We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quant little hotel with little to no amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princes Square Hotel
Ranked #706 of 1,063 Hotels in London
SF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quant little hotel with little to no amenities”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Don't expect the bells and whistles here.

PROS:
- great location. walkable and safe and close to the Tube. Some restaurants and bars nearby but not sure if they were any good.
- rooms were fairly clean
- the man at reception is super funny and let me use his cellphone to make a call (see below)
- the woman at reception gave me some money to get some water
- beds were comfortable

CONS:
- small everything: beds, rooms
- provided only the bare minimum bathroom items (shampoo, soap)
- phones weren't working the days i was there
- WIFI ISN'T FREE
- very basic and bare bones room

As long as you're not expecting a ton of frills, this place isn't so bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    203
    131
    50
    41
See reviews for
112
146
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was a nice place to stay. The rooms are smaller but clean. Receptionist was helpful an helped us plan our stuff around the city.Close to a underground.. Walking distance from nice restraunts.. Close to the Kensington gardens..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I really liked this little place. It was easy to find (just off the Queensway and Bayswater tube stops). Located in a neighborhood close to Hyde Park, it felt safe and well-traveled. As a solo traveler coming in from the US, I so appreciated that they allowed me to check-in as soon as my room was ready. It's true, the rooms are small, but they have clean, private bathrooms, flat screen tvs, and comfortable beds. I didn't make it down to breakfast, but like that it was offered until 10AM. I would certainly book it again if I have the opportunity to return to London (I certainly hope so- London is a WONDERFUL city!).

Room Tip: Try to request a room on a lower floor. They don't have AC, so the higher you go the warmer it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel has the smallest room I have stayed in at a 4 star hotel. Must have been the minimum size, but it was ok. The really good thing was the price which was very good. Breakfast was only ok. Internet access is extra. the do have 24 hour reception which is unusual at this price. Location is good - just off Moscow Road and close to Bayswater tube. Lots of places to eat close by.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are lighter and the road is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruzenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in the Notting Hill area, close to Hyde Park and the Bayswater underground station. One of the hop-on-hop-off buses also has a station a few blocks away. Our room was quite small, but that is to be expected in a big-city hotel. It was very clean and well appointed, with a nice sized bath. We were also pleased that our room had a fan, as it was quite warm in London during our stay. Only disappointment was that the WIFI was not free. These days, there is no reason not to provide free WIFI. However, we would stay here again due to the location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we checked into a triple room that was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, in was not at all the same room as the photo that came up on the booking and is not shown in any of the photos on the hotel website. We were charged over 300 £ for this room due it being London fashion week and the reception even told us she could not believe how much we paid for this room. The toilet smelled of old pee, there was hair in the sink, the bedroom itself smelled of air freshener all the time. The beds are tiny and very uncomfortable. if we had booked at a very cheap price then you would get what you paid for but it was a rip off . Breakfast was not included and costs an eye watering £8 for full english but I doubt this actually includes any tea or coffee. If you go into the city to a cafe you can get something very good for much much less than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Check in quick and easy. The
1 bedroom apt big include lounge, kitchen, and large bedroom. better than staying in normal hote room.Great location& value. Fixed price taxi cars arrange for all major stations and airports. Breakfast service also available

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cid05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#695 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#601 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#373 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#284 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Square Hotel

Property: Princes Square Hotel
Address: Bayswater 23 Princes Square | Off Ilchester Gardens, London W2 4NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#378 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Square London
Hotel Princes Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing