We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #108 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We've stayed at the Chamberlain three times in the last year, and it's one of the hotels we check availability of when visiting London. Great location, a few minutes from Tower Bridge and a short walk from the tube and DLR. Also handy for the markets and Shoreditch.

Rooms clean, comfortable and a reasonable size; bathrooms nice. Breakfast so far has been variable - if busy, it can be a long wait and result in cold items; if well-timed, the Full English is excellent. The customer service we've had here has been great, and any issues resolved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChubbsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
There are newer reviews for Chamberlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. The hotel was lovely, clean, with a spacious room. Service was excellent. Hotel is near both the Aldgate & Tower Hill tube stops, buses are nearby. This was the first time I have stayed in the City of London, enjoyed the location even though I was not there for business. As a solo female traveler, the hotel felt safe & comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabinbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear that you've enjoyed all your stays with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Hopefull we'll see you again soon.

Warmest Regards

Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as a birthday treat. Hotel staff made us feel welcomed and treated everybody the same as the last person. Professional staff on hand willing to assist with the smallest detail. My wife requested a nice room with a view and that just what we got. Great location over looking the Park Lane and the arches. Would stay again and have looked at staying at some other hotels in the same chain as a result of this stay. Clean room, great service, friendly staff. the 3 main things for any stay.

Room Tip: Make a request in advance by emailing hotel. If they can accommodate they will,
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garynvaishali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Maybe it's because my girlfriend painted a bad picture of London hotels but I was not expecting much from the Chamberlain. It was a nice surprise to arrive at a clean, well kept hotel, right in the centre of London for what I would consider a good price.

My only criticism might be that the cooked breakfast was a bit weak (I recommend going for the pancakes). Apart from that, the room was great and so were the staff. It's very close to Tower Bridge etc.and the DLR and underground are 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanohealaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel's location is the best, with 3 train stations and loads of buses all nearby. Staff was friendly, gave us the best directions, and are eager to please. The restaurant is ok if you just want to have dinner in and hit your room. Free wifi and internet in your room. Cheaper eats nearby mostly close at 5 or 6 as this is a business area but great for breakfast. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Saw both the double and two singles room. Both were the same size wise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you found all the team helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chamberlain.
Kindest Regards
Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent a lovely 2 nights at this hotel which is conveniently located, the room was amazing, we had a rooftop terrace, the food delicious and reasonably priced, the staff very friendly & couldn't do enough for us and the room clean, beautifully furnished and with lovely views of Tower Bridge from the balcony. Would highly recommend this hotel & we will be going there again for our next West End show.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Chamberlain Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you book your next West End show.
Warmest Regards
Liz McLelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have been staying here for last 4 years I get friends and Family to stay here.
Its in a good position for the tube back into the West End or you can walk to London Bridge all very easy.
Hotel has a bar like a London Pub but with good food an great beer I recommend it.
The night life around the Hotel has become more lively in recent years so when you have done the show get back for a boogie and a nightcap. Downside is it has become more and more expensive reflecting its popularity

Room Tip: Top floor facing the Gherkin
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cormac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,072 in London
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,968 reviews
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#151 of 1,072 in London
1,064 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,072 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing