We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Odessa Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Odessa Wharf
Ranked #703 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first time to visit London and it was a very good experience! We exchanged this apt thru RCI so I'm not sure about the nightly rates, but it was a huge savings for us. We had them arrange taxi pick up from and to airport, but we used the tube and buses the rest of our stay.

We had a 2 bedrm 2 bath with a Murphy bed n the living rm, lots of space for 6 guests but it was only me and my hubby. We found it to be cozy and clean.

The bus stop is 10 min walk which took us to Canada water tube station and from there you can go anywhere. The local grocery store, movie theater, and restaurants are on the way to Canada water. There are local pubs just a few blocks from the apt but we didn't have a chance to try them.

We arrived on sat so after checking in, we went straight to London bridge/tower where the Borough market is located. We bought food to stock our fridge...my fav!

All the major tourist attraction was only a half hour from the apt via bus then tube...much shorter if you take taxi. Bring comfy walking shoes, umbrella, and back pack if u plan on shopping. Avoid the tube during their rush hour (5-7pm).

Some of our favs: portobello rd/mkt where the Nottinghill book store is located like in the movie, Piccadilly Circus, harrods, Harvey Nichols, Greenwich where the old naval academy is located where Thor was filmed, Westminster Abby, parliament and Big Ben, buckingham palace for the changing of the guards (arrive 30-45 min early), Albert & Victoria museums, St. Paul's cathedral, the London eye, 9 3/4 platform at the train station from Harry Potter, and of course we watch a local play with Rupert Grindt called Mojo! Didn't have time to ride the ferry or do the Downtown Abby tour which is 8 hrs.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 4,150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just got back from a holiday trip to London and stayed at Odessa Wharf. It was a family trip with two teenagers. This property gave us plenty of room to spread out (multiple floors, two bedrooms and a Murphy bed in the living room) as well as two good pubs around the corner. It also has a lovely water-front suburban location on the Thames. What it didn't give us was easy access to London's main tourist sites/areas or walkability to anything except the river, two pubs and a suburban (not charming) mall. The tube is a solid 15 minute walk away (20 minutes when the rain is coming down sideways). The Jubilee Line (on which this underground is located) does go directly to the Buckingham Palace area but the rest of the city (theater district, shopping) is at least one change of lines away meaning sometimes it can take up to an hour to get to your London destination. If you are in town for more than a week that is less of an issue but when trying to maximize your site seeing over seven days it can be a bit of a distance - no going home to shower before the theater even if you have been walking in the pouring rain all day! Having said that it was a great place with teenagers who want their own space.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

In December of 2013 we honeymooned to London. As Americans, we found the assistance of the staff to be above and beyond. The rooms were clean, well kept, and spacious. Our view of Canary Wharf was breathtaking. The staff went out of their way to assist us, and help to make our trip as memorable as possible.

The hotel sits outside of Central London, but is easy to access via Underground, bus, and water taxi. This distance from the city proper allows for a true experience of the culture. There is a Tesco a short distance away, so cooking your own meals is simple, and inexpensive. There are plenty of neighborhood pubs that can quench your thirst in the evening. The neighborhood that the Wharf is nestled in is safe, and a sight to behold in itself. Evening strolls are beautiful.

We booked the trip through our RCI timeshare, but will definitely be returning as guests of the Odessa Wharf. We could not recommend the property more strongly, and are sharing our pleasant experience with friends and family.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 4 or less people, try to book one of the single rooms. Essex and Sussex h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Spent a weekend here with some girlfriends to take in the Christmas lights etc. fantastic location and well equipped. Beautiful views over the Thames. All in all it was exactly what we needed. A 15 minute walk to Canada Water tube or 5 minute walk to Greenland Pier River Clipper point. Great pub 1 minute walk (ship and whale). Also excellent Indian Takeaway just round the corner and very cheap. The ladies at Odessa couldn't have been more help.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank scalywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent a terrific week at the Odessa Wharf. The unit was well-appointed and clean. Staff were quite friendly. For us, the location was perfect. It was quiet and far from other tourists. Having this location means you will have a 30 to 45 minute trip into central London. The Odessa Wharf is a pleasant 20 minute walk to the Surrey Quays shopping area and Overground station or a few additional minutes to the Canada Water station. A public bus from Odessa Wharf to the area is another option.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 261tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was an excellent place for our family (4 adults) to stay in London. It had two bedrooms plus additional double bed in the lounge room. The double bed in the lounge room was concealed in a cupboard. This was an excellent way of storing a comfortable double bed. We were a family that required a kitchen for breakfast and lunch preparation. The kitchen had all that we required in it. We were able to walk to the shopping centre each day (approximately 15 minutes-easy walk) to buy all food requirements (milk etc.). We went to the pub next door for our evening meals. The meals were lovely and not too expensive. There was a village type atmosphere in the pub. It was so nice to relax at the end of a day with a nice meal and good company. This apartment was the perfect location for us as it was a short walk to a ferry service. The ferry ride took us to London city area in approximately 25 minutes. The cost was approximately 12 pound return each.. We investigated the ferry ride costs and you can buy a weekly ticket. As our holiday was almost over we decided it was something for our next holiday. We had my elderly mother with us and she would walk to ferry and than an easy trip to the city. It was perfect. It was a 10 minute walk to ferry and then onto the London City ... Than the On and Off bus to sight see the London area. The two lovely women who ran Odessa Wharf were just so helpful and friendly. We contacted them in regard to a pick up at the airport. It was organised with ease by them. The cost was approximately 85 pound (4 adults). We used this system of transfer as it was easy for my elderly mother. The gentleman who picked us was very good and made the transfer easy. I could continue with my review, but what I am saying it was perfect for us. We wanted a place close to London City, a kitchen to cook meals and a family type accommodation. In addition the two ladies that ran Odessa Wharf were helpful and welcoming. We holidayed there July 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jus5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I loved it here!!! The 2 bdrm unit was beautiful!!!! It more than accommodated my husband, 14 month old, mother in law, father in law, sister in law, and myself. Delores and Maya were wonderful even before we made our trek from California to London. My husband works from home and needed to find out about Odessa's IP address and other info and after a series of back and forth emails we got it all together and my husband was able to log into his office back here in the states via his laptop. One poster stated how there was no one in the office, we didn't find that a problem as all we did was call the number given to us at check in if we needed something and we always got a rapid response to our needs. I love that it was within walking distance to Canada Water station and the mall and grocery if you were up for a walk....naturally, we always walked there but took a cab back. I WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK TO ODESSA WHARF!! Delores and May were awesome!!! Oh, and what really stood out to me: We got to the airport and taking out all our computers my husband realized he didn't have his Ipad. We got thru security and I checked my phone and there was an email on my phone from Delores saying that the ipad had been left and that they had already made contact with my sister in law who would pick it up (they stayed in London elsewhere for a few days after). Now that's honesty!!! Something we in law enforcement rarely see....especially in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dr4nzic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
BridgeStreet Circus Apartments
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#106 of 1,075 in London
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Wharf Apartments
Canary Wharf Apartments
#827 of 1,075 in London
13 reviews
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#539 of 1,075 in London
445 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#146 of 1,075 in London
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odessa Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odessa Wharf

Address: Odessa Wharf 7 Odessa Street, London SE16 7LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £110 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Odessa Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Odessa Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odessa Wharf London
Odessa Wharf Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing