brusque but nevertheless efficient. Did not try breakfast. Ironing board a bit crappy. Otherwise not bad - just remember that the location means it may be a bit noisy. Plenty of good restaurants etc. nearby, although area may not be to the taste of some business travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We spent 5 nights here in two separate rooms. For London, I thought the rooms were quite spacious and were very clean. We had an issue with the A/C that took a couple of calls to maintenance to get resolved, but it was eventually fixed. Main objection regarding the hotel was it's location, and the noise level. We were put into two rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking Jamestown road, which by itself was not a busy or noisy road, but there is a bar across the street on the corner which has a very loud outdoor clientelle until well after 1 am on Friday and Saturday nights. I observed in advance the possible problem when we checked in, and was told that it never a problem, which in fact it was, so I think they were just wanting us to take the room knowing we probably wouldn't want to uproot and switch once we had settled in.

The location is right next to Camden road and Camden Market, which is frequented by seemingly no one other than tattooed and body pierced individuals. Most of the storefronts along the street are tattoo parlors or t-shirt shops, or both. We never really felt unsafe, but just know this before you go and be prepared for a little bit of culture shock if you are not used to tattoos, multi-colored hair, and piercings all over the face.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aplnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Ideal for exploring the Camden Town area, Regents Park / Zoo, Primrose Hill, etc, and still only 15 minutes from Leicester Square on the Northern Line, this is a well-located hotel.

I booked via the Holiday Inn website and the photos there make the hotel look very contemporary and almost boutiquey. The hotel doesn't quite live-up to those images - it is clean, modern, functional and pretty-much provides everything that you could need from a hotel at this price range, but it wasn't quite as funky as I had expected for this location and there was far too much cheap 'wood' veneer. The room was of an okay size, but the bathroom felt tiny. It had a multi-channel tv, tea/coffee and biscuits, tissues, facecloths, iron, minibar, safe and all other amenities - except complimentary toiletries (except for wall-mounted squeezy containers). My room faced onto the street and, whilst you could make-out some slight noise from nearby bars, it really wasn't intrusive and didn't continue late into the night (despite being a Friday).

Breakfast was comprehensive and the service was very attentive throughout my stay.

Overall, this is a modern mid-range brand hotel - not outstanding quality and not spacious, but spotlessly clean, with good service and comfortable. I'd go again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Family and I stayed here in July for nine nights. The location is great - close to Camden Market, Sainsbury, tube station, Regent Park and all types of restaurants to suit the most discerning tastes.

The room was small but well furnished and maintained; the bathroom was clean and bright.

The beds were a littel soft as were the pillows (which were somewhat lifeless) but staff was cheerful and helpful.

The array of foods available was astounding - Camden Market is filled with little food stalls that served Mexican, Indian, Thai, Chinese, Italian, Malaysian, Fish & Chips. Not to mention the many restaurants around and your typical KFC. Sainsbury is a 5-minute walk away.

Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone. Ask for a room that faces the inner "courtyard." Not much of a view - unless you happen to like to stare at a blank brick wall - but you'd be able to hear a pin drop at night, and be safe from the street and pub noise.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetter1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Unfortunately we only had one night in this hotel. Treated ourselves to one of the executive rooms and this was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The balcony didn't overlook the lock but that didn't matter as it was peaceful. All the staff we met were very friendly. As we had to leave at 8a.m we had an early breakfast and had the whole room to ourselves - that is a first for us!
The area - Camden market is just a treat to walk around with all its interesting people, stalls and different foods to sample. We also found an Italian restaurant within a short walk which would be good for families if they wished to eat outwith the hotel.
We will definitely book into this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Took my 2 teens to London and stayed in a double room. We had a disgusting view of the air shaft. When I called the front desk to ask for a better room (we are Platinum members), they told us that they would move us ASAP. We waited in the room for 95 minutes. When the porter came, we were moved one floor up, in the exact same location. Same view. I was told that "all of the double rooms'" are in this location in the hotel. The bathroom is outfitted nicely and the beds were comfortable. The Camden area is pretty funky and filled with street vendors. Mind your wallets/purses. It is a 10 minute walk to the London Zoo (find coupons before you go: it is pricy) Be aware that if you want to have a meal after 9pm, you will have to travel out of this area: all of the restaurants become 'pubs' and refuse to serve anyone with children under 18. We were turned away from 5 restaurants before finding a Chinese rest. that was happy to serve us. The breakfast buffet is standard fare, but the dining room is bright and the servers attentive. Although they were working on the plumbing and some other renovations, it was quiet and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryWandererTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#121 of 1,081 in London
109 reviews
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#662 of 1,081 in London
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Lock Hotel
#474 of 1,081 in London
656 reviews
Corner House Hotel
#758 of 1,081 in London
433 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock

Address: 30 Jamestown Road, London NW1 7BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
#169 Romantic Hotel in London
#212 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £107 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock. This modern, stylish central London hotel is located in the heart of fashionable Camden Town & directly overlooking Regent's Canal. Camden Town, Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Tube & Rail stations are located only minutes from the hotel with easy access to the Eurostar International Terminal at St Pancras. There are regular links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and City airports via King’s Cross, St Pancras, Paddington & Victoria rail stations and the Underground. The hotel is located outside the congestion charge zone. The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock is sitting by Camden Markets and within walking distance to Regents Park, London Zoo, Lords Cricket Ground, Jazz Café, Koko & The Roundhouse Theatre. Make yourself comfortable in one of our 130 well-appointed rooms; with 1 or 2 double sized beds, plenty of room to swing a cat, hi-speed WiFi internet access (FREE in all public spaces) and also terraces for our fabulous Penthouse rooms! The Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock now offers all-day dining menu throughout for your anytime and 24Hr munchies. The hotel also boasts 6 function rooms including the Glasshouse on the Lock with floor to ceiling windows can accommodate up to 350. The additional 5 conference rooms accommodate 4 to 180 delegates perfect for all occasions. See our event page for more and do look us up here, on TripAdvisor! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock Hotel London
Holiday Inn Camden Lock
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing